Customer Reviews for

Kicking and Dreaming: A Story of Heart, Soul, and Rock and Roll

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    This is been a story I have waited 40 some years for. It is ab

    This is been a story I have waited 40 some years for. It is absolutely the most awesome rock and roll book you could ever read. Ann and Nance are honest and don't mince words. I can't keep putting it down. I keep reading and reading and re-reading it. Rawk on Heart!!!! You are a classy band that has put a mark on four decades. You still rock and never had a show that disappointed!!!! We love you!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    This is a fantastically written book. The style is very conversa

    This is a fantastically written book. The style is very conversational, so much so that you feel as if you're sitting with Nancy and Ann as they tell their story from their childhood all the way to the present.

    I have been a Heart fan since 1976 so I was surprised at how much I didn't know. Many secrets are revealed and the depth of honesty which the story is told in is both uplifting and at times heartbreaking.

    If you want to really know about what has driven these two women for so long (It's not just about the f'in music) then get this book. Not only will you not be disappointed, you will be astounded.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    All the struggles and joys of being a rock star.

    I have always loved Heart. This book takes you into the most intimate parts of Ann and Nancy Wilson's life including the good and the bad. I appreciate their music even more now. I enjoyed the video clips of Ann and Nancy talking on several subjects. It's a must read if you are a avid Heart fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Was worth the wait!

    What I enjoyed most about this book was hearing from both Ann and Nancy. It was almost like sitting in a room with them listening to them talk about old times. It was also interesting to hear from a few outside people as well. I hated putting this book down, but seeing as I was reading on my lunch hour at work I HAD to! Really a great read for any fan, or anyone wanting a little look see into the world of Rock and Roll told by two legends of Rock. Enjoy!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    I felt like I was along for the ride. Fans will love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    A MUST Read for ANYONE Who Longs to Pursue Their Dreams! Highly Recomend For Parents to Read, then Read WITH Their Children as they Prepare for Young Adulthood - the Time We All Crave Guidance in How to Successfuly Follow our Dreams.

    An Open, Honest rendering of the real world of Artisic Dreamers; and a must read for ALL Mothers who want to raise (especially their daughters) their children with the most well informed kind of encouragement possible. All Children are Dreamers. Therefore, shouldn't parents try to educate themselves about the realities of the road of life their children may choose to follow in search of their dreams? Regardless of the dream, their are always bumps along the path. This book is truly about Sisters who overcame every obstacle and ugly reality that their road to their Dreams through at them and continue to land on top.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Enjoyed this book am 53 years old and still remember back workin

    Enjoyed this book am 53 years old and still remember back working for Wentworth by the Sea in NH Dreamboat Annie and Little Queen would play where the empoyee's hung out. Heart and and I always connected and still love there music because they really do care about it and of course love it. Have my Ann Wilson Story when I was in the Coast Guard stationed in Seattle in 1995 and went into Fred Meyer's and saw Ann buying some fruit, didn't say anything because I just wasn't sure what to say. When she left went to the cashier and said was that Ann Wilson of HEART she said yes she's the real deal and that sums it up the Wilson sisters are and alway will be the real deal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My review is about the audiobook, though that has convinced me t

    My review is about the audiobook, though that has convinced me to spring for the Hardback as soon as funds permit.

    Nancy's voice is sweet, and she has a way of inflecting sentences in the MIDdle, almost as if they are a QUEStion. Ann's voice is richer and lower in timbre, but was also somewhat raspy, and I wondered if she recorded her narration with a cold.

    There are also sections read by their sister Lynn, and by others, like their co-songwriter Sue Ennis, and the band's former manager (and Ann's ex) Mike Fisher, lead guitarist (and Nancy's ex) Roger Fisher, Howard Leese, and more. It surprised me a bit that the exes would cooperate to the point of recording audio material.

    Memorable Moments - so many:

    Ann and Nancy didn't want to be the Beatles' girlfriends, like their friends did - they wanted to BE the Beatles; to play their own music, write their own songs, to be feminine and sexy and powerful.

    K & S discusses Ann's struggles with her weight going back to pre-adolescence, and the pressure this put upon her, and the band - as if the ONLY accepted standard of beauty is thin, and the only measure of musical quality for a femme-led band is not voice, nor songwriting quality, nor musical performance, but the size and shape of the female members.

    Ann talking frankly about her love/obsession for Michael Fisher. Quitting the band and taking off for Canada (whence M. Fisher had gone to escape the Vietnam draft), and living with him in a little round house over a stream, in a bed built on driftwood branches.

    Nancy and her own similar but differing ideas and in the end, determination to find her own way.

    * The intriguing details about the Magazine album, and finishing it under armed guard.
    * I loved hearing about the "birth" of one of my favorite songs, Mistral Wind.
    * The many stars who tried (and failed) to bed the Wilson sisters, either separately or together.
    * Ann referring to "the song writing me," something I often feel about a story.
    * The glimpses of the birth of the Seattle grunge movement, and Ann as one of its "mothers," down to sheltering its stars in her home and (platonically) in her bed.
    * I cannot now remember which Heart band member wore unitards so as to show off his third nipple.
    *The birth of the Lovemongers acoustic group.
    * The 1995 official Heart hiatus as Nancy needed to work on babymaking.

    I suspect that genuine Heart fanatics who've followed every Rolling Stone and Circus and fanzine interview may feel like there's nothing genuinely new here. But for those like me, who genuinely enjoy the music, but haven't hung on every interview beyond the lyrics, there's a lot of insight here. It's also a very interesting look at the growth and changes in the music industry over the decades.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Open dreamspace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Holly

    Sure

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Anastacia to Jack

    How old r u ? Iam single... ;)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Jack

    Yeah. How bout dinner at candles res 2

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Excellent journey

    It's like being in the back seat and riding along down the Canadian highways with the Wilson sisters. Excellent read. The pair tell their tale of the unlikely trip they took to the top and the parties they took in along the way. quick read and very fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    SOOOOO AWESOME!

    Awesome book so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1