BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kept (Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy: Blood Lust Novella 1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An exciting beginning to the Preternatural Series!

In Cary Town, a place alive with magic and supernatural creatures, Greta is a cat therian (shifter) whose blood is sought after by the magical community for spell work. Because of her unusual birth, her special blood is coveted by her own tribe's power-hungry leader Sim...
In Cary Town, a place alive with magic and supernatural creatures, Greta is a cat therian (shifter) whose blood is sought after by the magical community for spell work. Because of her unusual birth, her special blood is coveted by her own tribe's power-hungry leader Simon, and he's willing to sacrifice her at the next full moon to get it. The only person who can protect her is the powerful sorcerer Dayne. However, Dayne has a bloody history with her tribe and a personal vendetta against Simon. Will they be able to trust each other enough to make to through the full moon? Zoe Winters has created a magical world of shifters, sorcerers and even vampires - all of my favorite paranormal creatures! I thought it was an original choice to make Greta a cat-shifter, as in a felis domesticus (or house cat). She was a very likeable character with a nice blend of strength and sass. The fast-paced plot easily held my interest, and I read the story it in one sitting. There were some hilarious moments in the book, like Greta getting high on catnip after smoking it in human form! I enjoyed the chemistry between Dayne and Greta - never a dull moment between them, especially during Greta's lusty mating heat. If you are a reader who needs lengthy, graphic sex scenes, then Kept might not be for you. The author does a fantastic job of building strong sexual tension between the main characters, but the actual sexual encounters are brief. I really didn't have a problem with that; I tend to skim many sex scenes. My only complaint is that the story was choppy at times with abrupt changes between scenes. I'd prefer a smoother transition between scenes. Of course, as will all short stories I read, I wish it had been longer! I'd love more details about the history of the preternatural beings living in Cary Town and what has attracted them to this particular place. It seems like a facinating world, and there's a lot more to learn about it. I'm hoping to find more answers when I read the next two novellas in this series, Claimed and Mated.

posted by bookofsecrets on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I don't recommend...

I wasn't very impressed by any of the three books in this trilogy. They were severely lacking in detail and writing style. I read all three of them in hopes that they would get better, but you never got the sense of who the characters actually were. I was disappointed.

posted by Brema on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    An exciting beginning to the Preternatural Series!

    In Cary Town, a place alive with magic and supernatural creatures, Greta is a cat therian (shifter) whose blood is sought after by the magical community for spell work. Because of her unusual birth, her special blood is coveted by her own tribe's power-hungry leader Simon, and he's willing to sacrifice her at the next full moon to get it. The only person who can protect her is the powerful sorcerer Dayne. However, Dayne has a bloody history with her tribe and a personal vendetta against Simon. Will they be able to trust each other enough to make to through the full moon? Zoe Winters has created a magical world of shifters, sorcerers and even vampires - all of my favorite paranormal creatures! I thought it was an original choice to make Greta a cat-shifter, as in a felis domesticus (or house cat). She was a very likeable character with a nice blend of strength and sass. The fast-paced plot easily held my interest, and I read the story it in one sitting. There were some hilarious moments in the book, like Greta getting high on catnip after smoking it in human form! I enjoyed the chemistry between Dayne and Greta - never a dull moment between them, especially during Greta's lusty mating heat. If you are a reader who needs lengthy, graphic sex scenes, then Kept might not be for you. The author does a fantastic job of building strong sexual tension between the main characters, but the actual sexual encounters are brief. I really didn't have a problem with that; I tend to skim many sex scenes. My only complaint is that the story was choppy at times with abrupt changes between scenes. I'd prefer a smoother transition between scenes. Of course, as will all short stories I read, I wish it had been longer! I'd love more details about the history of the preternatural beings living in Cary Town and what has attracted them to this particular place. It seems like a facinating world, and there's a lot more to learn about it. I'm hoping to find more answers when I read the next two novellas in this series, Claimed and Mated.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    I don't recommend...

    I wasn't very impressed by any of the three books in this trilogy. They were severely lacking in detail and writing style. I read all three of them in hopes that they would get better, but you never got the sense of who the characters actually were. I was disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WAIT!

    the whole collection was a great read. but i wish i had just bought Blood Lust it all 3 books for 4.99 i feel kinda cheated....but its still a good collection

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Great paranormal fiction tale

    Like most guys would do, I will preface my review by saying that I do not usually go for romance novels. Kept by Zoe Winters has made me rethink that. Don't let the romance tag fool you. There is no freakishly noble, alarmingly well-endowed vicar. The words "lust spear," "pulsating mounds of love pudding," and "throbbing pocket of desire" do not appear at all. We are introduced to therian (were-cat) Greta and her tribe of fellow supernatural creatures. An ancient prophesy rears its ugly head, sending our feline heroine running for her fur. The only person who might be able to keep her alive is the sworn enemy of her kind, the evil sorcerer Dayne. The action gets started on the first page and does not let up until the end. The sex scenes are not overly graphic, but they are far from PG. Instead of moping around and pining for true love, these characters actually have sex, and it is hot. Rather than using the supernatural as a setup for a cuddle fest, Winters breathes life into the denizens of this world. They are believable and flawed, which makes them much easier to root for. Throughout the story, the prose keeps the tone fun and engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed this novella. Not once did I find myself speed-reading to find the next good part. I patiently devoured each word as it came. By the end, I realized that the "romance" tag was a misnomer. This is a good paranormal fiction tale. Period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Great Start to the Series

    I read this series out of order. I read Claimed first because of the unique plot idea, and I liked that book so much I had to go back and read this one. I just finished it and admit I had a hard time putting it down. Since other reviewers summed up the book, I won't bother with that. Instead, I'll mention what I liked about it.

