Customer Reviews for

Kenobi: Star Wars

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I always loved Westerns when I was growing up. One of my favorit

I always loved Westerns when I was growing up. One of my favorite authors was Louis L’amour. Then when I was 10, Star Wars came along. The Tatooine setting was ripe for emulating that western tale setting and putting it in the Star Wars Universe. You have Ben Kenobi as ...
I always loved Westerns when I was growing up. One of my favorite authors was Louis L’amour. Then when I was 10, Star Wars came along. The Tatooine setting was ripe for emulating that western tale setting and putting it in the Star Wars Universe. You have Ben Kenobi as the Sergio Leone Man with No Name. You have the stage coach depot/general store setting of the Calwell’s. You have the Cattle/Oil Baron character of Orrin Gault, then you have the threat of the Indians, or in this case, Tusken Raiders.

Mr. Jackson blends these two settings together into a tale that draws you in. While some may scoff at a Star Wars western, I think it works very well. I’d love to see more stories set in the Tatooine frontier such as this. The characters fit well in the Star Wars universe. We get to see more in depth what Obi-Wan did all those years in seclusion. We also get more of a look into the Tusken Raider culture and see some of their beliefs and superstitions.

This was a fun story to read and I’d highly recommend it to western or Star Wars fans. I’d say it’s suitable for pre-teen/older teens and adults due to some darker passages.

posted by RhodesReview on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

S.e.x party

Anakin skywalker

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Where DID Obiwan live after he entrusted Luke to Owen and Beru L

    Where DID Obiwan live after he entrusted Luke to Owen and Beru Lars? Surely he didn't sit on a desert outcropping in the glare of the twin suns watching.
    John Jackson Miller presents us with a community of outcasts, describing their everyday life, revealing not only the unavoidable small town politics, but the foibles and failings of the movers and shakers. If that weren't enough, he introduces flesh-and-blood Tuskens never described before. There are enough twists and turns to satisfy anyone who has read other novels about the Star Wars universe, both pre- and post-Battle of Yavin. Well worth the wait.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I always loved Westerns when I was growing up. One of my favorit

    I always loved Westerns when I was growing up. One of my favorite authors was Louis L’amour. Then when I was 10, Star Wars came along. The Tatooine setting was ripe for emulating that western tale setting and putting it in the Star Wars Universe. You have Ben Kenobi as the Sergio Leone Man with No Name. You have the stage coach depot/general store setting of the Calwell’s. You have the Cattle/Oil Baron character of Orrin Gault, then you have the threat of the Indians, or in this case, Tusken Raiders.

    Mr. Jackson blends these two settings together into a tale that draws you in. While some may scoff at a Star Wars western, I think it works very well. I’d love to see more stories set in the Tatooine frontier such as this. The characters fit well in the Star Wars universe. We get to see more in depth what Obi-Wan did all those years in seclusion. We also get more of a look into the Tusken Raider culture and see some of their beliefs and superstitions.

    This was a fun story to read and I’d highly recommend it to western or Star Wars fans. I’d say it’s suitable for pre-teen/older teens and adults due to some darker passages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    great book

    I have read all the books done on Kenobi and feel this is the first book which makes him a human character. All others you could see how his own problems added to Ankin's issues. But this book not only gives him a heart but shows a start for him to understand what went wrong. However it was the whole order which caused the downfall.
    Also it gives you more insite to the tuskan's which I would like to understand more of. Great job and great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    This was one of the best Star Wars novels ever. I had heard real

    This was one of the best Star Wars novels ever. I had heard really good things about it, but I went in kind of hesitant. I don't like Westerns. But the farther I got in the book the more I knew that the good reviews I had heard were spot on. The characters, the events, and the little nods to the rest of the Star Wars EU were all extremely well done. The inclusion of the Tusken Raiders was really a good aspect of the story. Seeing Obi-Wan's shattered spirit in the wake of having to kill his best friend and watching the galaxy he has protected fall under the control of evil was the best part of the book. I would recommend this to anyone who has seen and loved the movies. There is no need to have ever read any other book. If you love Star Wars you will love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Kenobi is one of the best Jedi

    Greetings Star Wars fans,

    I have read stories about his time on Tatooine, but never have I read one with so much detail about his first trail under the twin suns. I also enjoyed reading the parts where he tries to talk with his old master. Fans of Obi Won will love this story and those who don't know him will surely find him their favorite. Read on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A good missing chapter to the Star Wars saga

    I liked this story. It had a familiar setting in the Star Wars universe, but almost all of the characters were new. This is a story about Obi Wan Kenobi's first weeks of his hermitage on Tatooine. It is a good missing chapter between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope, the original Star Wars film. The only thing I did not appreciate about the book was that there was only one setting. Constantly changing environments is one of the things I have always liked about the Star Wars stories. However, it was still a well told story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    About time Ben got his own book. Great read for any Star Wars

    About time Ben got his own book.

