Customer Reviews for

Keeping Mr. Right Now (a Kisses in the Sand novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 2, 2015

    My Thoughts: Another incredible book from Entangled! A very enj

    My Thoughts:

    Another incredible book from Entangled! A very enjoyable read, you will be swept up in the romantic feel of it. I'm glad to have gotten the opportunity to read Sophie and Zane's little love story.

    Sophie and Zane don't seem to match up on paper, but they completely connect when put together. Seeing their relationship develop is the best part of the book. One of my favorite parts, other than kisses, is to see two people drawn together whether it takes time or happens more quickly. As long as it's executed properly, it's good stuff. And it was done very well here!

    Keeping Mr. Right Now was a sweetie of a story. I love to see a romance that has depth to it, and characters that you find wonderful. The whole thing was well done. I'm very curious to see Robin Bielman's other stories. Definitely worth picking up!

    My Rating: Very Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2014

    In Keeping Mr. Right Now there is a supposed division in the att

    In Keeping Mr. Right Now there is a supposed division in the attractiveness of the couple – nerdy Sophie and hottie Zane – but it is handled well.  Zane is kind and strong, able to see the things that make Sophie a true beauty, and is caring and patient enough to help Sophie see it too.  It is so very sweet and made me fall in love with Zane all the more. 

    Amazingly enough, considered his popularity, Zane does have a bit of a confidence problem which stems from his abusive father.  He doesn’t believe that he’s intelligent and that all he’s good for is surfing.  My favorite thing is how Sophie immediately sees the truth about how smart he actually is and supports him every chance she gets.  Just as how he makes her see she’s beautiful, she shows him that he’s smart.  It leaves you with a warm and fuzzy to see how well they mesh to make that perfect couple, believing in each other and, by extension, themselves. 

    This isn’t the first Robin Bielman book I’ve read and I’ve loved every one of them (Kissing the Maid of Honor,Wild About Her Wingman, Her Accidental Boyfriend).  She creates lush characters and believable relationships, delivering them with tenderness, humor and, sometimes, a bit of heat.  She’s quickly embedded herself on my automatic TBR list – I don’t even hesitate when I see her name on a book, I just know that it is going to be a winner.  And Keeping Mr Right Now is no different – go now and pick it up!   (A copy of the book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A cute read that's perfect for summer! Slightly nerdy smart girl

    A cute read that's perfect for summer! Slightly nerdy smart girl gets the hot jock who spends most of his time shirtless and in board shorts--who doesn't want to read that? ;)




    Skipping a few years in school and living with overprotective parents has made Sophie more than a little socially awkward. She's recently decided to forgo research work in favor of event planning, and the surfer-themed film festival offers her a chance to justify her career change.




    Zane loves the ocean and has no complaints about his surfer lifestyle, but now he wants to use his influence to do good for others. He's particularly interested in a nonprofit organization called the Surf Help Exchange--and it looks like they might want him for their ambassador. First, though, he has to clean up his image. 




    Enter Sophie--a "safe" relationship for Zane. Spend some time with her, stay away from the tabloids. What does Sophie get out of the deal? A "Mr. Right Now"--a guy to have temporary fun with while she's in town for the festival. A win-win, right? 




    Riiiight.




    Their relationship was cute to watch, as it slowly grew from friendship to something more. His surfer-god-with-a-heart-of-gold persona was a nice compliment to her sweet ready-to-move-on-from-unrequited-crushes nerdy girl-ness.




    For all his big-shot surfer ways, Zane was absolutely adorable with his younger fans. He always made time to make them feel special. It made him twice as hot, if that's even possible.




    Honor and Bryce (Zane's friend/manager) are clearly being set up for a future book in the series, and it should be a good one--lovers with a past...




    Keeping Mr. Right Now is a perfect beach read book--whether you're at the beach or just wish you were :)




    (I have to admit, I didn't see the "Red Hot" label before the Bliss logo when I started reading, so I was a little surprised when the steamy scenes went further than I expected. Not complaining, though!)




