BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Keeping You a Secret

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(321)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

I really enjoyed this book, my only problem was the ending. It leaves you wanting more! I feel like she left us hanging in limbo. Is there a sequel? If not she should really write one!

posted by 8039561 on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wanted to love it, hated the ending

The characters were good, the writing was excellent. Would have liked more detail in the relationship. Doesn't have to be explicit sex but I hate books that end a chapter with a peck on the check and the next chapter begins a new day. Where's the relationship, wheres th...
The characters were good, the writing was excellent. Would have liked more detail in the relationship. Doesn't have to be explicit sex but I hate books that end a chapter with a peck on the check and the next chapter begins a new day. Where's the relationship, wheres the loving tender moments. A good lesbian book should have a little more than holding hands and hugging. This book may be good for a 6th grader coming out but for an adult I kept waiting for some kind of excitement and romance. I kept thinking the author was building up to it and then all of a sudden the book ended, abruptly, unexpected, many questions left up in the air. I downloaded the ebook version so did not know when the ending was coming and when it came it just felt like a chapter ending, not the end of the book. For these reasons I cannot recommend this book. Want a great read...try Curious Wine by Katherine Forrest.

posted by 1687379 on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 407 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wanted to love it, hated the ending

    The characters were good, the writing was excellent. Would have liked more detail in the relationship. Doesn't have to be explicit sex but I hate books that end a chapter with a peck on the check and the next chapter begins a new day. Where's the relationship, wheres the loving tender moments. A good lesbian book should have a little more than holding hands and hugging. This book may be good for a 6th grader coming out but for an adult I kept waiting for some kind of excitement and romance. I kept thinking the author was building up to it and then all of a sudden the book ended, abruptly, unexpected, many questions left up in the air. I downloaded the ebook version so did not know when the ending was coming and when it came it just felt like a chapter ending, not the end of the book. For these reasons I cannot recommend this book. Want a great read...try Curious Wine by Katherine Forrest.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book, my only problem was the ending. It leaves you wanting more! I feel like she left us hanging in limbo. Is there a sequel? If not she should really write one!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Couldn't put it down

    It's an amazing story . . . I have never read a book so fast in my life. I couldn't put it down . . .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    What IMRU?

    Seriously i want to know but dont have money...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Most Amazing Book Ever

    I cant say enough about this book. It is incredible. I have a hard copy and digital so i can always read it. The story of Holland and Cece is an amazing love story for anyone to appreciate. I wish Julie Anne Peters would write a sequel or another book like it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    It interesting to read the struggles of a young woman questionin

    It interesting to read the struggles of a young woman questioning her sexuality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    PEOPLE WHO ARE HATING THIS BOOK READ THIS

    What is wrong with you? No, I don't want to be mean. But here it is:
    You said we have queer books for teenage girls. Well, a book can't be homosexual. So you mean the girls in the book are homosexual. So, get over it. This world doesn't need people to tell other people who they love is wrong.
    Also, take your judgements to someplace else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Same bout kinda

    Omg im broke reading rebiews mad af i dont know but i went to a party and we went drunk anf i kissed my best friend went back to my house and did "it" now i lesbian and i guees were like an item im at her house now and something magicals gonna happen

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Love

    I've read this book at least 6 times since I was 16. One of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Is this for you?

    This book is a beautiful lesbian coming out story. It will take your breath away if you are gay, bi, or straight. It makes you cry and laugh and blush along with the characters. Julie Anne Peters is a literary genious. I recommend this to ANYONE who appreciates love in all of its glory.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    The second book I've read by Julie Anne Peters, KEEPING YOU A SECRET is another sure-fire winner about the highs and lows of first love, the terror and joy of "coming out", and the good and the bad that is the thing called family. <BR/><BR/>Holland Jaeger is the "It" girl everyone envies--she has great friends, she's President of the Student Body, she's the girlfriend of Seth, she's the popular girl who can be counted on to always get along with everyone. That is, until Cece Goddard transfers in, and Holland's once-perfect life no longer seems so great. <BR/><BR/>The first time she sees Cece, Holland feels something that she's never felt before. Although sexually active with her boyfriend, Seth, having sex is more like a chore--she'd much rather sit around talking, the way they used to do when they were friends rather than lovers. As Cece flaunts her homosexuality, wearing shirts proclaiming herself out and proud, Holland wonders what it means when her attraction to Cece becomes almost an obsession. <BR/><BR/>College looms on the horizon and no one, especially her mother, will quit asking her where she's going. They have big plans for her, you see, both her mother, who became a single parent way too young, Seth, and the career counselor at her school. Forced into a role she doesn't want, Holland escapes into her art class, drawing away from her former friends as feelings and emotions she can't control rush to the surface. <BR/><BR/>As Holland realizes that she is, in fact, a lesbian, her perfect life is suddenly out of control. She's shunned by her former friends at school, her mother kicks her out of the house, she's forced to live in a run-down motel that's now a shelter, and she's not sure she'll be able to attend college at all. <BR/><BR/>Holland must learn what's really important in life, that it's not about being popular but about being true to yourself. As she loses old friends she gains new ones in the gay and lesbian community, and forms a bond with Cece that is beyond her wildest expectations. <BR/><BR/>KEEPING YOU A SECRET is a great, emotional read, pefect for anyone questioning their sexuality or their place in the world. A truly recommended read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Keeping You A Secret

