Customer Reviews for

Keeping the Moon (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 548 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(340)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Well, for starters, if you don't really know what this book is about, here is a short synopsis. Keeping the Moon is the story of a girl, Colie Sparks, who has lost her identity, and is trying to find her true self with the help of her friends, Morgan and Isabel. Keeping...
Well, for starters, if you don't really know what this book is about, here is a short synopsis. Keeping the Moon is the story of a girl, Colie Sparks, who has lost her identity, and is trying to find her true self with the help of her friends, Morgan and Isabel. Keeping the Moon has many components, emotional and critical, so it promises to be a good read for someone of any age.
This book screams tons of messages. One of the biggest themes in this book is the theme of friendship. Throughout our lives, we've all experienced the darkness of loneliness. We had that burning feeling in our throat, a sign of tears, just wishing someone was there to guide you through. Colie, the main character, experiences such feelings. Then, two friends help through the pain and the burning. Another big theme in this story is the element of accepting who you really are. All throughout the book characters of all ages struggle, or some not at all, with characteristics that make them stick out in society, some of the characteristics are an odd, artistic, hippy, fat, gothic, or punk. Also, preppy or snotty. In the end, the struggles or questions are resolved.
After I finished the last page of this book, I felt something really deep inside of me. As I reviewed page after page, chapter after chapter in my head, I felt a really strong message coming to me. This strong sense of meaning made me opinion of this book soar. When you first pick up this book, you don't really think it to be something you think about in later years when it collects dust in your bookcase. I certainly didn't. But as I went on, I saw that I too could relate to what was going on. Sometime in your life, you've felt you needed a friend or that you didn't fit in and wanted to change. This book addresses such things with fun characters, and a deeper meaning.
Keeping the Moon I recommend for anyone who has dealt with these issues. Whoever you are, whatever age, whatever size, Keeping the Moon promises to be a good read.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Haha

The cover she looks like she has a mans thing in her shorts.

posted by 9948071 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 551 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Well, for starters, if you don't really know what this book is about, here is a short synopsis. Keeping the Moon is the story of a girl, Colie Sparks, who has lost her identity, and is trying to find her true self with the help of her friends, Morgan and Isabel. Keeping the Moon has many components, emotional and critical, so it promises to be a good read for someone of any age.
    This book screams tons of messages. One of the biggest themes in this book is the theme of friendship. Throughout our lives, we've all experienced the darkness of loneliness. We had that burning feeling in our throat, a sign of tears, just wishing someone was there to guide you through. Colie, the main character, experiences such feelings. Then, two friends help through the pain and the burning. Another big theme in this story is the element of accepting who you really are. All throughout the book characters of all ages struggle, or some not at all, with characteristics that make them stick out in society, some of the characteristics are an odd, artistic, hippy, fat, gothic, or punk. Also, preppy or snotty. In the end, the struggles or questions are resolved.
    After I finished the last page of this book, I felt something really deep inside of me. As I reviewed page after page, chapter after chapter in my head, I felt a really strong message coming to me. This strong sense of meaning made me opinion of this book soar. When you first pick up this book, you don't really think it to be something you think about in later years when it collects dust in your bookcase. I certainly didn't. But as I went on, I saw that I too could relate to what was going on. Sometime in your life, you've felt you needed a friend or that you didn't fit in and wanted to change. This book addresses such things with fun characters, and a deeper meaning.
    Keeping the Moon I recommend for anyone who has dealt with these issues. Whoever you are, whatever age, whatever size, Keeping the Moon promises to be a good read.

    42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book! You should read it

    The book, "Keeping the Moon", is about a girl named Nicole, but her mother calls her Colie. She is fifteen-years-old and her mother is a professional fitness trainer. With Colie's mom having such a busy job, their family is always moving from state to state. Out of all of the schools that Colie's ever been to, she's never fit in. She hasn't had one friend either. This summer, Colies's mother is going on tour, so Nicole has to stay with her crazy aunt that lives in Colby, North Carolina. Colie is nervous, but she thinks that staying at Colby for the summer might give her a chance to meet some friends. There might also be some surprises up the road for her. I really like the book, "Keeping the Moon", because it teaches a girl that has no friends to becoming a girl that is one of the best of friends you could possible have. I would recommend this book to someone because it is written by one of my favorite authors and it has a great story about a girl who learns what friendship is all about.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book! YOU SHOULD READ IT!

    Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen is a pretty good book. It's interesting and clever and funny. It teaches a few worthwhile lessons and it has a good, satisfying ending that you leaves you feeling glad that you read it. Definitely worth your time.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Great Book!

