Customer Reviews for

Kick Me: Adventures in Adolescence

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    June 10, 2014

    This was a funny, lighthearted read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    A funny book which lends itself well to an SSR selection, a train distraction, or a waiting-room read, due to its individual, seemingly self-contained story chapters that can be read in a single sitting.

    I'm a high school English teacher and I stumbled across this book while searching for entertaining reads for high school students. I bought it thinking it would appeal to adolescent readers because it's supposedly about adolescent experiences. I'm not sure that's what it really is, as Feig seems to consider 'adolescence' all experiences from around 2nd grade onward, while I tend to think of true adolescence being more the period encompassed by the teenage years. I was not expecting to read, for example, about Feig's experience as a 2nd grader climbing a rope in gym class only to discover the joys of the orgasm (and his subsequent quest to find it over and over again). In another chapter, Feig creates his female alter-ego, dressing up like a girl, complete with wig, go-go boots, and makeup. While not quite as uncomfortable a reader experience as the former, it still wasn't what I'd envisioned this book would be about. (What was I expecting? High school cliques, prom humiliation, dating dramas, zit crises--basically any teenage concern. I was hoping for something my students could relate to; I just don't really see them relating to this.)
    Although the content isn't what I was expecting, the writing is solid. Feig writes with humor and irony, looking back on his past experiences with the knowledge of an adult. (However, I don't buy that his memory is 100% accurate with his chronology. I feel his 2nd grade gym story could just have easily happened in 7th grade, while several other of his accounts seem out of place with his elementary school status--his love of girls and almost every female teacher in school, for example. It doesn't feel like a guy recounting his experiences purely, but instead with the definite shading of an adult, making some of them quite unbelievable as 'adolescent' adventures. Ultimately, they feel more like an adult's adventure to relive some strange youthful experiences.)
    In sum, I probably won't end up recommending this title to my teen readers, and it certainly isn't what I expected, but what it is, I can appreciate, and I have mostly enjoyed the 15-minute SSR segments I've spent with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    Best Book in Ages

    My mom doesn't like anything. But when she, a former high school gym teacher herself, read Kick Me (after I loaned it to her for a plane ride), she said the flight attendant had to ask her to calm down--she was laughing so hard it was disturbing other passengers. We both loved it--please write more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Funny, but not hilarious

    I'm absolutely obsessed with the TV show Freaks and Geeks, so when I found out Paul Feig (the creater) wrote a book, I ran and bought it. It's pretty funny, but it's no Freaks and Geeks. I'd still definately recommend it! If you want to read something that really makes you laugh out loud..(and even cry from laughing..) read 'Wannabe: a Hollywood Experient' by Jamie Kennedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Laugh Laugh Laugh and Laugh somemore

    This has been the best book of stories I have read in ages!! and the bad part for me is that I can relate to every single story in this book. I did laugh at every page I read, I even had to tell my friends some of the stories i read because they were so funny I just had to share them!! I would recommend this to anyone that didn't like to take showers in the lockerroom or who had failed attempts at love throughout highschool!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    totally hilarious!

    I haven't enjoyed a book this much in ages. I think I laughed on damn near every page and I hated for the book to end. Paul Feig needs to follow up "Kick Me" with a collection of stories from his post high school days! He is a truly talented and hilarious writer and I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1