    Rating: 4 stars / B+




    I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What a great little beach read!!! I always enjoy Ms Beilman's bo

    What a great little beach read!!! I always enjoy Ms Beilman's books! One of the things I liked best was that Sophie was so "real". I really enjoyed this book and it didn' take me long to finish because I just couldn't stop reading! An excellent read that you won't want to miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    3.5/5 stars Red Hot Bliss + Robin Bielman? Talk about a no-bra

    3.5/5 stars

    Red Hot Bliss + Robin Bielman? Talk about a no-brainer! This was a fun, sweet, and steamy read set on the beach of California. Bielman has created a delightful story about the most unlikely of pairs working together and falling headfirst into something neither ever anticipated.

    Surfer god extraordinaire Zane Hollander needs a good, down to earth girl to help clean up his playboy image so he can land the position he's been aiming for, but never thought good enough to have. Enter Sophie Birch, smart, intelligent events planner who wants to prove to her boss that she can handle a demanding job. As she becomes friends with Zane and realizes that she's attracted to him, will she able to distinguish what is real and what is just for show?

    I really enjoyed Sophie's character. She is not the typical girl a sexy, notorious surfer like Zane would fall for. That is what makes their relationship that much more intriguing. In the beginning, Zane isn't the least bit attracted to her. He thinks she's pleasant and definitely klutzy, but there's no insta-fireworks between them. It is through them spending time with one another and learning the others' personalities, that he really begins to see how beautiful she is inside and out. Zane has been plagued by years of feeling inadequate due to his overbearing father and Sophie is constantly encouraging him to go after what he wants. He begins to feel that he could never measure up to the kind of guy Sophie deserves and really battles over whether or not to engage in a relationship of any kind with her. I liked Zane too, even though I didn't really connect with his character. Some of his actions irritated me, but he is only doing what he thinks to be best, even at the cost of his own happiness. I just felt I didn't get quite enough from him until later in the novel.

    Their relationship is definitely a slow building one, which could be frustrating at times, as the sexual tension between them was definitely intense.

    I also really enjoyed Sophie and Honor's friendship. I am hoping Bielman will write Honor's story next and there is definitely some history between her and Zane's good friend, Bryce.

    I enjoyed this one- it was just the light-hearted, fun read I needed- I just wish I could have been perched on a beach myself while reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When I saw the name Robin Bielman I knew right off that this was

    When I saw the name Robin Bielman I knew right off that this was going to be a sweet, funny, romantic read and I was not disappointed. The characters are likeable and I do like it when the Brainy girl gets the jock. Curl up in a comfy spot with a warm drink and escape with Keeping Mr. Right Now 
    A gifted copy was provided by author/publisher for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    **A gifted copy was provided by the publisher for an honest revi

    **A gifted copy was provided by the publisher for an honest review**

    Sophie has never been to the beach. She is completely out of her element at a film festival in White Strand Cove. While at a surf lesson, she meets Zane, the world’s possibly sexist surfer. But what could this surfer see in a ditzy land lubber such as her?
    Sophie and Zane are the couple who make you root for them. Sophie is one of the book types and very shy and Zane is a bodysurfer who is a playboy with the ladies. Zane had made sort of a mess of things in the past but recently he has cleaned up his life and has everything “coming up roses” so to speak but his paths cross with Ms Sophie. Sophie is somewhat socially awkward- she is not graceful and she has never seen the ocean. She takes pleasure in the simple things. Zane finds that her lack of guile wonderful, and that she has something that is drawing him in. Zane finds that she sees the “real” Zane, not the public image or the face he presents to the women he dates. .
    The road the characters take in ths book is perfect; the sexual build-up was hot. And I loved the ending. I really hope to read more from this author. She writes such vivid scenes that make me feel as though I am right there.




    My rating: 4 stars **** 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    Ms. Bielman writes believable, true-to-life characters that jump

    Ms. Bielman writes believable, true-to-life characters that jump off the page and sweep you along with their story. From their first meeting, you are rooting for Zane and Sophie to have a future together. This beautiful, heart-felt romance was wonderfully written. I was sad to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Literally a great beach read. Zane Hollander has proved himself

    Literally a great beach read. Zane Hollander has proved himself in the surf
    world, over and over, even if he could never prove his worth to his critical
    father.

    Researcher-turned-event-planner Sophie Birch is super-smart in the
    neuroscience of the brain, if not the ways of love. She gets thrown together
    with Zane for PR purposes that suit both of their professional needs, and
    while intending just to have a quickie faux romance, fall in love instead.