    Im reading it right now, and so far its a great book! The one thing that im mad about is that its a short book. I like reading books that are like 300 pages long but this book is only like 200. Even though its a short book, i recomend it to anyone. :)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic(:

    Sarah Dessen is an amazing author. As I read more and more of her books I realize that they all posses the same qualities there all great, cute, funny, charming and all around great. Where to start... Keeping the Moon is my most relatable book because like her I moved to a new town with no hopes of becoming anything. Colie is not looking to impress anyone when she moves to Colby. She goes there with a lip piercing and a bad attitude. Then she lands a job at the Last Chace Bar and Grill without even trying. There she meets new people and learns one of the most important lessons of all time. You shouldn't be suprised when people treat you with respect, you should expect it. She learns to respect herself and be true to herself and that everyone is beautiful in their own way. She finds love(: and friends and a place where she belongs. It looks like what you think will be the worst turns out to be the best. Finally an author who writes books with important life lessons and is capeable of writing something where you can find yourself. So do yourself a favor and read this and all other books by Sarah Dessen. Things don't always turn out like you think.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Reader

    Colie is a girl who misses her old life with her mother and also just wants to fit in. With the help of Megan and Isabel she learns the meaning of friendship and staying true to herself. This is a great book for ages 11- 21 bur anyone could probably read it. I recomend any girl with confedance issues to def

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    SOOPER! ^o^

    This is 'so far' one of my most favorite books by the AMAZING Sarah Dessen! This book has so much detail and funness! Sarah Dessen is a very talented author. This book is a MUST read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Thissss....

    This is the most amzing book i have ever read.... it made me think abouthow i think of myself and how i treat others.... i also learned that if a guy loves you he wont do anything to hurt u and that u deserve the best man in the world that GOD has chosen just for u!!!! Lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved It

    I have read 2 of Sarah's books besides this one, "Someone Like You" and "What Happened To Goodbye." Loved, with a capitol L, Loved them.
    "Keeping the Moon" was...okay when I first started it. But I didn't think it was Sarah Dessen's best writing. But when I got farther into the book, I could NOT put it down.
    "Keeping the Moon" is just a WONDERFUL story to read. I'm trying to get my busy mom to read it. It's just an amazing story about friendship and accepting you are, and how 15-year-old Colie takes it all. There are a lot of good lessons in here, also; if you're insecure (and who isn't?) you should definitely read this book, it'll undoubtedly inspire you and make you stronger.
    Over all, this was an amazing book. Sarah's done it again. I love this book just as much as I love all of her other amazing books I've read. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Keeping the Moon

    Sarah Dessen is a fantastic writer. She has an ability to create characters in your mind that you somehow already know, thier physical apperance and their actions. Everyone in this book is linked to someone you know, making it hit closer to home. Colie, a young adult who is constantly being called names at home and does not fit in, makes friends in some unexpected places when she goes to live with her aunt for the summer because of circumstances with her mother. She meets two girls and they befreind her-something so new and spectacular. They help her become all she can be, and most importantly they help her believe that she really is something. When the girl that spreads all the rumors about Colie at home she finally has the courage to stand up to her and say what is true. The sotry moves slowly yet every page has somehting new happening important to the story on it. Overall Sarah Dessen does a great job of telling Colie's story, one of a girl who is lost about her identity and has no self-confidance yet finds herself thrown into a world of change. And how she finally accepts who she is and why she is truly something special.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    anonymous

    this book was one of dessensbetter pieces. i loved the plot and i could really relate to colie. its nice to know that a 15 year old lost weight...but she still doesnt feel condfident. with her corky aunt, sweet neighbor, and two crazy fun loving girls she finds confidence she never new she had. i love this book. good plot. not slow. i recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    This book

    I loved this book it really helped me to accept myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Love It

    It was really amazing and honestly I feel like teens can actually relate to it. Its just AMAZING!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Summer reading!!

    I gave this 5 stars because i think its gunna be good. I have to read it for seventh ggrade summer reading! I really hope its good! Ive never read sarah dessen before, but i hear she's a really good writer! Hope the book is good!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Haha

    The cover she looks like she has a mans thing in her shorts.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Love it

    This book is great. Its got the small town rumors. I recomend this book to anyone. I am alot like Mira i am a good person but a lot of times rumors start about me that r false i get looked at werid. READ THIS BOOK AND ALL OF SARAH DESSENS BOOKS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great book :)

    I read this book before I got my nook, but it's great! I definitely recommend this book. It starts off a little slow, but once I got into it I couldn't put it down! Don't waste any time on getting this, you'll love it. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    A Must-Read

    This book is really amazing. A great story of friendship, live, and plain ol' just being who you are! I believe everyone should have a chance to read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Power of friendship!!!

    Good for bffs and others.friendship is awesome.sarah dessen is amzing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    good read

    good but not her best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 551 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28