Customer Reviews for

Kendra

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by hoopsielv for TeensReadToo.com

Kendra is trying to figure out her place in life. She's definitely not full of confidence, like her cousin and friend, Adonna. Her mom is busy with school and she lives with her Nana, who is constantly trying to mold her into the daughter that she wanted.

Join...
Kendra is trying to figure out her place in life. She's definitely not full of confidence, like her cousin and friend, Adonna. Her mom is busy with school and she lives with her Nana, who is constantly trying to mold her into the daughter that she wanted.

Joining the stage crew for the school play is the start of Kendra's journey. Her ideas and designs are praised and noticed, especially by Nashawn. He's one of the hottest guys in school. The problem is, Adonna has her eyes on him, too. Three's a crowd, that's for sure.

Whatever Adonna wants, she's determined to get, no matter who gets hurt.

KENDRA was a very good novel. Throughout the book, you get to know Kendra and see her grow up. She makes some choices that aren't approved by everyone, but she's full of good character and has a strong heart.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Discusting

Ewww they do "it" ikn the butt!

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by hoopsielv for TeensReadToo.com

    Kendra is trying to figure out her place in life. She's definitely not full of confidence, like her cousin and friend, Adonna. Her mom is busy with school and she lives with her Nana, who is constantly trying to mold her into the daughter that she wanted. <BR/><BR/>Joining the stage crew for the school play is the start of Kendra's journey. Her ideas and designs are praised and noticed, especially by Nashawn. He's one of the hottest guys in school. The problem is, Adonna has her eyes on him, too. Three's a crowd, that's for sure. <BR/><BR/>Whatever Adonna wants, she's determined to get, no matter who gets hurt. <BR/><BR/>KENDRA was a very good novel. Throughout the book, you get to know Kendra and see her grow up. She makes some choices that aren't approved by everyone, but she's full of good character and has a strong heart.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great learning experience

    I loved this book coe booth really knows how to capture life through a teens eyes in a real and blunt way. I liked kendras charachter because she tells the story of alot of teens today dealing with being the product of teenage parents and how they try hard not to be like their parents. Great YA book all teens should read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is great!

    I learned from this book to make wise decisions. For example , in the book Kendra, Kendra has an aunt which is also her bestfriend and her dad's younger sister that goes to the same school as her. Kendra's aunt Adonna likes a very popular boy named Nashawn and Kendra likes him too , but Nashawn is interested in Kendra in all the wrong ways , and it leads to things Kendra could never think of, like sleeping with him. That's why from this book I learned to make wise decisions because not everybody comes off as exactly what you see them as , and they could be somebody totally different from what you thought , and they can be talking to you for all of the wrong reasons , like Nashawn. It's important to make wise decisions in situations like these , because it could lead to a lot of trouble and if Kendra would've made a better decision like not associating herself with Nashawn , then none of these bad decisions would never had happened. Making wise decisions prevent conflict and trouble and that's why I learned to make wise decisions from reading this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Yes!

    Make a second.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    This book so interpropret

    This book about her doing all this sexual suff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Ty

    Oh ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved it!:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    I ordered a used book in july and never got it.

    I ordered a used book in july and never got it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    i would recommend this book

    wonderful rading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty and Honest

    Kendra Williamson is fourteen years old and she attends North Bronx High School for Arts and Communications. She loves to draw houses and floor plans; a skill that will lead to a promising career in the future. She's not focusing a whole lot on future plans, though. The main thing that's on her mind, what she wants more than anything, is to spend more time with her mother, Renee. Kendra lives with her Nana, Valerie. Renee, who gave birth to Kendra in ninth grade, missed ten years of her daughter's life while she finished high school, then college and then grad school. Now she's graduating from Princeton with a PhD and Kendra believes she will finally have a "real" mother. A mother who will be around for more than just minutes at a time and will care about the things she cares about. A mother who will want her. But, sadly, once Renee is back in the Bronx the neglect continues so, desperate for attention, Kendra makes a choice that surprises even her. A choice she regrets, but repeats even though she feels so bad about herself after the first time. I felt so bad for Kendra. The girl goes out there and makes choices she probably wouldn't have made if somebody would have taken the time to talk to her and, most of all, truly love her. Her mother obviously loved herself more than she loved her daughter. Renee was only concerned about what she wanted and didn't give Kendra a second thought. I was so glad Kendra's Nana cared enough about her granddaughter to raise her. Valerie loved Kendra the best way she knew how, but her way was a bit controlling and smothering. And Kendra's dad, Kenny? Well, it seemed he was still trying to find his own way in the world. The author was not playin' when she penned this novel. Teenagers are way more mature, way more knowledgeable these days and Coe Booth did not hold back when she wrote about the sexual experiences of her young characters. The things fourteen year old Kendra did really shocked and disgusted me. I was saddened by her choices, and disappointed to find out that some of today's young people are making the same choices. There is one thing I learned from reading this book that I did not care to know, and there was quite a bit of profanity to overlook, but this was a good story. And, like I mentioned before, Coe Booth was not playin'! So, if you can handle the truth about the choices "some" young people are making when it comes to sex, then you might want to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    nice

    great book and story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    okay this is a really good book, especially for teens; it has so much realism and you really get caught up in this book. once i started reading this book i could not even put it down.. I LOVE THIS BOOK.. :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2