BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kept

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Is she a drug-crazed celebutante or is someone just trying to make her look that way?

Alyssa Miles' character is modeled after Paris Hilton. In Alyssa's case, the money in the family is from diamonds, and after her father and stepmother die in an apparent murder-suicide, her life keeps going downhill. Bodyguard Derek Taggart, twin brother of Ethan from...
Alyssa Miles' character is modeled after Paris Hilton. In Alyssa's case, the money in the family is from diamonds, and after her father and stepmother die in an apparent murder-suicide, her life keeps going downhill. Bodyguard Derek Taggart, twin brother of Ethan from Alden's "Caught", is totally hot in a cool, reserved way, and wants Alyssa but doesn't like her public persona. Lots of great sex, but Derek is a bit of a jerk to Alyssa because he doesn't know what's really in her head. The Blood Diamond part of the storyline is secondary to the push-pull of the lead characters, but it all ties together in the end. Caught and Kept remind me of Shannon McKenna's books, which is a good thing.

posted by GA_Girl on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Author

I am pleasantly surprised with Jami Alden. I never think to buy her books unless I see them at the used books store I frequent. But, as I have often noticed, they are very good reads. This one I liked even though I was a little worried at first with the whole starlet ro...
I am pleasantly surprised with Jami Alden. I never think to buy her books unless I see them at the used books store I frequent. But, as I have often noticed, they are very good reads. This one I liked even though I was a little worried at first with the whole starlet role. Both were great...very much along the lines of Shannon McKenna before she got really graphic.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous romantic suspense thriller

    Gemini Security is run by the Taggert brothers with the oldest Danny in charge and his younger twins Ethan and Derek top security operatives. The firm is hired by Emma Bancroft to provide security at a major gala. At the event Derek meets ¿Miss Thing¿ Alyssa Miles and afterward takes her home with him.<BR/><BR/>Still attracted to her, he later learns affluent Alyssa the party animal is the type of worthless female he loathes and the tabloids love. He is chagrined when her family hires his agency to protect them after Alyssa¿s father and stepmother recently died in what the police believe is a murder-suicide. Danny assigns Derek with the 24/7 protection detail of Alyssa. However, as he begins to fall in love with his subject and her with her bodyguard, they begin to realize something is not right about the two deaths. Instead evidence surfaces that implicate the Van Weldt Jeweler business in illegal trafficking of ¿blood diamonds¿.<BR/><BR/>The twin sequel to CAUGHT is a fabulous romantic suspense thriller starring a caring hero hiding his heart and a seemingly flit female who proves she is his equal once he gives her the chance. The cast is fully developed especially her family like her grandmother Grace Van Weldt who¿s as cold as diamonds. Fans will enjoy the changing relationship between the lead couple as they fall in love while needing to know whether her family firm starting with her icy grandma is dealing in blood diamonds.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kept (is a book you will want to keep!)

    This was an excellent book. I read the third one firs on accident, then went and got Caught and Kept! This series is awesome!
    Derek Taggert is the twin of Ethan Taggert and they have an older brother Danny. They all work in their family business of security. This is Derek's story.
    Derek is assigned to security of detail of a high profile client and sees Alyssa Miles......she catches his eye. Derek takes her home, and the romance starts.
    The plot of the story is about "blood diamond's" being bought by her families business and brought from Africa. Alyssa's family drags her into the middle of it endangering her life. Alyssa's past is used against her.
    Derek becomes her body guard and tries to keep her safe from her families ugly associates. As he is "guarding" her they fall in love. This story has many twist and turns and keeps the characters of Toni, Ethan and Danny in focus as well as their search for their missing mother.
    I love this series and hope to see more about them........It shouldn't just end with these three books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Derrek

    Just to sum this up in a word GREAT! Derrek is the second brother's story of the Gemini Men. Derrek is in security and Alyssa is the rich, famous party girl. Except Derrek didn't realize who she was when he gave her a ride home one night. Alyssa cherished the fact that this hot security man didn't have a clue who she was or know about her past. Derrek and Alyssa experience a night of hot sex and part ways. When her father and stepmother are killed in a murder suicide Derrek is hired into shadowing her every move by her uncle. Derreck doesn't like what he has heard about Alyssa but he is determined to do the job he was hired for. Alyssa still feels the heat around him but he always has a way of saying the wrong thing. Derrek has never been the smooth talker and even when he is trying to say the right thing it comes out wrong. Not wanting to feel close to another person he is constantly trying to push aside his feelings but being beside Alyssa 24/7 gives him insite that no one else sees and he is growing warmer for her every minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Great Chemistry -- Great Story Line!

    I loved this book. The main characters, Derek and Alyssa, are well defined and it's fun to see how their push-pull relationship develops. The plot line has several twists and turns that keep you guessing till the end. I also enjoyed the relationship between the three brothers. Jami Alden has a relaxed, easy-to-read writing style that keeps you turning pages. I really liked that each of the books in this trilogy are complete, separate stories -- even though the characters overlap. I've already started on the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    AWESOME 2ND BOOK IN SERIES!

    This second book in the Gemini Men Series was as good, if not even better than the first book in the series. This read is suspenseful & keeps you interested to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    I would read this again

    I love all her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Kept by Jami Alden

    Great book in her Gemini series. Can't wait until Unleashed is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2