    Now that her senior year has arrived, Holland Jaeger finds life is not so simple. Her mother is pressing her to go to law school. This is not Holland¿s dream, however her mother seems intent on living vicariously through Holland¿s life. She wants only the best for Holland. Therefore it is up to Holland to get the best grades, apply to the best schools, and meet everyone¿s expectations. When Holland finds herself attracted to a new student, she realizes she's going to have a very serious problem with her current boyfriend; he's too needy. Since they began having sex, that is all he seems to want to do. The new student, Cece, is an 'out-and-proud' lesbian, and Holland finds herself in the greatest relationship ever. What price will she pay when she decides to follow her heart? KEEPING YOU A SECRET tackles a tough subject in a lighthearted manner. Now there is a lot in this book to which I cannot relate. My parents did not force me to follow their dreams and, as a heterosexual woman, I have no experience with the discrimination that lesbians face. I know when I was in high school there were no gays or lesbians that I knew of. In retrospect now that some of them have ¿come out¿, I am surprised that they did manage to keep it hidden so well, and saddened that they felt they had to hide the essence of who they were. Those issues aside, I found myself intrigued with Julie Anne Peters writing. Her views are honest and handled well. Teen sex is not ignored; instead it is handled honestly with both the pros and cons taken into consideration. Birth control is discussed without being preached. All of these were issues we hated listening to as kids, but they are important nonetheless. I honestly cannot say this book will appeal to every teenager. But I do hope that those with an open mind will read it and take the message to heart. In the end, it's your decisions, the ones that change your life, that are the most important. Tracy Farnsworth

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Awesome!

    I've reread this book probably over 5 times. It is beyond a great read and I'm si glad it was recommended to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Loved this book!!!

    This is such a relatable book. I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    First read this book as a teen in high school and it touched me

    First read this book as a teen in high school and it touched me so much! I would definitely recommend this to those who are gay, bisexual confused or even those who are straight. It changes your perspective in a positive way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Noooooooo!!!!!! It's over!!!!!!:( :( :( :(

    I loved keeping you a secret. It was an amazing and the only thing i disliked was the ending. I wished it could have gone one forever, but books can't. There is a great piece of advice from the book that I want to make sure people notice: Don't let people write a script for your life. Live your own life an make your own decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Very heartfelt

    This book tells a funny, sometimes sad, and very honest story about what it feels like to suddenly have your world change after meeting someone. It is the best YA lesbian story I have read and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

     While the writing isn't particularly sophisticated, what it lac

     While the writing isn't particularly sophisticated, what it lacks in elegantly written prose it more than makes up for in content. Speaking as a young queer woman with a closeted partner, I don't think I've ever related so much to a novel, and I've read quite a bit of queer literature as well. Never has a book so accurately captured the fear that comes with being queer, and the bravery of those who choose to be out. Few realize that you don't just come out once, you come out every day of your life. The book tackles coming out to yourself, coming out to your family, the reality of homelessness for queer youth, hate crimes, and everything that is actually a reality of being queer today. Overall a very impactful read. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Fabulous

    The first time I read this book, I simply could not put it down. I felt as if Ms. Peters had modeled Holland after me, the exception being that I hadn't (and still haven't) found my CeCe. This story touched my soul and I continually reread it, hoping that I'll stumble upon a love like this. I only regret that there is no sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Hannahferrell47@yahoo.com

    Add me plz!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 407 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21