Customer Reviews for

Kept: A Coveted Novel

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    I liked Kept better than Coveted. I am so glad I continued readi

    I liked Kept better than Coveted. I am so glad I continued reading although I still don't get the attraction to Thorn. I am still Team Nick all the way baby!

    Kept picks up not long after Coveted, with Natalya mostly back in her family's good graces, and a plan to get back into the pack. She has also realized she has friends in her supernatural support group, especially in Nick, the white wizard. Who ironically always wears black. Makes me giggle. :-) These friendships were reinforced when they show up to help Natalya fulfill her father's moon debt.

    The story seemed to have two separate and entirely unrelated parts - the moon debt part and the pack challenge part, which I did find a little strange but not entirely unpleasant. It was just ... weird.

    We do see a lot of growth as a character for Natalya. Her hoarding seems to be a little easier for her to manage, and her OCD over cleanliness is something she can make herself overcome to help those she loves.

    Of course she isn't perfect, and she makes some stupid STUPID decisions. STUPID. And you want to yell and scream at her but then you realize 2 things: 1) Yelling at her would only cause to get more stressed and increase her OCD tendencies, and 2) She is a fictional character so no amount of yelling or throwing of books would change what she does. She does, I am happy to say, for the most part learn from her stupidity.

    All in all, Kept was an enjoyable read and I am looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Fun, high intensity urban fantasy. I only dabble in the genre bu

    Fun, high intensity urban fantasy. I only dabble in the genre but I really liked the lighter take on paranormal creatures with a nice dose of contemporary for balance. I am a bit over werewolves, but this has so much more going on, and great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    I really love these characters. I love the drama and flare, but

    I really love these characters. I love the drama and flare, but I have a special spot for the wizard. He's always dependable and there when he's needed. I enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received this from Random House Publishing Group for my honest

    I received this from Random House Publishing Group for my honest review

    Some things are meant to be kept.

    After everything that has happened to Nat, you would think she would catch a break. Unfortunately, trouble always has a way of finding her. It seems another member of the pack has gone missing, and this time it’s someone from her family. She’s going to need all the help she can get for this one. Also, what is she going to do about Nick and Thorn? She'll have to put them in the back of her mind if she wants to save her family and train to get back into the pack.

    It’s Nat vs. everyone who says she is not good enough in this sequel to coveted.

    This was much better than the first one. There is a lot more fight scenes with Nat in them. She has come a long way in this book. Well... the book did start off slow and I kept waiting for something big to happen. I just kept waiting for something unexpected. We don’t get that surprise until the end of the book. Hopefully, we will be able to see more in the next one. In Kept we get to see some character develop not only from Nat, but from Thorn, Nick and their friends. There were a lot of tear jerker moments, too. I cried at a couple of parts, but that’s just me. This book makes you think. It made me think about my life and how I am living it. Like are some things worth taking risk for? Nat also asks herself this question. And sometimes you never know until you take a risk and find out.

    Nat: She was more independent in this one. I was very proud of her. Her family means everything to her and she proves it time and time again. I can also see her getting stronger and trying to reign in her hoarding problem. She has a lot of tough decisions to make and not all of them were easy. I’m really attached to Nat and I can’t wait to see if she overcomes her weaknesses.

    Nick: He is such a sweet guy. You can’t help but to love him. I just want to put him in my pocket. :D He is powerful, hot, and an all around good guy. He has also come a long way in his hoarding. I loved seeing all the progress, little as it may be. I look forward to him in the next book.

    Thorn: Dang it dang it dang it!!! I take back everything that I said about him in the first book and that is a hard thing to say coming from me. I hated his guts in the first one. Well it turns out we didn’t get the whole story in the first one. When I found out I was utterly shocked. I didn’t see it coming. He is not such a bad guy after all.


    Overall: Werewolves, Wizards and Fairies OH MY!! You’ll see all that and more in this book. I really enjoyed this, so don’t miss out.

    Quote:

    Since he didn't have a seatbelt on either (future lesson here), we both crashed forward.

    Hello, windshield, my name's Natalya.




    4.7 STARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    In the second of her werewolf saga, Kept, Shawntelle Madison con

    In the second of her werewolf saga, Kept, Shawntelle Madison continues to weave the exciting tale of obsessive-compulsive werewolf, Natalya Stravinsky, who will do anything to protect her family.  Banned from the pack, Natalya’s therapy sessions do little to help her hoarding ways or cope with the fact that the love of her life, Thorn Grantham, is engaged to a higher ranking female, Erica Holden.  When a moon debt threatens to tear her family apart, Natalya must risk her life to save her father.  With goblins and shady werewolves threatening Natalya, her family and the pack, Thorn comes to Natalya’s rescue, causing her to question his true feelings and motives.  Could their relationship be saved after all?  Kept is a thrilling, edge-of-your-seat, romantic story that’s packed with adventure.  Toss in some wizards, mermaids, nymphs and muses and you have a story filled with powerful, enchanting and well-written characters that keep you turning the pages to read what happens next.  I give Kept 4 stars ****.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    "A fun and creative twist on the paranormal genre." Fo

    "A fun and creative twist on the paranormal genre." For full Review visit Fresh Fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Natalya Stravinsky struggles with OCD every day. She definitely

    Natalya Stravinsky struggles with OCD every day. She definitely has some interesting neuroses. Did I mention that Natalya is also a werewolf? She was recently an outcast but after valiantly defending her pack/family from another pack attack, Natalya has a chance to redeem her position. 

