Customer Reviews for

Keeping the House

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Good read - interesting - turns out a bit differently than you'd

    Good read - interesting - turns out a bit differently than you'd expect and that's nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    This could have been a much better book if the author showed any

    This could have been a much better book if the author showed any insight into the characters' behavior, and shared it with the reader. Attributing the bad behavior of several generations to an alleged "curse" lets the writer and the reader off the hook entirely. Instead, the reader is asked to believe that embracing the 50's values of husbands, babies, housework and potlucks, and hanging on to marriages that any sane person would have left years earlier are legitimate answers to life's confusion. Piffle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Could not put it down

    Its one of those books where you are desperate to unravel its secrets but hate for it to come to an end. It was depressing and heart breaking, yet inspiring and romantic. It is life, as it was then and as it is now. A timeless book. Highy recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    I truly loved this book!!!

    I bought this book at a used book store a few years ago, put in my library and forgot about it until recently. When I did read it I could not put it down. All I wanted to do was read, but did not want the story to end. I really like Ellen's style of writing and have ordered all of her other books. Truly good story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Marriage and a world at war

    This book is mainly set in the late 40's and 50's, with some parts of the story going back to the beginning of the Michelson family when a young bride moves in to the family home in 1896. If you like stories of a seemingly simpler time, relationships, and war time, sprinkled with plenty of description so you feel like you're right there in the story, this a great book for you. I will definitely read this authors other book. Her writing is smooth as glass, she keeps me reading. I thought The Help would be the only great book I'd read this year, but I was wrong. This one is great too, and I find they are similar enough in structure and time setting I think fans would like this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    I just finished Keeping the House. I thoroughly enjoyed several aspects of the book. I liked the plot a lot (and loved the ending). I really liked learning about the 'times' and especially about attitudes of and about women. I liked how the book showed the effects on soldiers and their families due to war. I loved the theme of 'the curse' on the house and how that actually played out. (don't want to give anything away here.) I loved how the story came together bit by bit from several sources (gossip, re-telling, actual happenings). For the 1st 3/4 of the book, I had no problem keeping up with the time period and which characters I was reading about, but during the last 1/4, I began to have a difficult time keeping the different years and characters separate. I began to get Harry and JJ mixed up, but that problem went away as the time periods converged onto 'present day' 1950. But overall I really liked bouncing around the different time periods and the different 1st person narratives.
    The 'secret' twist was easy to figure out. (and not original, but a basis of many novels, and many true-life events too I'm sure.)
    I listened to it on audio and sometimes the different character's voices weren't very different. but it was ok.
    I found myself unable to take off my headphones - I just couldn't put this book down.
    I would compare this book to 'Angry Housewives Eating Bonbons' by Lorna Landvik, and 'And Ladies of the Club' by Helen Hooven Santmeyer (some of my all-time favorites). and almost as good as 'South of Broad' by Pat Conroy.
    It was a very nice snapshot of the times from a woman's viewpoint (mostly). I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    Great book!!!!

    This is in my top ten favorite books! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    Really good read

    This is one of the greatest books I have ever read! OK, let me be very up front about this. Yes, I am very prejudiced, you see Ellen is my daughter-in-law. And while I get great pleasure out of teasing Ellen that "Keeping the House" is a chick-book and an obligatory read for me, it really is a great book. While I have always much preferred historical books on war, especially the Civil War, and would love to know more about Byron's time in the Army, this book still held my interest all the way through it and left me with a big "Way to go!" with the ending. The characters are diverse and the details vivid enough to create very good pictures in my mind about both setting and emotions. I recommend this book to anyone, it really is a good read.

    Jim Baker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I wanted to like this book more than I did!

    I thought Keeping the House was such an interesting idea for a novel, but I was a little disappointed by the book. I just never really developed a liking for the characters. I liked the non-chronological order of the chapters and the historical background of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeping The House

    I enjoyed this book. I thought the characters were well developed and the author did a great job of telling each of their stories.
    I loved the idea of falling in love with an old house and wondering about the lifes of the occupants. Only thing I thought would make it a bit better is if the author tossed in some ghosts. :)
    P.S. I figured out the twist early on also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    OK, Not Wonderful

    I actually picked up this book at our local Barnes & Noble this past Saturday while there purchasing a birthday gift for my daughter's friend. It looked interesting, and the author is local.

