Customer Reviews for

Keeping the Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(340)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Well, for starters, if you don't really know what this book is about, here is a short synopsis. Keeping the Moon is the story of a girl, Colie Sparks, who has lost her identity, and is trying to find her true self with the help of her friends, Morgan and Isabel. Keeping...
Well, for starters, if you don't really know what this book is about, here is a short synopsis. Keeping the Moon is the story of a girl, Colie Sparks, who has lost her identity, and is trying to find her true self with the help of her friends, Morgan and Isabel. Keeping the Moon has many components, emotional and critical, so it promises to be a good read for someone of any age.
This book screams tons of messages. One of the biggest themes in this book is the theme of friendship. Throughout our lives, we've all experienced the darkness of loneliness. We had that burning feeling in our throat, a sign of tears, just wishing someone was there to guide you through. Colie, the main character, experiences such feelings. Then, two friends help through the pain and the burning. Another big theme in this story is the element of accepting who you really are. All throughout the book characters of all ages struggle, or some not at all, with characteristics that make them stick out in society, some of the characteristics are an odd, artistic, hippy, fat, gothic, or punk. Also, preppy or snotty. In the end, the struggles or questions are resolved.
After I finished the last page of this book, I felt something really deep inside of me. As I reviewed page after page, chapter after chapter in my head, I felt a really strong message coming to me. This strong sense of meaning made me opinion of this book soar. When you first pick up this book, you don't really think it to be something you think about in later years when it collects dust in your bookcase. I certainly didn't. But as I went on, I saw that I too could relate to what was going on. Sometime in your life, you've felt you needed a friend or that you didn't fit in and wanted to change. This book addresses such things with fun characters, and a deeper meaning.
Keeping the Moon I recommend for anyone who has dealt with these issues. Whoever you are, whatever age, whatever size, Keeping the Moon promises to be a good read.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Haha

The cover she looks like she has a mans thing in her shorts.

posted by 9948071 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book! You should read it

    The book, "Keeping the Moon", is about a girl named Nicole, but her mother calls her Colie. She is fifteen-years-old and her mother is a professional fitness trainer. With Colie's mom having such a busy job, their family is always moving from state to state. Out of all of the schools that Colie's ever been to, she's never fit in. She hasn't had one friend either. This summer, Colies's mother is going on tour, so Nicole has to stay with her crazy aunt that lives in Colby, North Carolina. Colie is nervous, but she thinks that staying at Colby for the summer might give her a chance to meet some friends. There might also be some surprises up the road for her. I really like the book, "Keeping the Moon", because it teaches a girl that has no friends to becoming a girl that is one of the best of friends you could possible have. I would recommend this book to someone because it is written by one of my favorite authors and it has a great story about a girl who learns what friendship is all about.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Great Book!

    Im reading it right now, and so far its a great book! The one thing that im mad about is that its a short book. I like reading books that are like 300 pages long but this book is only like 200. Even though its a short book, i recomend it to anyone. :)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Keeping the Moon

    Sarah Dessen is a fantastic writer. She has an ability to create characters in your mind that you somehow already know, thier physical apperance and their actions. Everyone in this book is linked to someone you know, making it hit closer to home. Colie, a young adult who is constantly being called names at home and does not fit in, makes friends in some unexpected places when she goes to live with her aunt for the summer because of circumstances with her mother. She meets two girls and they befreind her-something so new and spectacular. They help her become all she can be, and most importantly they help her believe that she really is something. When the girl that spreads all the rumors about Colie at home she finally has the courage to stand up to her and say what is true. The sotry moves slowly yet every page has somehting new happening important to the story on it. Overall Sarah Dessen does a great job of telling Colie's story, one of a girl who is lost about her identity and has no self-confidance yet finds herself thrown into a world of change. And how she finally accepts who she is and why she is truly something special.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    anonymous

    this book was one of dessensbetter pieces. i loved the plot and i could really relate to colie. its nice to know that a 15 year old lost weight...but she still doesnt feel condfident. with her corky aunt, sweet neighbor, and two crazy fun loving girls she finds confidence she never new she had. i love this book. good plot. not slow. i recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    A Must-Read

    This book is really amazing. A great story of friendship, live, and plain ol' just being who you are! I believe everyone should have a chance to read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    good read

    good but not her best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Book

    When I first started out reading Sarah Dessens books I was suprised by how well written they were, no details were ever left out. I have to say though, that when it came to this one, I was a little dissapointed. Don't get me wrong, the book was still very good and Sarah is a fabulous writer but something was missing, the charisma of the character just wasnt quite right. Still, it was a good book to read and I reccomend it to everyone :).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings This was surpris

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings
    This was surprisingly my first Sarah Dessen read, I have quite a few books of hers on my bookshelf, but had yet to read one, so in the middle of a cold snap, I decided it was the perfect book to curl up with and read in one sitting!  I was right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    It was a nice read, but it just wasn't a wow factor to me. I lik

    It was a nice read, but it just wasn't a wow factor to me. I liked the story and overall message behind it, but I just couldn't personally relate to it. I did like it and enjoyed reading it, but it just wasn't amazing. I chalk it up to being published in 1999, but who knows. I will definitely not let this effect my love for Sarah Dessen novels, though. I recommend this to fans of YA contemporary, and to those who like a nice light read with a sweet message behind it.

