Customer Reviews for

Keysha's Drama (Kimani Tru: Kesha Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Keysha's Drama

    This book is the first in the Keysha Series by Earl Sewell.

    Keysha is a Chicago teen who lives with her 'party girl' mother Justine. When she and her mother are evicted from their apartment, Keysha's world is turned upside down. With no money or hope, she is placed in foster care and connected with her real father she has never met.

    Despite having her own room, new home and school to attend, Keysha still has drama. She doesn't want to forget where she has come from so she battles with her hard as nails step-mother and spars with her annoyng step-brother Mike. When she connects with the wrong crowd, her actions land her deep in trouble with her family and causes a great deal of embarrassment. This is where Sewell is at his best: describing the inner thoughts of Keysha as she struggles to fit in with her family/classmates and make positive decisions. Many authors attempt to do this, but fail to do so because they cannot capture the character's 'voice'. Not the case with Sewell; this is probably why the Keysha series is so popular with teens.

    Though "Keysha's Drama" is directed at teen audiences, adults can learn some valuable lessons from the story as well. This is a good book for pre-teens and teens that will surely spark lively discussions.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    The Life of a Teen.

    Keysha's Drama was the first book of the series "Keysha's Drama" former Author Earl Sewell Created.
    Keysha is a Chicago teen who lived with her mother Justine. Not knowing who her father was because of her mother's Hoe-ish ways. while her mom was out all types of the night not being responsible,Her mom got them evicted out their home and forced her to live in a foster home. She later Connected with her Real father she never met. Even though it may seem as if she has a Brand new start Keysha still had drama. She thought she would have a brand new start she didn't plan on having. she was stuck with the same drama just from a distance and more intense. while she was in enrolled in her new school she still managed to find the wrong Crowd to hang around and got in even more trouble that she was in Before she moved with her father.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Love but hate

    I love this book but i hate how it leaves the case unsolved but i have an idea who did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    :)

    Book was DOPE ! i actually cried three timess , well the book was amaziing the beginning to me was kinda annoying but you keep going it gets better and better her life is hard and while you read you feel more as if your in keyshas shoes ,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    superior- you'd fall in love with it!

    Do you enjoy fantasizing about a book that relates to your life? I have the book Keysha's Drama byy Earl Sewell, which to me is a very interesting novel, the main character,Keysha, lives a hard life with a mother who doesn't want her and is out partying like she has no responsabilities. Keysha is running around independent because her mother isn't there for her and she doesn't have a father to depend on because she doesn't know him. Keysha lives in the ghetto where there is nothing for her. What makes the novel, Keysha's Drama so is that you can relate to the book like its your own personal life.The narrator describes the way keysha feels and what she thinks should be done about her life.
    Some surprising moments are when Keysha found out who her father was. Another surprising moment is when keyshas' friend, Toya gets out of jail, she trys to hurt keysha physically.The title relates very, very much to the story, thats why it drew most of my attention.An example of an expert writing in the novel is when the author brings up another book into Keyshas conversation with the sales lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Great Book

    This book really helped me see that everything that may seem good isn't all ways good It's a book that young teenagers can relate to either you relate to Keysha or Ronnie or Toya. This book really helps you see that no one is perfect but you can make your life the best way possible depending on the situations you put yourself in. My favorite character that I can mostly relate to is Toya. Toya is sixteen-year-old teen mother and the father of her baby is not around for her or her child. Toya is trying to get her baby daddy back in her life and she has everyone else watching her child while she looks for him. He is very controlling but she is too blind to realize what kind of person he is. She is blinded because she thinks she in love just like all teens feel. A lot of teens can relate to being blinded by love and no realizing what your doing until it's to late. Many teens that are blinded by love can also relate to becoming teen parents and the baby daddy most of the time is not there. The girl is stuck on her own struggling with school and raising her child on her own. I love her story the most, because I know many teens that end up being blinded. They end up ruining there life because of one time they feel like there in love. Therefore, they feel that they have to prove it by sleeping with the guy. Then when things get rough or if the girl ends up pregnant, he acts as if he is not the father. He is out enjoying his life while the girl is struggling going from home to home. Toya's story teaches young girls that it's best to wait until your older or at least until you have your life in order. If you can take care of yourself out here in the world then you are ready to take care of a baby. Until then it is best to just enjoy your childhood while you still have it. You do not want to ruin it because you are having a baby. That is hard on you and your parents and no child is ready for that. This is a really great book and it teaches you never judge a book by its cover. Enjoy the book I know you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!!

