BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kell's Legend (Clockwork Vampire Chronicles #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 581 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fast and Intense

Hang on to your hats boys and girls. Kell's Legend is the sort of book that grabs hold of you and does not let go. If it weren't for the two infant children in my home, I would have read it in one sitting. If dark fantasy and balls out action is your thing, this is t...
Hang on to your hats boys and girls. Kell's Legend is the sort of book that grabs hold of you and does not let go. If it weren't for the two infant children in my home, I would have read it in one sitting. If dark fantasy and balls out action is your thing, this is the novel you have been waiting to find.


I will only describe the book in the briefest of terms to avoid any spoilers. The kingdom of Falanor is invaded by a race of clockwork vampires. Kell, an old veteran with a legendary past, is forced back into action to protect his granddaughter. The story also follows a second protagonist from the vampire side of things. I do not want to say anything that will spoil her for you, but she is an excellent character. Her story arch takes the reader deep into the strange culture of the vampires and an enjoyable contrast to Kell.


This is one of the most entertaining books I have read this year. The characters are dynamic and believable. The plot takes off at a rapid clip and does not slow down. Remic's clockwork vampires are the most creative and interesting vampires I have seen in quite some time.

posted by James_Atlantic on July 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Escapist fun, but . . .

This was my first venture into B & N's Free Fridays, and it wasn't a complete waste of time.

First, the good. The universe is intriguing, the plot action-packed and fast-paced, the characters mostly interesting. I always enjoy multiple plotlines, and the cliffhanger ...
This was my first venture into B & N's Free Fridays, and it wasn't a complete waste of time.

First, the good. The universe is intriguing, the plot action-packed and fast-paced, the characters mostly interesting. I always enjoy multiple plotlines, and the cliffhanger chapter endings kept me turning the page. I loved the whole idea of the Vachine; very novel and interesting.

The bad. Ugh, the writing. Maybe the overblown purple prose is common in this genre, but it kept taking me out of the story. A lot of the dialogue was just flat-out unbelievable, and most of the female characters were really hard to take. Does this guys actually know, or talk to, real women?

So, it's probably pretty good for what it is. There are other fantasy writers like R.A. Salvatore where I couldn't even get through one chapter. This is much better than that. I probably won't read the sequels, since I'll have to pay for them :-), but it was decent, short-term entertainment.

posted by bookwormiest on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Fast and Intense

    Hang on to your hats boys and girls. Kell's Legend is the sort of book that grabs hold of you and does not let go. If it weren't for the two infant children in my home, I would have read it in one sitting. If dark fantasy and balls out action is your thing, this is the novel you have been waiting to find.


    I will only describe the book in the briefest of terms to avoid any spoilers. The kingdom of Falanor is invaded by a race of clockwork vampires. Kell, an old veteran with a legendary past, is forced back into action to protect his granddaughter. The story also follows a second protagonist from the vampire side of things. I do not want to say anything that will spoil her for you, but she is an excellent character. Her story arch takes the reader deep into the strange culture of the vampires and an enjoyable contrast to Kell.


    This is one of the most entertaining books I have read this year. The characters are dynamic and believable. The plot takes off at a rapid clip and does not slow down. Remic's clockwork vampires are the most creative and interesting vampires I have seen in quite some time.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody and Fast Paced

    This book is not for the prudish or squeamish. It is not Harry Potter.It is Game of Thrones if written by RE Howard. As a big fan of heroic fantasy, most notably David Gemmel and RE Howard, I was pleased with this book. It was action packed and filled with brutal fight scenes. It did hold many similarities to Gemmel's Legend, but the antagonists, the vachine, were something new. The cliff hanger ending only whets my appetite for more and I will be delving into the brutal world of Kell for more encounters.

    Gerald L. Black- Author of Chronicles of The Sentient Sword Vol. 1

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great book

    Love the story line and the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Entertaining

    Good, easy, & fun read. Interesting concept and well thought out characters. I enjoyed this and will be picking up the other two books in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Suspense from beginning to end.

