Customer Reviews for

Kept: A Coveted Novel

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Can u say emotional overall

    In some instances, i laughed until i cried....was sad, angry at nat and then loved the ending....all in all a very great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Kept picks up where Coveted left off.  Natalya is a werewolf wit

    Kept picks up where Coveted left off.  Natalya is a werewolf with OCD , anxiety disorder, and an obsession with collection Christmas ornaments.  Due to all of her issues she was thrown out of her pack.  She was just recently accepted back into her family.  One thing positive in her life is her best friend Aggie.  She goes to therapy with other supernaturals who are trying to deal with disorders.  In therapy she has met Nick the wizard and she spends the entire book struggling with her attraction to him.  The problem is her heart will always belong to Thorn who true love.    




    Kept has a much more in depth story line and plot.  Nat has a purpose in this book and that is really is  to prove to herself and her family that she is stronger.  She takes on the responsibility of fulfilling her father's debt to the werewolf mafia.  With the help of her therapy friends she battles the constant roadblocks to she has to face.  Thorn tries to stay by her side and protect her but since he is engaged to another as part of a pack arrangement Nat knows she must keep her distance.  Her heart can only take so much.   




    In addition to all of this she is suppose to be preparing for the pack trials.  This is her chance to prove she is worthy to be part of the pack again.  The problem is with everything that keeps happening she hasn't even began to condition for tests.  This girl has the worst case of bad luck ever.  The good news is there is a happy ending in sight.  True love conquers all and with a heart as determined as Nat's there is a way to overcome some of life's challenges.  




    I hope there is more to the series.  I want to see how much further Nat can go.  I also really want Aggie's story big time.  I want to see her go head to head with her dad and ex.  




    Thank you to Ballentine Books and Netgally for allowing me to read.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Love this series

    Keeping it short unlike other reviews of this book. All the characters are memorable. Loved every word of this series. Cannot wait for the next and hope every one of Nat's friends gets a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Great new series

    Quirky but endearing main character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Like the first book in the series, Kept is filled with awesomene

    Like the first book in the series, Kept is filled with awesomeness. It’s funny and heartbreaking and heartwarming and action-packed. The characters are well developed and interesting even down to the clichéd mean girl. Shawntelle Madison has quickly jumped on to my must read author list. I’m actually bummed that there are only two books of hers to read so far, but I can’t wait to purchase them for my collection. This is most definitely a series I can read over and over. 
    Natalya is exactly what I love to see in a main character. She’s flawed, yet strong and after everything that happened in Coveted she has grown instead of remaining stagnant. I absolutely hate when characters don’t learn from the events in their lives. In this book she no longer whines about her circumstances. Sure she might complain, but she looks her circumstances in the eye and faces them head on. She stands up for things even though she knows that she is weaker than those around her.  
    I am glad that we got to see storylines wrapped up in the end of this book, including the love triangle between Nat, Nick and Thorn. And even though it seems like the next book in the series (if we’re lucky enough to get one) will likely not feature Natalya as the main character, I know that the book will be amazing. I will not be disappointed because I know that whichever character Shawntelle picks to headline the book will be strong enough and dysfunctional enough to make me care about what happens to them…especially if it’s Aggie, or Abby or even Nick. ARC provided by Netgalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kept Coveted Book Two By Shawntelle Madison Natalya Stravincky

    Kept
    Coveted Book Two
    By Shawntelle Madison

    Natalya Stravincky is working to rebuild her relationship with her family and rejoin the ranks of her New Jersey pack. Suddenly her father goes missing she soon finds out that he owes a debt to the Russian werewolf mafia and she must work to repay his debt so they will free him. Along the way she gets assistance from various sources including her ex-boyfriend who is now engaged to someone else and she still loves, and a wizard who is patiently waiting for her to come around and see that he is the right man for her.

    Ok so even though this is a paranormal romance there is so much more to it than just that, first off we have Nat who has OCD. I mean come on a werewolf with OCD I love it! Then the author encompasses several side stories that are absolutely fascinating in their own right, making this one book that is hard to put down. In a lot of books where two men are vying for the attentions of one woman you always get the sense of who the author is leaning towards, this is not the case in this book which is a pleasant surprise that leads me to wonder if the author knew or just decided at the end who Nat would end up with. I haven’t read the first book in this series yet but the author does a wonderful job encompassing enough of what happened previously to catch you up but still make you want to read it if you have not. I personally hope I will get the chance to read the beginning and the rest; I am dying to know what happens next. I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kept is the second book in the Coveted series which stars everyo

    Kept is the second book in the Coveted series which stars everyone's favorite OCD werewolf Natalya Stravinsky. This book starts shortly after the last book, Coveted, ends. We find Nat (our heroine) trying and failing to prep for the Pack trials. With the help of her brother Adam and Thorn (one of our heroes and Nat's ex-boyfriend), they conspire to get her butt into shape so she can pass said trials and be welcomed back into her pack, which is just one of the major hurdles she needs to accomplish to get her life back on track. While focusing on the training, she has discovered her father has gone MIA. Thorn, Adam and Nat decide to go on a man hunt to find him. What they discover is that he's being held to an old debt by the werewolf Russian mafia. Like any great family, they'll do everything in their power to help him and like any self-sacrificing daughter Nat eventually ends up taking on the debt.

    As part of the terms of the debt, Adam and Thorn must not help and she ends up having to go it alone but along the way she encounters some nasty baddies, so who's her next call for backup? Her therapy group of course, which includes Nick, our other hero and Nat's possible love interest. They of course come to her rescue and ban together to help her in her time of need. During Nat's new adventure, she gets to spend some much needed quality time with Nick and realizes that she needs to make a decision about Thorn. He is engaged to another woman, whom his father and pack are forcing him to marry and the other woman has become the Bain of Nat's existence. Nat knows she needs to move on and Nick is definitely the right person to help her do that but her heart just won't let Thorn go. Thorn also isn't making it easy either because he wants Nat back badly but won't act on it because of his impending vows. It's a total mess and makes for one heck of a fun story!

    What I loved most about this book is that it's totally action packed, full of adventure with unique characters and on top of it all, it also has a wonderful love story. Shawntelle Madison delivers a fun addition to the PNR/UF world without going over the top. The story has a wonderful epic ending that will leave a smile on your face and eager for the next book. I definitely recommend this series and I'd even recommend it for teens as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1