    Tonight (Tuesday) I finished the book. Overall, I think that a great deal more research could have been done. First of all, the names. "Chase" for someone born at the turn of the last century? "Stacy" for someone born in roughly the same era, with sisters named Mary and Alice? Mildred or Genevieve would have been far more appropriate for that era. "Elissa" for someone born in the 1920's? Geez Louise, go the Social Security website to see what the most common given names were for babies in any given decade. I will admit that I'm quite the stickler for historical accuracy, and have hooted with laughter upon seeing zippers up the backs of the dresses worn by actresses in Tudor costume dramas.

    The plot is OK, although I managed to figure out the "twist" quite a few pages before it was revealed. At times the writing is very inspired, but at other times it's very stilted and wooden. Seems as though the author's research was very thorough on some points, but on others she just banged out a few pages here and there to try to bring the whole story together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Read This Book!!

    I am so happy that I bought this book. What a wonderful storyline, beautifully drawn characters, and all around FABULOUS book! I cannot wait to see what Ms. Baker writes next. I highly recommend this book...you will not be able to put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    The BEST Book Ever!!!!!

    I was talking with my mother and she mentioned she had ordered Keeping The House. She then started reading what the book was about. I immediately flew to the library and checked it out. I could not put it down! I have a husband and five children and would fly through my day to get time to sit and read. I finished it amazingly in two days! I NEVER read a book that fast. Usually I am falling asleep in the evening, when I usually read. But not with this book. I also am going to purchase the book to have in my library. I loved it! I cannot wait for her next book. She is truly gifted in writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Strongly recommended

    This book was fantastic!! Though the book was 500 + pages, I read it in only 2 days. How the author was able to seamlessly interweave various stories, spanning generations, was amazing. The story goes back and forth between characters and generations but I had no difficulty follwing these changes. I would VERY HIGHLY recommend this book to readers of all types. I am most impressed by the author's writing ability and the story and characters were unforgettable. I read all books by borrowing from the library but am strongly considering buying this for my own personal collection. Read and enjoy!! You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Love is blind

    This was the best love story I have ever read. She was in love with the house and thought she was in love with everything (and everyone)about it. What a great story. Only bad thing was that it was her first and you cant buy anymore of her books. I am eagerly awaiting more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    A great read!

    Keeping the House kept me very interested from cover to cover. The different time periods were fairly easy to differentiate, and I thought the ending was well done. I am waiting for Ms. Baker's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    keeping the house

    travel into the past with this very enjoyable novel. follow the lives of dolly magnuson and the mickelson family and you will feel like more than an observer. ellen baker weaves her tale connecting the past with dolly's present and you can imagine yourself there beside her in her journey. a grand addition to my library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ellen Baker has written a timeless treasure! I was fortunate enough to get an autographed copy of this mesmerizing saga involving tales of life, love, and war wrenching heartbreak. You will love this book not only for its multi faceted details of life, but also for its ability to pull from within you emotions for each character therein. Enjoy! Beautifully written! ReBecca

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Keeping the House - Ellen Baker

    The best part of this novel is that it helped me understand my grandmother and the reasons she does what she does in a way that I have never understood before, but always wanted to. Ellen truly captured the heart and soul of the time. For someone not from that era, it was the best way to help me understand it and embrace it. The novel kept me intrigued, but also challenged my own views unlike any book I have ever read! It gave me an appreciation for the 1950's housewife that I have never had before, only because of how far our society has come from stepping away from that image. It made me incredibly thankful that I am able to have my own opinions and be my own person in our world. But yet, with a loved one over seas right now, it was incredibly applicable to my life and current situation. I would HIGHLY reccommend this reading to all audiences. Because of its depth and reality, everyone will find a connection to this novel in some way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    great

    A great new author to watch. Loved the way she goes back and forth with past and present. Very entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2