Customer Reviews for

Kell's Legend (Clockwork Vampire Chronicles #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 581 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fast and Intense

Hang on to your hats boys and girls. Kell's Legend is the sort of book that grabs hold of you and does not let go. If it weren't for the two infant children in my home, I would have read it in one sitting. If dark fantasy and balls out action is your thing, this is t...
Hang on to your hats boys and girls. Kell's Legend is the sort of book that grabs hold of you and does not let go. If it weren't for the two infant children in my home, I would have read it in one sitting. If dark fantasy and balls out action is your thing, this is the novel you have been waiting to find.


I will only describe the book in the briefest of terms to avoid any spoilers. The kingdom of Falanor is invaded by a race of clockwork vampires. Kell, an old veteran with a legendary past, is forced back into action to protect his granddaughter. The story also follows a second protagonist from the vampire side of things. I do not want to say anything that will spoil her for you, but she is an excellent character. Her story arch takes the reader deep into the strange culture of the vampires and an enjoyable contrast to Kell.


This is one of the most entertaining books I have read this year. The characters are dynamic and believable. The plot takes off at a rapid clip and does not slow down. Remic's clockwork vampires are the most creative and interesting vampires I have seen in quite some time.

posted by James_Atlantic on July 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Escapist fun, but . . .

This was my first venture into B & N's Free Fridays, and it wasn't a complete waste of time.

First, the good. The universe is intriguing, the plot action-packed and fast-paced, the characters mostly interesting. I always enjoy multiple plotlines, and the cliffhanger ...
This was my first venture into B & N's Free Fridays, and it wasn't a complete waste of time.

First, the good. The universe is intriguing, the plot action-packed and fast-paced, the characters mostly interesting. I always enjoy multiple plotlines, and the cliffhanger chapter endings kept me turning the page. I loved the whole idea of the Vachine; very novel and interesting.

The bad. Ugh, the writing. Maybe the overblown purple prose is common in this genre, but it kept taking me out of the story. A lot of the dialogue was just flat-out unbelievable, and most of the female characters were really hard to take. Does this guys actually know, or talk to, real women?

So, it's probably pretty good for what it is. There are other fantasy writers like R.A. Salvatore where I couldn't even get through one chapter. This is much better than that. I probably won't read the sequels, since I'll have to pay for them :-), but it was decent, short-term entertainment.

posted by bookwormiest on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 585 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Fast and Intense

    Hang on to your hats boys and girls. Kell's Legend is the sort of book that grabs hold of you and does not let go. If it weren't for the two infant children in my home, I would have read it in one sitting. If dark fantasy and balls out action is your thing, this is the novel you have been waiting to find.


    I will only describe the book in the briefest of terms to avoid any spoilers. The kingdom of Falanor is invaded by a race of clockwork vampires. Kell, an old veteran with a legendary past, is forced back into action to protect his granddaughter. The story also follows a second protagonist from the vampire side of things. I do not want to say anything that will spoil her for you, but she is an excellent character. Her story arch takes the reader deep into the strange culture of the vampires and an enjoyable contrast to Kell.


    This is one of the most entertaining books I have read this year. The characters are dynamic and believable. The plot takes off at a rapid clip and does not slow down. Remic's clockwork vampires are the most creative and interesting vampires I have seen in quite some time.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Escapist fun, but . . .

    This was my first venture into B & N's Free Fridays, and it wasn't a complete waste of time.

    First, the good. The universe is intriguing, the plot action-packed and fast-paced, the characters mostly interesting. I always enjoy multiple plotlines, and the cliffhanger chapter endings kept me turning the page. I loved the whole idea of the Vachine; very novel and interesting.

    The bad. Ugh, the writing. Maybe the overblown purple prose is common in this genre, but it kept taking me out of the story. A lot of the dialogue was just flat-out unbelievable, and most of the female characters were really hard to take. Does this guys actually know, or talk to, real women?

    So, it's probably pretty good for what it is. There are other fantasy writers like R.A. Salvatore where I couldn't even get through one chapter. This is much better than that. I probably won't read the sequels, since I'll have to pay for them :-), but it was decent, short-term entertainment.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible Writing

    This was a Free Friday book and it was awful. The plot may have been okay, but the author threw in ridiculous adjectives in every action scene, until it finally became unreadable and I gave up on it. Maybe for teenage boys...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Not recommended

    You must like gratuitous violence, profanity, and porn to like this book. Would not recommend for discussion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody and Fast Paced

    This book is not for the prudish or squeamish. It is not Harry Potter.It is Game of Thrones if written by RE Howard. As a big fan of heroic fantasy, most notably David Gemmel and RE Howard, I was pleased with this book. It was action packed and filled with brutal fight scenes. It did hold many similarities to Gemmel's Legend, but the antagonists, the vachine, were something new. The cliff hanger ending only whets my appetite for more and I will be delving into the brutal world of Kell for more encounters.

    Gerald L. Black- Author of Chronicles of The Sentient Sword Vol. 1

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great book

    Love the story line and the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Entertaining

    Good, easy, & fun read. Interesting concept and well thought out characters. I enjoyed this and will be picking up the other two books in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Suspense from beginning to end.

    I've never read a lot of fantasy type books before, but I like this one. The writer is very talented in balancing detail without getting flowery, and it's also packed with action. The main character is the good guy with a bad past. It's a mix of midevil, viking, steampunk, vampire fantasy. Which to list it all out probably sounds confusing but the writer makes it work. I think this book would appeal to guys with short attention spans, and I do mean that as a compliment.

