Customer Reviews for

Keeping You a Secret

Average Rating 4.5
( 404 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

I really enjoyed this book, my only problem was the ending. It leaves you wanting more! I feel like she left us hanging in limbo. Is there a sequel? If not she should really write one!

posted by 8039561 on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wanted to love it, hated the ending

The characters were good, the writing was excellent. Would have liked more detail in the relationship. Doesn't have to be explicit sex but I hate books that end a chapter with a peck on the check and the next chapter begins a new day. Where's the relationship, wheres th...
The characters were good, the writing was excellent. Would have liked more detail in the relationship. Doesn't have to be explicit sex but I hate books that end a chapter with a peck on the check and the next chapter begins a new day. Where's the relationship, wheres the loving tender moments. A good lesbian book should have a little more than holding hands and hugging. This book may be good for a 6th grader coming out but for an adult I kept waiting for some kind of excitement and romance. I kept thinking the author was building up to it and then all of a sudden the book ended, abruptly, unexpected, many questions left up in the air. I downloaded the ebook version so did not know when the ending was coming and when it came it just felt like a chapter ending, not the end of the book. For these reasons I cannot recommend this book. Want a great read...try Curious Wine by Katherine Forrest.

posted by 1687379 on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book, my only problem was the ending. It leaves you wanting more! I feel like she left us hanging in limbo. Is there a sequel? If not she should really write one!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Keeping You A Secret

    Now that her senior year has arrived, Holland Jaeger finds life is not so simple. Her mother is pressing her to go to law school. This is not Holland¿s dream, however her mother seems intent on living vicariously through Holland¿s life. She wants only the best for Holland. Therefore it is up to Holland to get the best grades, apply to the best schools, and meet everyone¿s expectations. When Holland finds herself attracted to a new student, she realizes she's going to have a very serious problem with her current boyfriend; he's too needy. Since they began having sex, that is all he seems to want to do. The new student, Cece, is an 'out-and-proud' lesbian, and Holland finds herself in the greatest relationship ever. What price will she pay when she decides to follow her heart? KEEPING YOU A SECRET tackles a tough subject in a lighthearted manner. Now there is a lot in this book to which I cannot relate. My parents did not force me to follow their dreams and, as a heterosexual woman, I have no experience with the discrimination that lesbians face. I know when I was in high school there were no gays or lesbians that I knew of. In retrospect now that some of them have ¿come out¿, I am surprised that they did manage to keep it hidden so well, and saddened that they felt they had to hide the essence of who they were. Those issues aside, I found myself intrigued with Julie Anne Peters writing. Her views are honest and handled well. Teen sex is not ignored; instead it is handled honestly with both the pros and cons taken into consideration. Birth control is discussed without being preached. All of these were issues we hated listening to as kids, but they are important nonetheless. I honestly cannot say this book will appeal to every teenager. But I do hope that those with an open mind will read it and take the message to heart. In the end, it's your decisions, the ones that change your life, that are the most important. Tracy Farnsworth

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

     While the writing isn't particularly sophisticated, what it lac

     While the writing isn't particularly sophisticated, what it lacks in elegantly written prose it more than makes up for in content. Speaking as a young queer woman with a closeted partner, I don't think I've ever related so much to a novel, and I've read quite a bit of queer literature as well. Never has a book so accurately captured the fear that comes with being queer, and the bravery of those who choose to be out. Few realize that you don't just come out once, you come out every day of your life. The book tackles coming out to yourself, coming out to your family, the reality of homelessness for queer youth, hate crimes, and everything that is actually a reality of being queer today. Overall a very impactful read. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    I loved it!

    I like the message it sent. I'm in the same boat, you could say. I just hate the ending. There is a sequel that is needed to this story. It also made me a little emotional. Words can't really describe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Good read, but....

    It left me wanting more, I really wanted to know more about her relationship with her mother especially if she ever does try to reconcile. I also want to know more about the relationship between Holland and Cece. I just feel like that wasn't that all in depth and I wanted to feel more of what they were feeling towards each other. It didn't really go in depth with that. It was a very enjoyable read, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    While I truly enjoyed this book, I didn't feel that the actions

    While I truly enjoyed this book, I didn't feel that the actions of the characters were true to actual high school lesbians. I understand that things were adjusted for dramatic purposes, and I do like the fact that not everyone in their families understands and accepts their relationship, I also feel like just a little more polish could have created a perfect work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Amazing

    I didn't like the ending though. Otherwise amazing read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Was a pretty good book, but i wish there would had been a differ

    Was a pretty good book, but i wish there would had been a different ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    So good

    I read this when I was 17 at a very confusimg time. It is so great the bond of friendship and then the nervousness of a first relationship. It was so good and is one of my top favorite books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Good book

    This book is very interesting, and made me want to keep reading this was a book I couldnt stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I can re-read this always and still relate..

    Left me feeling less alone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    for teenagers and alike, gay and straight, Moms with gay kids

    I got hooked as soon as I started reading the first few pages of the book. The emotions and thoughts of the characters will remind you or validate what you have experienced in the past....and maybe the feelings you have right now. If you are straight woman who had some feelings to another woman, and is not sure whether to come out or not while in high school, this book will provide you some insights of the consequences of coming out in school, and your family. LOVE the BOOK! the ending is not the usual ending that I would prefer but it will make you think what would be the life of the characters after reading the last page. GREAT JOB JULIE ANN PETERS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Excellent read

    OMG this was an amazing book. It really got to me. I can believe how well she got this story close to real life. I would definatly recomend this to anyone. Gay, lesbian or straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of a kind.

    This is such and amazing book. It took me only a few hours to read, and I enjoyed EVEY minute of it. The is one that I am sure is happening all over and I think it is great that it had been told. It really do show how crule and unloving people may be sometimes, even to their best friend, just because of who they love. I love this book and recommend it to ALL teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    This book is a really easy read. I suggest that if you're looking for a cute story about girls falling in love that you should read this book. It's a really sweet story but the ending kind of leaves you hanging. Good Book Julie anne Peters did a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Julie Anne Peters' books Rock

    The book was awesome, I loved it. I have gone throught that before the whole getting out thing. My exprience was better then Holland I believe. Cece is like a dream girl that i should have in my life. The school they went to was a big mess. The school that i go to excepts me but yet there is still some haters. I just dont care like how Cece is in the story. I just hope I get to read more books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    wow

    This book is honestly, a phenominal book. Just the way i found out i liked girls. The way she described the first time they looked at each other is somewhat similar to the situation with my ex. Im still in love with her and you never really get over it..but this book its awesome. Thanks jewls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    great book

    this book was amazing. i could relate to it completely. i feel how holland feels. i met a girl and it helped me realize what i knew all along. even if you are not a lesbian anyone who has ever loved can relate to this book. i could not put it down i wish it was longer though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    Better than the last one I read

    I really enjoyed this book. I think I liked it best because it was written more recently than the last 'gay' book I read. It changed my thoughts about the gay kids I knew in high school. I wasn't friends with them, but I didn't make fun of them either. My favorite part in the book was the locker/shower room scene. My least favorite part was when Holland's mom kicked her out. It made me so sad. The author sort of left me hanging, but it was a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    uhm yeah

    i couldnt get into it at all. i had to force myself to read the whole thing because it didnt get interesting until almost the middle. so yeah. it does start out slow but its still really good. it was interesting to see life through a lesbians eyes and try to fathom their feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3