Customer Reviews for

The Kid: What Happened After My Boyfriend and I Decided to Go Get Pregnant

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    O my becky o my becky

    O my becky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I have been a Dan Savage fan for years. I began this book not sure what to expect save for Savage's brilliant sarcasm. I found so much more! I was unable to put this down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    I LOVED this book!

    This is a great story about family! Kudos Dan I LOVED this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Family is a Family is a Family

    Amazing, funny, insightful story of Dan Savage and his partner Terry Miller's decision to have a baby. It's a great read for people considering adoption, or for gay families who want to give their straight relatives an inside perspective of the struggle gay families have just to become families. Dan does a great job of making hard points in a very non-threatening, approachable way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Extremely funny and well written

    I actually bought this book about three years ago when I went on a book buying binge and bought dozens of books only to store them away in closets and boxes. I slowly worked my way through them all and landed on this book about a week ago. Now you have to know i'm a very slow reader. It took me a week to finish this book. I just couldn't put it down! I had no idea this was a true story. The characters are so rich and unique, I thought for sure they were fictional. But no, they're real living people. The way this guy writes is so superb. It flows easily off the pages and into your mind. Not only that but he's outrageously funny. I found myself breaking down with fits of laughter and rereading passages over and over. Then i'd call some friends and read them parts of the story (and of course they wouldn't get it but i'd laugh still the same). At the end of the book i was surprised to find out it could also be considered a 'how-to' book. I never took the idea of adoption seriously...I had no idea I'd learn so much from this cute book with a pretty baby on the cover. I'm happy to say that if i ever do attempt to adopt, i'll devour this book again and be well on my way. I recommend it to everyone, even if they don't agree with homosexuality...it'll enlighten even the darkest minds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Insight Up To Your Eyeballs

    This book is exactly my favorite kind of humor; riotous laughing that exposes and wam, heartfelt, insightful message while you have tons of guffaws and giggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    amazing, hilarious, educational

    can't put it down. so funny and insightful. a good read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    A great investment of your time

    This book is phenomenal. I randomly bought it after reading an interview with Dan Savage (the author) on BN.com. I am not a big fan of non-fiction, but the story seemed compelling so I figured I would give it a whirl. While I have often heard of these books ¿you cannot put down¿ I had never encountered one ¿ until now. Thinking I would read for a few minutes before getting ready to go out for a night on the town, I picked up the book. I lost my entire Friday evening and finally put the book down, completed, at 6 a.m. The book is worth every minute. It is the lowest common denominator at its best: sex, love, kids, music, steak, Björk, relationships et cetera. I¿ve recommended this book to all my closest friends, and I recommend it to you ¿ just don¿t make any plans for Friday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Don't miss this

    I bought the book and had to read it all in one night. Not only is it filled with humor, wit and charm, but surprise twists which make it 'not your average gay couple adoption book.' Mr. Savage is truly a gifted writer and I felt everyone of his and his boyfriends' hopes, fears, disappointment, etc. Gay, straight, fertile, infertile, adopted, hatched or left by aliens, you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    The best

    Very well writen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    A Must Read (regardless of orientation)

    This book is many things. It is funny. It is informative. It is fun. It is original. But all of this is completely shadowed by the brilliant honesty that Savage uses. Everything is described in the most frank and straight forward manner. The beauty of this book is that Savage refuses to compromise the honest truth for what people want to hear. The book is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    informative and funny

    The book is written in a very refreshing and entertaining style. It is definetly one of the not-able-to-put-down books. It gives answers to questions that both gays and straights have concerning adoption, not being a 'gay book' per se, what really makes it beneficial to many couples and should be recommended by adoption agencies. At the same time it is full of honesty wit and humor, the way we are used from Dan Savage's column. A wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    This book is excellent.

    I just finished reading this book. It was one of those books that once you start reading it, it is hard to put down. I really liked the way that Dan Savage goes into everything about how an open adoption works. I am not the kind of person that usually likes to read as most books put me to sleep but this one didn't. I wanted to find out what was going to happen next. I fully recommend you get this book even if you are not planning to get a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1