    Since I read Claimed first, I enjoyed seeing Anthony and Charlee before they got together.

    I loved the fact that Greta had to hide with a man (a sorcerer) who had a grave mistrust of her kind due to being tricked in the past. I thought that issue of "could he trust Greta?" to be an excellent plot point. It was fun to see Greta in heat. I read romance books with varying levels of sexual detail, and unlike some reviewers who thought Zoe could have done more in the description, I actually thought for this book with the focus where it was that a lot of detail with the sex would have diluted the plot. (That's just an opinion of course.) Personally, I thought it was done just right.

    I thought everything Greta did to protect herself made sense. If I were in her shoes, I would have done the same things. So I wasn't yelling "you stupid woman!" at her like I've done while reading some books. Dayne was a real sweetheart who had a quiet, sexy way about him. I just loved how he helped her while she was in heat. *wink*

    And though I neglected to mention it in my review of Claimed, I love the humor Zoe carefully inserts into her stories. I'll give an example. Dylan told Greta that she was on the altar like one of those women in a cheesy B movie. I think we've all seen one of those movies and can relate.

    I'll definitely be looking out for her next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    A great quick read

    Winters produces a quick, engaging read. I'm not normally a novella fan because there's rarely enough character development for my taste, but Winters manages to cram a lot of story in a brief package, delivering a romance I believed and wanted more of. I'll definitely check out her forthcoming releases.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Free on Amazon

    Free on Amazon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    kept

    I enjoyed the book and im gonna continue the series even though i reaaly hate when u have to pay separetely for each book rather than offering the book with all three but i blame that on both the author for insisting her book fans not b ripped off and barnes n noble . For not offering this to there readers shame on all of u because we all work hard for our money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Awesome

    Good read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Lust at First Sight

    Without beating around the bush so much, I’ll admit I had a false start with this book. The beginning started a bit shaky. Only after reading a few reviews did I decide to settle down and read the entire novella. I’m certainly glad I did, because it was an enjoyable read. Before I get to the good stuff, let’s just get out in the open what made me balk. Mainly, I don’t think the story started in the right place. The earlier scenes focused on the introduction of minor characters which reappeared once or twice later in the novella. Very little time was spent on these scenes, other than to give identities to names. It gave the read a jerky feel with Greta popping in and out of people’s lives. However, once we got beyond the introductions, the story really got underway. I stayed up well into the night to finish this read. If it weren’t for the breaks I had to take between laughing fits, I probably would have finished sooner. One item I enjoyed about this book was the realism in terms of romance. I’ve never understood how people in novels could fall head over heels with one another without knowing anything about them. I guess I just don’t believe in the love at first sight. Lust at first sight? You better believe it! And this novella had it. Greta and Dayne had an immediate attraction which I could completely buy. Sorry, Greta, but Dayne was my favorite character in this book. When he wasn’t lustful (which I loved!), he was cold, calculating, and a bit of a dick. Not the greatest personality traits, but it was his honesty in being himself which attracted me to him. It was more on the lines of you get what you see. I could trust that. Besides that, he was funny as hell—an endless source of amusement. In terms of plot, I was up and down on that issue. The main plot itself was very believable (as far as realism goes in the paranormal scene) which kept me in the book. However, a few areas were kind of glitchy and distracted me with thoughts such as “why did they do that?” Even so, my understanding was this was Ms. Winters first published book. Not a bad first attempt, I have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    A sexy merging of Buffy, Angel, and Charmed--with werecats mixed in!

    Me LOVE!! It was like watching an episode of Charmed, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, or Angel! Dayne reminds me of Spike and Angel at the same time---the vampire who can't help but act human for a woman he might be in love with but he knows he has to be keep up the whole badass vamp thing...I read this in two days due to time constraints but I loved this series...werecats rule!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great

    Great book cant wait to read book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Fun, Easy Read

    This was an easy, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great!!

    It was ok.....i mean i loved the book but yet was perfectly fine when i had to put it down,and i wasnt to sad when it was over(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Cheesy, but kinda good

    I almost dropped this book in the first chapter. It contained everything that would make a person too embarrassed to be seen holding it, much less reading it. Layering on cliched magic terms, and characters. Making it seem silly before I could warm up to the idea. Then she redeemed herself by creating a couple of moderately interesting characters and a decent storyline. This is not a super deep story it has a couple twists and turns. For all the flirtation the autor focused much more on the sexual energy than the sex. There is one scene, so it depends on your taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    I really enjoyed this story. Very entertaining! I already bought the other two books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love it!!!!!!

    i really loved this book. its a great story when u need a quick out of the norm read. so far ive only read kept i am now starting claimed i cant wait. zoe pleaase keep on writing i look forword to reading more of your work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Loved It!!!!!

    I truly loved this book.... but i recommend buying the Blood Lust series! Its all three books.. Mated, Kept, and Claimed.... all three for the price of one..... Just a lil tip for my fellow readers...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept

    Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Awesome Book!!!

    I am not one to give out good reviews lightly, but in my opinion, Kept by Zoe Winters is a wonderful tale of blossoming love and suspenseful fear. My only dislike about Kept is that there are many explicit scenes and is not age appropriate for young readers. My dislike about the series itself is that it is not a continuation of the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17