Customer Reviews for

Keeping the Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 547 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(339)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Well, for starters, if you don't really know what this book is about, here is a short synopsis. Keeping the Moon is the story of a girl, Colie Sparks, who has lost her identity, and is trying to find her true self with the help of her friends, Morgan and Isabel. Keeping...
Well, for starters, if you don't really know what this book is about, here is a short synopsis. Keeping the Moon is the story of a girl, Colie Sparks, who has lost her identity, and is trying to find her true self with the help of her friends, Morgan and Isabel. Keeping the Moon has many components, emotional and critical, so it promises to be a good read for someone of any age.
This book screams tons of messages. One of the biggest themes in this book is the theme of friendship. Throughout our lives, we've all experienced the darkness of loneliness. We had that burning feeling in our throat, a sign of tears, just wishing someone was there to guide you through. Colie, the main character, experiences such feelings. Then, two friends help through the pain and the burning. Another big theme in this story is the element of accepting who you really are. All throughout the book characters of all ages struggle, or some not at all, with characteristics that make them stick out in society, some of the characteristics are an odd, artistic, hippy, fat, gothic, or punk. Also, preppy or snotty. In the end, the struggles or questions are resolved.
After I finished the last page of this book, I felt something really deep inside of me. As I reviewed page after page, chapter after chapter in my head, I felt a really strong message coming to me. This strong sense of meaning made me opinion of this book soar. When you first pick up this book, you don't really think it to be something you think about in later years when it collects dust in your bookcase. I certainly didn't. But as I went on, I saw that I too could relate to what was going on. Sometime in your life, you've felt you needed a friend or that you didn't fit in and wanted to change. This book addresses such things with fun characters, and a deeper meaning.
Keeping the Moon I recommend for anyone who has dealt with these issues. Whoever you are, whatever age, whatever size, Keeping the Moon promises to be a good read.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Haha

The cover she looks like she has a mans thing in her shorts.

posted by 9948071 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Haha

    The cover she looks like she has a mans thing in her shorts.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Just for killing time.

    It wasn't that much of a page turner. Kind of boring actually and this is my first Dessen novel, however, Ive heard she's a good author so I wont let this novel deter me from reading the rest she's written. I would only recommend this novel to someone who just wants to kill a couple hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Sandy2449

    For me the beginning was kind of slow but towards the middle end it picked up and the real romance started. It was not one of my favorite Sarah Dessen books but it was an okay read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Gffgddv

    Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Slow going, but interesting toward the end

    Have you ever seen girls pick on one another, it can be very hurtful to the girl that is being picked on, and Keeping the Moon portrays that well. This book is about a young girl that was obese and then her mom, Kiki Sparks, a famous fitness instructor, changed the world with her award winning work outs, and her and her daughters life. When her mother goes on a world tour, she leaves her with her eccentric aunt in Colby. When Colie gets to Colby, NC she changes her point of view about herself and others.
    Colie eventually got job at the last chance bar and grill. There she made friends with isabel and morgan, who help her realize that she should appreciate her self and look at the bright side of things. They also help her change her image.
    It was a good book, but it wasn't the best. It was slow going, and only got exciting towards the end. You have to be the right kind of person to truly enjoy the book. Sara Dessen is a good author for portraying the truth about real life situations, however whether you are sensitive to that topic is up to you. We rated this book three stars out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The formula of perfection is imperfection.

    This is a good book, but not one of Ms. Dessen's best work. The formula of touching your heart by simplicity of the story is still there. The story is so simple, but you'll love how it is organized. The characters are alive. Ms. Dessen did not fail to develop them. I even love aunt Mira's house. I would love to live in that house if that house even exist (but seriously I don't know if the house really exist). The book has hanging questions, but I guess this will make you realize that everything is not perfect. Quotes are inspiring so it is worth reading and memorizing some lines. Go to Barnes & Noble if you have the time. It might not be Ms.Dessen's best, but this is a book that will not bore you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good YA That Uplifts

    I read this book because Jenny told me that the author just writes nice books about young girls. This one was about a girl who used to be fat and had no self-esteem but gains it through a summer staying with her crazy aunt. I really liked how this book made me feel better about myself and I actually took some good thoughts away with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    okay read

    Overall I think this was an okay book for me. I liked it but isn't was attaching. i read when i felt like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    The Odd One of the Bunch

    Sarah Dessen has written many books that I enjoy 'ie. truth about forever, someone like you, dreamland'. But I must admit that Keeping the Moon was not my favorite. Again the story is about an un-confident girl striving to what is called 'popular' or 'pretty' etc. Of alll the books I think this may be the one that was the most depressing. Mira, her aunt, is constantly being made fun of for her apperance. Colie has consant flash backs of her being verbally abused by her peers. One of her friends Morgan is in a relationship that is not what she truly believes it is. For me, I read to be entertained by a story, to be absorbed by the book, and almost transferred into a new world, a new situation. If I am already living in a reality I would much rather not read about one that is not as fortunate as my own and many others. By the end of the book I had mixed messages about what Dessen was trying to imply to us. Therfore I say this book was okay, but not great '3'. You may think otherwise so go ahead and pop open the book, but don't be suprised when its not as good as the others in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3