    At first when i read the book, i only got to like the 6th chapter and was about to turn the book in...but thank goodness that i was bored to death yesterday and stayed in my room to read it!This book is very unique in its own way because i have never read any book that has this much drama in it!!!The reader can kind of relate to Keysha's problems even though they havent went throught the things that she has went through.I almost cried at the end when Jordan and Keysha shared a very strong connection and when Barbara finally opened up to Keysha..it really does show how much of a woman she really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The book is very interesting

    Keysha was an independent girl, she had to practically raise her brothers and sisters .Part of the book was very sad because Keysha's brother and sisters was taken away by the social workers .She was united with her father because she had no where to live .I love book this book ,its very fun to read .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    A GREAT AND EMOTIONAL BOOK

    I LOVE this book. It was really well written. You felt like you could identify with the character even if you couldn't. This book is great for African American young adult girls. The main character was Keysha. I felt really bad for her. Her mother didn't seem like she loved her and she always verbally abused Keysha. Keysha grew up in a loveless home where she felt that nobody loved her. Eventually she thought that she was unworthy of love. Many things happen and eventually Keysha moves in with her Father. She falls in with a bad crowd, thinking that her father was like the rest of her loved ones. The thing that happens next Changes everything. To find out what happens.. READ THE BOOK!!!!!! (This was posted by D.H.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    KEYSHA DRAMA SUMMARY BY KEIRANAE

    THIS IS A REAL GOOD BOOK IT WAS KIND OF SAD IT STARTS OFF WHEN KEYSHIA WAKES UO ONE MORNING AND SEE NOBODY AT HOME WITH HER THATS BEACUSE HER MOM IS OUT IN THE STREETS ONE DAY KEYSHIA AND HER BESTFRIEND WHO HAS A BABY GO TO THE MALL STILL SOME CLOTHES AND GET CAUGHT.KEYSHIA GOES 2 FOSTRER CARE AND THEN MOVES IN WITH HER DAD SHE NVERER MET BEFORE.KEYSHIA METS LIS WHO WAS A TROUBLE MAKER SSHE GOT KEYSHIA IN TROUBLE BY SANEAKING OUT THE HOUSE AND GOIN 2 A CLUB.WELL HER PARENTS FOUND OUT THEN ONE DAY THE PRINCABLE FINDS DRUGS IN HER LOCKER WICH SO HAPENDS NOT 2 B HERS THIS TEACHES A REAL GOOD LESSON 2 YOU CHILDREN 2 CHOSE YOU FRIENDS WISLEY ..GO GET THIS BOOK NOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The best book you will ever read!

    This book is about a girl name Keysha, she goes through so much starting at the age of eight. She no longer loved her family she suffered hungriness, someone to love her and a place where she could lay her head down every night. She ends up in a foster home, she wants to escape from there, but there no other place where she could go. She's a really smart girl though and she wants to make a wise decision, and she ends up doing it. What you think she did or what happen to her?...read this book and you will find out. I really, really recommend you to read it, its worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is awesome!!

    this book was really good the drama was really good and it kept you wondering what was going to happen next i couldnt put it down its good drama from the beginning to the end i love those kind of books!!and i love to read books and would love to read the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    Melissa <3

    wow! i never read books but i juss couldnt out this one down!<BR/>omg this was the best book i have ever read. even the title caught my attention. haha but yah if u read this is a GREAT book! i cant wait to read the next one by him,"If I Were Your Boyfriend", it looks soo good too! Im working on read the whole Kimani Tru series there juss too good to turn away from! haha but really read this book its awesome! i read it in 3 days thats how good it was...and for a gurl who doesnt read! lol well i hope you enjoy this book! <BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>xox melissa<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Keysha's Drama is the best!

    I really enjoyed this book because I am a foster child and I related to Keysha's character and the situations she was in. I can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    HE DOES IT AGAIN!

    First of all I have read a lot of reviews where people are saying that the book leaves you hanging but what they don't know is this is a SERIES! So you must read "If I Were Your Boyfriend" and "Lessons Learned". Mr. Sewell is a BRILLIANT writer. This story is very well written and you can relate to it. This 16-year old girl who has been dealt the bad cards in life is going through and looking for love but along the way people, events and situations will get you caught up if you decide to be a follower. Very important message to teens in this book. I enjoyed reading every page. Can't wait for Part II!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    What Happened Next???

    The ending leaves you on straight stuck...many of the other characters become forgotten and out of the picture. This is the first Kimani TRU book that I've read and I'm honestly not IMPRESSED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    GREAT BOOK

    This book was really good but it was not original at all!! Anyway a lot of teens can relate to this! Loved it and im pretty sure you will too!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Oh my gosh this book was so good. I would recommend this book to anybody who loves urban novels and drama. It was really good and now im hooked on Kimani Tru books. Cant wait till Earl Sewell's next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    MMM OKAY I GUESS

    i liked the book alot but the end left you hanging. We didnt't know what happened to the other girl. No more information on her mother. Did the guys that tried to rape her get in trouble. How the school punished her. The white girl didn't even get in trouble. I still love Kimani Tru books, though. It's a good series and i enjoy all of the books. I can't wait till the other books come out.I love the way they release a book every month that is good and it always keeps you on your toes just waiting for another book to come out but awwe don't have to wait six months for another one to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    wonderful,great,outstanding

    i loved this book it was great i love kimani tru books they all have a great story line and keep me interested form begining to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2