    Both characters are very likable, if a bit cliched; the near-virginal and insecure
    nerd-girl with no clue just how stunning she is when she takes off her glasses
    and lets her hair down; the legendary playboy with a heart of gold who only
    needs to meet The Right Woman to Heal the Wounds of His Childhood. Yet
    even while part of me was rolling my eyes at that, there was a freshness to
    each character that made it work, and kept me turning pages. It was also fun
    that it's set in a small beach town, which was home to neither character
    (though near Zane's childhood home).

    Disclaimer: I received a free ARC of this novel from the publisher in exchange
    for an honest review, and I am personally acquainted with Robin Bielman.

    There are hints of a related romance with Sophie's new BFF, Honor, and
    Zane's buddy, Bryce (I smell a sequel!), and lots of surf-talk that SOUNDED
    authentic. The biggest conflict is the schedule(s) of both characters, which
    don't allow much room for ongoing romance, and Zane shooting off his
    mouth. Kudos on the use of condoms, and letting the love and attraction
    develop BEFORE leaping into the sack. Sexual tension high throughout
    and consummation scene was enjoyable.

    Highly recommended for anyone who wants a fun contemporary beach
    romance without murders, whips and chains, or paranormal aspects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Keeping Mr. Right Now gives you a hero and heroine who are more special than either realizes.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews
    by Kim

    Talk about being out of your element, Sophie Birch is a Montana girl through and through. She’s the only child of conservative parents. She's a smart girl who graduated college at the age of twenty and went on to study research in the field of Neurobiology. But Sophie wanted to do something different and took a leap of faith to work as an event planner. Now that leap of faith is about to change her life in more ways than she ever could imagine.

    Zane Hollander looks like your typical surfer guy. He just so happens to be at the top of his sport. Zane has been battling demons his whole life and the ocean is his comfort zone. Everywhere he goes he has people wanting something from him, whether it’s his autograph, a photo, or a quick vertical/horizontal dance. Zane is more than happy to assist on all requests. However, his playboy lifestyle is standing in the way of an important sponsor and organization Zane desperately wants to be a part of.

    In the midst of giving Sophie a surf lesson, she almost dies. Zane’s handlers attempt to use this to their advantage. They want Sophie to appear to have a relationship with Zane, in order to make him appear to not be a partying playboy. In exchange, his people will provide her with more event planning opportunities, while in White Strand Cove.

    Neither expects to become so close to each other in such a short amount of time. But Sophie is different from all the other women Zane meets; she doesn’t want anything from him. Their friendship turns into more, with Zane sharing things he tends to hide from everyone else.

    What I really love about this couple is that before anything bedroom related happened, they were true friends. When they finally moved their relationship to the bedroom, it’s hot and explosive with fireworks. Keeping Mr. Right Now gives you a hero and heroine who are more special than either realizes. It gives you secondary characters that you want to know more about. But most of all, Keeping Mr. Right Now will make you laugh, cry and leave you with a smile on your face.

    Source: Author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    Good Book! I can always turn to author Robin Bielman when I am

    Good Book!

    I can always turn to author Robin Bielman when I am looking for a sweet story with characters that are both interesting and impassioned. Her books never fail to disappoint and "Keeping Mr. Right Now" is a welcome addition to her book library.

    Sophie Birch is a small-town girl from rural Montana. She is extremely intelligent and as a result, lived a sheltered upbringing with parents that wanted her to use her brains for a future in research. Her sexual experiences are as limited as the compliments she has received over the years, which is less than a handful. Filling in for her boss, she is overseeing a huge surfing film festival in White Strand Cove, California. Sophie meets and becomes quite chummy with Zane Hollander, the hunkiest and most talented surfer on earth. Zane's attention helps bring Sophie out of her shell.

    Zane is an amazing surfer and has been at the top of his game for a few years now. Women throw themselves at him constantly and up until recently, he has relished the attention. Now that he has met Sofie, feelings that he never experienced are developing. She brings out the best in him and helps his deal with the demons of his past, mainly his relationship with his late father. Sophie is the first woman he has introduced to his family and most likely will be the last.

    The chemistry and developing love between Sophie and Zane is lustful, in addition to being heartfelt and playful. Ms. Bielman is an expert at creating sexual tension and evolving it into amazing passion. Sophie and Zane are wonderful characters and I was able to connect with them as individuals and as a couple. If you are looking for a romantic read with an original plot, give this book a try!

    Complimentary copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1