    Great read for any Star Wars fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Looking at the history of Star wars I am excited to look closely

    Looking at the history of Star wars I am excited to look closely at Kenobi. What happened to Kenobi after returning to Tattooine with the infant Luke, he turns over the child, but how does a heroic figure like Kenobi remain hidden in a wild desert country. He must learn to let others solve their problems and how they relate to the difficulties of life on the edge of the galaxy. This book is reported to be a western version of the Star Wars legacy, but I have found it to be a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I have been a fan of Star Wars since i was able to remember watc

    I have been a fan of Star Wars since i was able to remember watching the original 3 back in the 90s. Everything i had was Star Wars, everything i would play with was Star Wars. Even now I'm a far bigger fan with the large collection of stories from several writers collaborating In Geroge Lucas's universe.  I have read a great deal and this book was by far a ingeniously put together, action-packed,  funny where you least expect it.  Then there is the suspense and mystery  that follows through, which i enjoyed far better.  Having the characters always asking who is this Ben Kenobi character???  Kenobi is by far my favorite beside the Thrawn series by Timothy Zahn, for several reasons. For one, i always enjoyed Ben otherwise Obi-wan which ever one you prefer, as a character and as an important role such as being a "fatherly figure" to Luke. In almost every time of Ben showing up in episode 5 and in episode 6 after Yoda passed away those as a child i enjoyed, even today. In this novel you see what Obi-Wan was up too. How he felt, what he saw.  You see a man, scarred after his battle with Anikan on Mustafar and then the compassionate person that we all love before he became the crazy Ben as Uncle Owen describes him, trying to start a new life in the sands of the desert world of Tatooine.  Where every local knows your business and is far to curious for their own good and where treacherous folk conspire against others in their favor. Now this book is full of small adventures, no giant looming Death Star where Vader lands unexpectedly, no giant space battle occurring over a planet, no this book is a small scale occurring in  the same area of Luke's home or close to it.  But believe me, its a great read. the book you need to fill in "the blanks" from the movies.  John Miller creates a stunning array of new characters, a small array of bad villains, and a scenery much what we have seen in the movies. A perfect replica. Your money is going to be well spent. Please read! and enjoy. May the Force be with you my fellow fans. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    <_>

    <_>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    mina.bulaya@gmail.com

    It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't amazing either. Add me too. :)
    And all you peeps wondering if I am a girl.....YES I AM. And yes I read Star Wars. There is NOTHING wrong with that! NOTHING!

    PEACE OUT~Mina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Star wars rp

    Main camp




    - Chase Skywalker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Obi Wan at his best!

    This is a must read for any fan of Star Wars! You follow Obi Wan on his quest to protect the infant son of his former apprentice and friend, Anakin Skywalker, on the rough planet of Tatooine. You go through his personal turmoil of wanting to remain inconspicuous while attempting to protect young Luke from any dangers that may arouse, and from the inner turmoil of not being able to allow others to see him for who he really is, the wise and great Jedi Master, Obi Wan Kenobi. He tries unsuccessfully to attempt to do both, while he cannot ignore the slight injustices being done to some of Tatooine's current residence. Great book, and great insight into Obi Wan/Ben's character. Loved It!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Geat book

    Good suprising storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Average.

    Little character development. Predictable plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    NO.#1 STAR WARS FAN

    Played almost all the games seen all the movies have a TON!!!! of star wars legos i have almost all the sets ranging from 1999 to 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    A sci-fi western....

    It took a few chapters for me to warm up to this book as the characters developed. It could be because I wasn't familiar with this new cast of characters. I can say that prior to reading this book, I never thought much about the Tusken Raiders, or any of the other adversaries in the Star Wars universe. The book gives an excellent backstory of the Tuskens and how the figured in with the Jedi. I also heard this book was a western and wasn't sure what to expect. Reading about Kenobi's pain and vulnerabilities after the duel with Anakin on Mustafar was one of the best parts of the book to me. After the characters were developed, the suspense and mystery kept me glued to this book to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Poop

    Poop

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Sweetfur-ATTENTION ALL!

    If you need advise on anything-anything at all, go to bulb res. 5

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Annaclaire

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3