Customer Reviews for

Keeping the Castle

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I bought this book for my niece. We both enjoyed it. It's a very

I bought this book for my niece. We both enjoyed it. It's a very funny satire for young adults.

posted by 9911051 on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

Mature content but written for a 10 year old. A mash up of Austen classics like pride and prejudice but completely butchered

posted by samiam294 on August 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Awful

    This book was awful. I had to push my way to get through it and never developed a relationship with the shallow lead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Terrible

    Mature content but written for a 10 year old. A mash up of Austen classics like pride and prejudice but completely butchered

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Okay

    I think its a Texas Bluebonnet, but there are a lot of grammer errors and the plot was unfocused.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Charming

    Well worth reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    IS IT WORTH READING?

    Is it worth reafing because i have to read it for school and i wanted to know if it was good
    Thanks for the advice

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Boring!

    This book was really boring. When I would read this I found myself drifting off in my own thoughts and had to really concentrate to get through a page in this book. The characters were very dull and so was the storyline. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I bought this book for my niece. We both enjoyed it. It's a very

    I bought this book for my niece. We both enjoyed it. It's a very funny satire for young adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Beautiful. Just beautiful

    This book is almost like a Cinderella story but with a humorous and dramatic twist. Lots of descriptive wording. Reccomend for people(girls) aged 12+. Love it, hope you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I really loved this book. It was funny, witty and had good chara

    I really loved this book. It was funny, witty and had good characters (Mr. Fredricks was hilarious!).  And I loved the names of some of the people/places! It's a nice combination of some Jane Austen and Cinderella. I will say that it is definitely close to the line of young adult and adult, not for mature content, just that the writing is a little juvenile, but still great.Sure it's not the greatest thing you'll ever read, but it's without a doubt worth it. Keeping the Castle is a very cute and charming little novel and I recommend it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars I thoroughly enjoyed much of this book.  It had some

    3.5 Stars

    I thoroughly enjoyed much of this book.  It had some witty banter, interesting characters, and romance.  Although it has been said to be like Pride and Prejudice, there was also a Cinderella feel to it.  And how could I not love that one of the main character's name was "Lord Boring".  I laughed almost every time I read his name.  And the town in which they live was called "Lesser Hoo".  I felt like it might look like something from Dr. Seuss.  Of course, it didn't.  

    However, I did not like the way the book resolved.  I felt there should have been more dialogue and feeling expressed.  I wanted more romance at the end.  Oh well, I can't get everything I want.

    Warnings: None

    I would let my 12 and 15 year old daughters read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. My favorite parts were the descriptions of

    I enjoyed this book. My favorite parts were the descriptions of the castle. I laughed out loud! Some reviewers say this book is great for 12 year olds, and I think a 12 year old would enjoy it. But I'm 28 and I, too, thought it was fun. I didn't notice any grammar errors. There must not have been enough to hinder the enjoyment of the reading. It might not be classic literature, but I don't think it claims to be. It's a fun, clean story, which is rare these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1