BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Keepsake (Rizzoli and Isles Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read!

    Tess Gerritsen is an excellent writer and this book does not disappoint. The plot revolves around an archeologist and there is a fair amount of information dispersed throughout the book on various aspects of archeology. If you have no interest in this subject, you may not find Keepsake quite as engaging. I am probably not a good judge of that, since I am fascinated by the subject!

    The story moves at a good pace and the mystery keeps you guessing until the end. Gerritsen is a master with characters, giving them those all too human traits that make them feel like real people. The plot is intricate without being overly complicated. Gerritsen took me into her world and held me there throughout the story. I couldn't ask for anything more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Resounding and Impactful Murder Mystery!

    This book is the most amazing so far. I really do love all of Gerritsen's titles, but this one has stuck in my head for months. I catch myself thinking about it practically every day, and the smallest things will trigger thoughts about this resounding tale. I would recommend this to anyone who likes mystery novels. If you are on the fence, this book will tip you into fandome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    A superb thriller

    Boston-based medical examiner Maura Isles has examined a lot of corpses while on the job, but this one is special. The Crispin Museum invited the ME to attend a CAT scan of Madame X the perfectly preserved mummy found in their basement who the curator believes will save their financially troubled facility.------------- However, instead of an ancient Egyptian royal, the modern medical test proves the mummy is a recent homicide victim. They also find a cryptic note inside. Boston Police Department Detectives Jane Rizzoli and Barry Frost lead the investigation. The message leads the cops to archeologist Josephine Pulcillo, who along with her mom has been on the run from an obsessed serial killer. Soon more modern day mummies are found, but the culprit remains elusively hidden in spite of Egyptian embalming knowledge.-------------- The latest Rizzoli-Isles police procedural is a superb thriller that needs a graphic warning label not to read on a full stomach. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the mummy goes from ancient historical to contemporary and never slows down as obsession keeps a mother and daughter in fear of revealing secrets to the cops. Tess Gerritsen is at her best with this gruesome horrific murder mystery.----------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Top notch

    Excellent....loved the museum and archeology background

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Tess Does it Again

    Tess, you have wowed me. I am in fifth grade and watch Rizzoli and Isles after I do homework. If I thought there was nothing better than that, I was wrong. You are right up there with James Patterson and Kathy Reichs. Maybe even higher. You have a talent in writing I have never seen before. I worship you; you are my idol!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Great Read!!

    Loved, loved, LOVED, this one!!! Had a great twist!!! Liked the fact it was set in a museum.....definately a must read!! I will be so bummed when I finish this series!! I do not think anything I read will live up to Tess Gerritsen's amazing books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesome Book

    As always another great book by Tess Gerrison!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Thrilling

    Tess Gerritsen does it again. She personalizes the storyline plus keeps you on the edge of your seat with thrilling information..little bit of truth tossed in with lots of great fiction. Keep the books coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Great book

    I love all of her books an this one does not dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Good read! TESS never lets me down!

    Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Really Good Read

    I am presently reading through the Rizzoli and Isles series and have read other Gerritsen books. I enjoy her riding style and her charactors are two tough smart ladies. This book is as good as the rest of the series. I highly reccommend reading them all in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    Good read

    I'm usually a fan of the more 'scientific' thrillers like Kathy Reichs and the early Patricia Cornwell novels, but I really enjoyed this book. It's the first Gerritsen book I read and while predictable in some ways, the story was fast paced and intriguing. I'll definitely get more and hope the earlier ones are as good as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really good

    This was a really good book! I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I have just discovered Tess Gerritsen and have thoroughly enjoyed the two books that I have read so far. The Keepsake was an interesting and suspenseful read. I have always been interested in Egyptology and the discussion about the embalming of the dead was quite interesting. The characters are well drawn and the plot is original and engaging. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a solid mystery story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    The discovery of a preserved mummy in the basement of Boston's Crispin Museum causes much media attention. Egyptologist/ archeologist Josephine Pulcillo, in hopes of not disturbing the wrappings, plans to scan the mummy beforehand to see what they can learn. Medical examiner Maura Isles is invited to be present for the scan and discovers this is no Egyptian mummy of ancient times but a woman who died more recently. When a shrunken head is discovered behind a wall in the museum, homicide detective Jane Rizzoli and Dr. Isles become suspicious they have a serial killer on their hands who is proficient in the ancient rites of preservation. This notion is confirmed when a bog-preserved body is found in the trunk of Josephine Pulcillo's car. The only thing the three bodies have in common: Josephine Pulcillo, whom Rizzoli suspects is hiding secrets from her past.

    This latest in Gerritsen's series involving Maura Isles and Jane Rizzoli is an exceptional read; filled with historical information regarding mummification and forensics, enmeshed within a thrilling mystery. Dr. Isles is still involved in an illicit affair with a priest and Rizzoli remains in her stable relationship with an FBI agent. The two women are tough and independent and very likable. Rizzoli is maturing and mellowing in her marriage while Isles is in a relationship that brings her more despair than happiness. This well-written series continues to remain strong and fresh not only because of these strong women characters but the issues they face, forensically and personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Excellent book by a great mystery writer

    The Keepsake is the latest in a long list of mystery novels by Tess Gerritsen. I read this book in a matter of days, even though I have a full-time job and don't have a lot of time to read. Gerritsen's style makes it very easy to get engrossed in the story. Fans of hers will recognize Detective Rizzoli and Medical Examiner Isles. People who are not acquainted with her work will search out other books by Gerritsen after reading this one. I won't spoil the ending of this book, but I will say that Gerritsen doesn't rush through the last few pages just to get the book over with, as some writers do. The ending is plausible. I have read some books that have left me scratching my head at the end and saying "No way. That would never happen!" This is not one of those books. I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tess is the Best

    Could not put this book down. Not into archeology but the book held my interest and just when you thought you knew it - there was a twist and turn...my kind of book..already passing it around to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Her best Novel Yet

    This book grips you from the begining and does not let go. This is her best Rizzoli/Isles novel to date. I couldnt put it down. I couldnt wait for it to finish and I didnt want it to end. I hope she puts out more novels like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Tess Gerritsen at her best.

    Exciting from start to finish. I love the working relationship between Jane and Maura and we know so much about Jane but very little about Maura. I'd really enjoy reading a novel which explains more about Maura and her lover, the priest. Jane seems to have it all and manages pretty well with the help of Gabriel, but Maura still remains a mystery of sadness. This novel hinted at her relationship, but I'd like to see her happy in her love life and certainly she deserves it. An excellent plot line and another success for Gerritsen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Gerritsen continues to write great stories!!

    I couldn't wait to read the next book with Maura Isles and Jane Rizzoli. The book was well-written with unforeseen twists and turns. Gerritsen is a talented writer and I continue to recommend her books to friends and fellow teachers. None of her books have disappointed me and I look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8