    Although she wants to regain her life in the South Toms River pack, every time she turns around she is tormented by her ex-boyfriend, Thorn. His father has decided as pack leader, that Thorn will marry Erica. 

    Natalya is constantly tortured by her failures which are repeatedly thrown in her face by Erica and her aunt. Although Natalya has lots to face, she has a great core group of friends and her family (except for her one aunt) are extremely supportive.

    When Natalya’s father is kidnapped by the Russian werewolf mob in Atlantic City, Natalya is willing to sacrifice everything to save him. 

    I really enjoyed Natalya’s story. A quick, entertaining read, Kept had the perfect mix of action, adventure and romance to keep you invested till the end. I grew up one town over from South Toms River so it was really interesting to have your home town area included in the storyline. Heck, we could have gone to high school together and I never realized the werewolf pack lived so close by…although I did know the Jersey Devil wasn’t too far away. I will definitely be following the Covet series, it truly was a fun read. 4 Stars.

    This copy of Kept was given to me by Netgalley and Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Books in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date November 27, 2012. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept continues the Coveted Series, following low ranking werewol

    Kept continues the Coveted Series, following low ranking werewolf Natalya Stravinsky as she works to control her compulsive need to collect holiday trinkets. After the threat to the New Jersey pack has been resolved, Nat is vying to get her position back in the pack. Between her father going missing and Nat's taking it upon herself to fulfill his debts, there's not much time left for her to train for the pack's trials. Shawntelle Madison takes readers for a wild spin in this novel and surprises all with it's finishing touch!

    Nat is a stronger character as she takes on responsibility in the midst of her own personal turmoils. While she has the looming trials over her head, she still has to deal with the pain of seeing her ex-boyfriend Thorn, who is also the future Alpha, with his intended, a mean-spirited and high ranking wolf. At times it seems as though Thorn would rather be back with Nat than doing his duty to the pack. Even though the wizard, and fellow collecting-buddy, Nick is a contender for Nat's heart I don't think what is supposed to be a love-triangle is explored enough. Nat and Nick have a wonderful connection and are really sweet together, but it was obvious that her passion was reserved for only Thorn. Nick is more like a minor distraction than a serious player in the game for a relationship with Natalya.

    The romance is sometimes just okay and at very specific times sensual and passionate, but the action is absolutely the star of the plot. When Nat takes on the Russian werewolf mafia the story builds in tension and mystery. Her journey is dangerous and unpredictable, even if she brings along a few friends to help with her task. When the story gets to the much awaited pack trials readers will be head over heels with anxiety, wondering if Nat will come out on top, or even alive. The conclusion of Kept is what really brings me to really love and cherish this series. Natalya is a very determined wolf that surprises time after time and ultimately inspires one to believe in hope. I can't imagine what future trials might befall Nat, but I have a strong feeling that she won't be facing them alone!

    *eARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    This review will be posted on My Paranormal Book Review. What c

    This review will be posted on My Paranormal Book Review.

    What can I say?  I ABSOLUTELY love this series!  I read Coveted and fell in love with the characters.  I counted down the days until Kept was released.  You wouldn’t believe how excited I was to receive a review copy from Net Galley.   Believe me, Kept did not disappoint.
    Shawntelle Madison is an amazing author.  She brought to live amazing characters with real problems.  While reading Kept, two questions kept popping up in my mind. Does having character flaws make you unworthy of love or acceptance by others?  Do you sacrifice your own happiness for the good of the pack or family?  In Kept, Nat struggled to find her own answers to these questions.  
    Kept picks up where Coveted ended.  Nat, an OCD werewolf, continues to do everything in her power to regain the respect of her family and her pack.  Although most of her family and pack view her as being flawed and weak, Nat shows strength and courage in protecting what she loves the most…her family and her pack.  Nat is even willing to risk her happiness for the betterment of the pack.   Most of all, Nat’s character shows significant growth and strides in her recovery from OCD.   
    The love triangle between Nat, Thorn, and Nick evolves in Kept.  Nat feels torn between the two men, who will do anything to protect her.  The most heartfelt moments came from Thorn as he explains his five year absence and from Nick as he finally reveals his heart to her.  In the end, Nat makes her decision between the two men.  No spoilers…but I’m not sure how I feel about her decision.  With everything Nat has endured, I kind of wished she would have responded differently in the last few pages.   
    Overall, I loved Kept.  The fast paced story made for a wonderful read.  Now, I must wait for Shawntelle’s next book…please hurry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I was really nervous when I started reading Kept. I did not like

    I was really nervous when I started reading Kept. I did not like Coveted very much so I was worried that Kept would be more of the same. It wasn’t! Kept is so much better in every way possible. The plot was there from the get go and the lead character Nat went from being the most dislike main character to one I actually could stand.

    Nat is still a very OCD and a Christmas Ornament hoarder with anxiety issues. As a werewolf that means she is weak and now has to go through a set of trials to get back in the pack her family belongs to. Just when she starts training her father disappears. She and her brother Nick along with the second in command of the pack Thorn (who is also her ex boyfriend) chase her father’s trail only to find he owes a debt and is unable to pay it. Her brother can’t help because he gets news that his first child is coming and Thorn is forbidden to help her. So she call on her friend Nick to help her pay the debt and restore honor to her family.

    The good news is that I really don’t think you have to read Coveted to enjoy Kept. The only thing I think you would gain from reading Coveted first is that you can get a better look at who the characters are. If I had known that I most likely would have skipped Coveted and just read Kept. If you like urban fantasy that involves werewolves, goblins and fairies and has just a bit of romance I would totally recommend Kept to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1