    I've never read a lot of fantasy type books before, but I like this one. The writer is very talented in balancing detail without getting flowery, and it's also packed with action. The main character is the good guy with a bad past. It's a mix of midevil, viking, steampunk, vampire fantasy. Which to list it all out probably sounds confusing but the writer makes it work. I think this book would appeal to guys with short attention spans, and I do mean that as a compliment.

    Last thing I will say is I got the first book for free on my Nook, and I ended up buying the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Great beginning

    Ennjoyed this book had to purchase the sequel as soon as I finished Kells Legend! Go Kell!,,,,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Good read

    Moves quick and keeps you interested. Characters are creative but need a little more depth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good premise, written well

    Kell's Legend is a pretty good book, I finished it easily and I'll pick up the sequels too. Writing is overall good: Some of the dialog doesn't ring very true and the author has a habit of using modern american english idioms that break immersion for me (like the female lead saying "you bet your ass, mister"). If that sort of thing is a major turn off for you, beware (although it happens a handful of times only). It's plotted well, even if many conflicts are resolved by Deus ex Machina and the author has a penchant for cliffhangers and there is one trope at the end of the book that made me roll my eyes. These quibbles are minor though and only stand out because it's much easier to criticize than praise. Overall I was immersed and intrigued by the story.

    I like the world Andy Remic has created, sort of Swords and Gothic Steampunk Sorcery. The hero is exciting, awesome even.

    /*********/
    /* minor spoiler below, second (or third?) chapter spoiled */

    I hope I don't spoil the surprise if i say that the axe from the cover graphic is an intelligent weapon, literally. This has to be my favorite part of the book I think. It's a mechanic that is rarely employed in serious fantasy and even more rarely done so brazenly. Oh sure, many authors will make vague anthropomorphizing similes and metaphors that hint at some sort of primal sub-human consciousness in inanimates. Not so with this axe, it is really quite clever and has full command of language and logic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Mixed Bag

    I reached a point where I wanted to stray from my list of must reads, and just in time came this book on a B&N Free Friday. I was excited to read this because of the editorial review.

    I would say I read about 60 pages and nearly gave up on the book. I'm not one offended by vulgar words, but I sort of agree with one of the reviews that it seems to be written to appeal to adolescents. At least that's what I thought up to that point.

    I kept reading, and the more I read, the more I found myself enjoying the book. Somewhere along the way I found a shift in the authors writing skills. The writing went from passable to excellent. The storyline was fun, the adventure was great, and the author did not back down from the violence in battle scenes. I've always felt that in many fantasy/sci-fi novels, authors tend to sanitize the battle scenes to make it suitable for teens.

    I would not say this was the best book I have ever read, but I definitely enjoyed it and have pre-ordered the sequel. The author who seemed 'indie' at the beginning now seems to be one worth watching.

    I still find this book difficult to review because it breaks some of the rules, and some of my comments may seem negative. But then again, sometimes it's nice to have a book where you don't know what to expect. Now that I have given that disclaimer, this is a book written by a man, for men (and so may seem sexist to some). That's ok, I don't care to have a "share a book time" with my wife on every book I read. It also has very strong language; it doesn't offend me but it may offend some. The book is fantasy and deals with war, so it has incredible events described with incredible graphic violence. It is a testosterone charged, adventurous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    I loved this book!

    This is a gritty, bloody book with no punches held. The heroes are fascinating, and the villians are horrifying. It is a nonstop story with exciting fight scenes that will keep you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. The vampires are a strange mix of vampires and machine, the "vachines". The hero is a grandfather, Kell, who is trying to save his grandaughter from the vachine's invasion. Other story lines are mixed in about the king and his kidnapped wife, the king's ex-swordmaster, and one of the vachine daughters who is horrified by her race. This was a great adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    Great Fun!

    I don't usually read this style of book but I gave this a try for the Free Friday and I really enjoyed it! I'm ready to read more in the series; the characters are compelling and the story is complex enough to keep me interested. Give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8