    Last thing I will say is I got the first book for free on my Nook, and I ended up buying the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Not recommended

    I personally would not recommend this book due simply to the over use of profanity. The writer has talent, but buries it in excessively profane and gruesome prose. I suppose that if you are a fan of shock-jocks like Howard Stern, or even movies like Saw then you may enjoy this book.
    I seldom put a book down without finishing it, no matter how bad it is. I did not finish this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Great beginning

    Ennjoyed this book had to purchase the sequel as soon as I finished Kells Legend! Go Kell!,,,,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Glad it was free!

    This story could have been written, and delivered a lot better. I can not understand why the writer chose to include some of the vulgar and offensive wording he included in this book, was it a shock factor? Looking to get a rise out of people? or was he attempting to add color to the charachters.
    I will be the first to admit, he writes better than I could, but if he can't sell a book without including the very unflattering descriptive terms he used in this book, than I won't be buying any in the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    What a Surprise

    This book was much better then I had originally expected. I was so interested in the story that I was amazed when I realized that I had read half the book. This was fun and full of adventure. Love reading it and would love to read more like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great fun - can't wait for the next one

    I enjoyed this book tremendously. It's fast-paced and interesting enough to keep you wanting to know what will happen next. For those people who like traditional vampire stories - this isn't for you. But if you like a story that is an original blend of sci-fi, horror, and action, then this is just up your alley.

    These are not your normal blood sucking creatures who stalk people at night. These vampires are part of a complex world where humans exist with various things including: vachines (part human, part machine), harvesters (vampires who suck blood and people's souls), crankers (vachines gone mad), and others. And our hero, Kell, an aging human who is a legend among warriors, isn't perfect either. But the author, Remic, does a great job of weaving a story that is exciting and captivating.

    A very good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Keeps you Reading

    This was well written and kept me wanting more. Ending left many loose ends. Makes for many sequels!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended For Vampire & Fantasy Fans

    I loved everything about this book! There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about Andy Remic's 'Kell's Legend.' This has got to be the very best horror fantasy novel I've ever read. I thought Joe Abercrombie's 'The First Law' trilogy to be vividly gruesome, (and it is.) However, the acts of remorseless, inhumane violence and brutally barbaric battles will leave you shivering and smelling the blood page after page.
    Personally I love vampire novels, and Andy Remic has reinvented them to a far superior level and species. If you can, imagine the combination of the machinations of the eerie Borg from Star Trek and the creepy life force draining wraith from Stargate Atlantis, and then you may have some small idea of what the vachine are like. I'm thrilled to have found 'The Clockwork Vampire Chronicles'.
    As if the high volume of action, adventure, danger, and lust wasn't enough to keep my interest, the author's talent takes me on a journey where the puzzles and mysteries unfold only as the characters discover them and the answers for themselves. I haven't been surprised like this by an author, since reading the 'Harry Potter' series. There wasn't anything expected or that I saw coming. Thankfully, the comedic camaraderie of Kell and Saark is not only a relieving break from all the seriousness, but they are laugh out loud funny!
    I can't seem to get enough. I've picked up book two of the series immediately after finishing book one. I'm betting you will too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended for Vampire & Fantasy Fans

    I loved everything about this book! There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about Andy Remic's 'Kell's Legend.' This has got to be the very best horror fantasy novel I've ever read. I thought Joe Abercrombie's 'The First Law' trilogy to be vividly gruesome, (and it is.) However, the acts of remorseless, inhumane violence and brutally barbaric battles will leave you shivering and smelling the blood page after page. Personally I love vampire novels, and Andy Remic has reinvented them to a far superior level and species. If you can, imagine the combination of the machinations of the eerie Borg from Star Trek and the creepy life force draining wraith from Stargate Atlantis, and then you may have some small idea of what the vachine are like. I'm thrilled to have found 'The Clockwork Vampire Chronicles'. As if the high volume of action, adventure, danger, and lust wasn't enough to keep my interest, the author's talent takes me on a journey where the puzzles and mysteries unfold only as the characters discover them and the answers for themselves. I haven't been surprised like this by an author, since reading the 'Harry Potter' series. There wasn't anything expected or that I saw coming. Thankfully, the comedic camaraderie of Kell and Saark is not only a relieving break from all the seriousness, but they are laugh out loud funny! I can't seem to get enough. I've picked up book two of the series immediately after finishing book one. I'm betting you will too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Great start of the series.

    Solid characters in a gritty fantasy world. Sure there's quite a bit of profanity, and there are some very detailed sexual encounters... But, it's true to the characters' natures and gives the book a bit of an edge. I'd much rather a grizzled ex-soldier say "You look like an <expletive deleted> and I'm going to <expletive deleted> kill you" instead of "Hey jerk, I'm going to kick your butt." Might be just me but I think Kell is great. Read the other two books in the series after this one, and am fairly happy with how the storyline progressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    E.ertkshdywhd

    Oyw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Good read

    Moves quick and keeps you interested. Characters are creative but need a little more depth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Decent plot, terrible writing

    I bought this based on the positive reviews and the interesting-sounding plot.

    The plot, honestly isn't bad. That's the only reason I gave it two stars instead of one. But the writing is horribly sophomoric. The characters are all one-dimensional caricatures that we have seen written better in dozens of other fantasy novels. They have no substance whatsoever.

    The action scenes are decent, but somewhat over the top and can't take the place of good (or even decent) characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 585 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30