    3.5/5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Love

    I like this book its short and sweet<33.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Keeping the moon is a book about fifteen-year old Nicole Sparks,

    Keeping the moon is a book about fifteen-year old Nicole Sparks, going to visit her overly peppy and excited stepmom and her lazy, incosiderate dad in their beach house. There, Nicole runs into many people, with some even helping her find herself, and who she is. At home, Nicole is an outcast, with her lip ring and black hair, so her mom, The famous fitness trainer, decides it would be best for her to move, When she moves, she meets some harshly honest girls, which in turn become her friends, and teach her everything about how to live the teenage years to fullest.
    What I liked about this book was how well it was written, and how it keeps you hooked the whole book. Although it seems like a boring book about useless teenage drama, it is far from that. I also like how all the struggles Nicole faced are finally solved by the end of the book. Even thought there were many things I liked about Keeping the Moon, there was just one thing i disliked, which was the length. It has a medium length, I wish it was longer, because of how great it is.
    In all, I think this book is great. I believe it is good for anyone about the age of probably 12. I think it is a great read, especially for people that have dealt with friendship problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    check it out!!

    I really enjoyed this book. It had a great story line and amazing twist. The main character, 15 year old Colie
    goes to live with her aunt for the summer, and has had, and makes some changes in
    her life. One of the changes was well; she went from being overweight, to a perfect
    size, and from being homeless, to being a millionaire. Her personality needed to be
    checked though. It wasn't that she was the most popular girl who was super mean and
    everyone wanted to be like. She was the girl that was mean to people, and didn't
    like to have a lot of people around.
    Over the summer though, with the help of her new found friends, she changed. She met
    a girl that was slightly bossy, beautiful, and spoke her mind, and she made her
    happier. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    Loved it!

    It was really good. im only 13 an i hav read a lot of books and sarah dessen so far has written the best ones!! I mostly lik lock and key but i also liked this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Lala Loved it!

    It was a fast fun read. Relatable characters a lot of fun. Not the best but definetly worth reading. I read it a while back but still think of it sometimes. It will make you laugh and have a good time so check it out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    best book ever!

    i read this book in a day last year and the wow effect is still on me-it is deffinetlyworth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    self confidence,love,friendship, all in 228 pages

    In this story Keeping up the Moon, fifteen year old Colie is going to visit her Aunt Mira, which she hasn't seen in years. Since the fat years and her mom became famous. Colie is the very insecure and has no self confidence. Finding her way through friendship with two girls who are best friends named Isabel and Morgan. Isabel is the pretty girl type who doesn't take anyone's crap and Morgan who is average, never had guys hit on her is pretty cool and laid back until a problem arouses with her and her soon to be fianc&#233;e. Oh and good old Norman, Norman is Norman kind of a hippie and collector art freak. Then there's aunt Mira a sweetheart who is a collector as well and focuses on horoscope. How can Aunt Mira deal with all the put down in a little town. Is Colie and Mira alike, is there some special secret Colie needs to know. Is there really something gross about Colie or does all she need is a little help from friends and more self confidence. I liked this story alot because real people feel this emotion and it makes you feel like your right there with the characters.It makes you feel sorry for the people out there who feel that way. Its a feeling that nobody would like to feel and i like that alot. I feel very moved by this story and i give the author props for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    Great book!

    This first Sarah Dessen book that I read was Just Listen and I loved it so much. It was one of the books that really got me hooked on reading. Then, I started to read Dreamland, Lock and Key, and The Truth About Forever, all of which really bored me. They were all so...similar. They were predictable and I'm pretty sure I didn't even finish reading Dreamland or The Truth About Forever. So, Keeping The Moon wasn't exactly on my must read list. But one day I decided to pick it up and I was pleasantly surprised. The book has great lessons in self confidence and the story is different from Sarah's other books. The story focuses more on friendship and self confidence than love and relationships. It's a great read for any girl around the ages 13-15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    kepping the moon the good and bad points

    Keeping the moon written by Sarah Denssen was an interesting adventure that went through collies mind and how she grew to love herself now without the pounds of fat to hide behind our the reputation that haunted her at home. At first when she went to live with her crazy aunt in Colby, North Carolina while her mom went on a tour of Europe to advertise Kiki fitness tour. During her stay at her aunt's house with posttest notes everywhere she finds a job at the local dinner working with a snobbish girl and her best friend along with the guy who lives in her aunt's basement. During this at home adventure I grew to relate to collie and how she went through all the name calling that cruel girls tend to say about one another.
    Through this adventure she finds her true self, gains more confidence, and two wonderful best friends along with love of someone she didn't expect. the only thing that I thought was bad was the ending with so many un answered questions going through your mind it just makes you wonder and hope that there is another book after this one but unfortunately their isn't, it's just simply ends with a slight conclusion, it leaves to many answers unsaid it seems to me that there should be a second keeping the moon but unfortunately their isn't so my answers and most likely yours will not be answered unless you're the author. This book mostly relates to the teenagers and it's a great book to read if you don't mind unanswered questions and especially if you love Sarah Dessen I suggest you read this book to get into the thoughts of an overweight girl with a bad reputation that she doesn't deserve, it really opens your mind to the feelings of others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    Inspiring

    The main character, Colie Sparks, is an inspiring character in my opinion. Even though she has a rough time throughout the book, she sticks with it, and keeps on going. I liked this book becasue you can relate it to everyday life. The author, Sarah Dessen, is a great writer, and she knows how to capture her audience. In this book, she does the same, with the exciting encounters in the story. This story about a girl overcoming her self-esteem problems and gaining confidence in herself is definitly an inspiration for girls who are struggling with weight issurs, just like the main character, Colie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Keeping Faith

    Keeping the moon was a very sad and a very self-impowering book. It teaches you to love yourself for who you are:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8