Customer Reviews for

The Kid

Average Rating 2.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Extraordinarily Gripping

Amazing. From the way we get into Abdul's mind to the way the story unfolds, this is definitely a great follow-up to Sapphire's novel, Push.

posted by 6915733 on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

There are Many Kids

Harlem never was and never will be the place to frame an "against all odds" story. This is a tale told twice, thrice and counting. The famed One Hundred and Twenty-Fifth Street hasn't moved. Life is still the same: every waking hour is a struggle for children and adults...
Harlem never was and never will be the place to frame an "against all odds" story. This is a tale told twice, thrice and counting. The famed One Hundred and Twenty-Fifth Street hasn't moved. Life is still the same: every waking hour is a struggle for children and adults and the latter can be considered orphaned by an uncaring system. Exactly how is Abdul different than a child in Haiti? The boy or girl in Haiti has absolutely nothing, Abdul still eats and is clothed. I'm more willing to pull for a kid in Soweto than one in Baltimore, Detroit or the perpetually alienated Harlem. It is author's like Sapphire that strip mine the ghetto, taking, and reinforcing the mindset that Harlem is a slum-scape. Harlem is much deeper than that, so much more vital.

posted by ChrisRoberts on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Not worth it

    This was a very hard read in the way it was written, and the subject matter. It needs to come with an advisory warning on the cover. I understand the need for getting a story like this out there because of it's content, but it's way too graphic for the average reader. It was not written in a way that was easy to follow either. This was recommended on Good Morning America, so I had no idea it would be this bad. It started out easier to follow and then jumped around quite a bit. It leaves unanswered questions after you have finished the book. If I could give no stars, I would.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    There are Many Kids

    Harlem never was and never will be the place to frame an "against all odds" story. This is a tale told twice, thrice and counting. The famed One Hundred and Twenty-Fifth Street hasn't moved. Life is still the same: every waking hour is a struggle for children and adults and the latter can be considered orphaned by an uncaring system. Exactly how is Abdul different than a child in Haiti? The boy or girl in Haiti has absolutely nothing, Abdul still eats and is clothed. I'm more willing to pull for a kid in Soweto than one in Baltimore, Detroit or the perpetually alienated Harlem. It is author's like Sapphire that strip mine the ghetto, taking, and reinforcing the mindset that Harlem is a slum-scape. Harlem is much deeper than that, so much more vital.

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Only got to the middle of the 2nd Chapter and couldn't finish....

    I could not finish this book at all. I really wanted to enjoy it but I couldn't. It was very disturbing and just disgusting. I have a hard time w/ thinking a kid can do the things Abdul was doing but I know stuff like this happens everyday in the world but reading it is totally differet. After I stopped reading it, I looked at other reviews of this book and some people either loved it or totally hated it.

    If you have a strong stomach maybe you'll like this book. I was hoping on this book being....I don't know...more about how Precious turn out and how her life w/ her son would be but my goodness....it was just too much for me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Bizarre book not recommended.

    I did not read Push so was not familiar with the author's writing style and structure, but I saw the movie Prescious and was eager to read the continuing story. I think the book was confusing, especially toward the end when I couldn't tell what was real or what was dreamed. I was disappointed that so much detail was written about the dance project but we never found out how it was received by the audience. Similarly, so much detail was written about The Kid's life but the ending was not descriptive at all, leaving the reader to determine what happened. It seemed like the last chapter was missing. I also wonder how a book like this with extensive raw and graphic sex involving children is not considered pornography. I'm not sure if I'm glad I read this book or not, but I'm certain I won't recommend it to others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    A Hard Read

    This book was easy to read in the beginning and then it gets weird and hard to follow. I wouldn't recommend purchasing it. It be more beneficial to borrow from someone who already has it. I thought PUSH was great but The Kid is overrated garbage.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Extraordinarily Gripping

    Amazing. From the way we get into Abdul's mind to the way the story unfolds, this is definitely a great follow-up to Sapphire's novel, Push.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    What the hell is going on????

    Is he dreaming, is he asleep, is he awake? These are the questions that I have to ask myself after every paragraph. There was no beginning, middle or end. It all muddled together to create a complete mess titled "The Kid". Which by the way "A Kid" could have written a better story. I can deal with graphic if there's point to be made. Unfortunately, the point is there isn't one and this book is pointless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Worst book ever. Didnt even finish it

    I had high hopes for this book after reading Push. I didnt understand why it was written in such a confusing manner. The only good part is when the grandmother had the floor and told her story, but i was thrown off by Abdul ejaculating in the middle of her dialogue. I wasnt even disgusted by his sexual acts, unfortunately i was disgusted more by her writting style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Way too confusing and drawn out

    I read Push and despite it also being a difficult read, it made sense throughout the story. In this book, the different sections were poorly transitioned and the end did not clarify more about how he got where he was. It seems to just go on and on with no real plot. Extremely disappointed. Maybe next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is an excellent book. I must warn it's very difficult to go thru Abdul's journey but well worth the read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    People people people

    I haven't yet read the book. Believe or not, the amount of negative reviews make me want to read it more. Push wasn't loved when it first hit, infact I only read the book because I had to for class in 2002. The content is hard to intake, I am not expect this book to be any lighter.
    Also, most have seem to forgotten this kid has DS cause he is the product of insest. He is a son of father and daughter. I don't remember if he is HIV positive.
    As for the daydreams, Presious did it too. It could be something herditary or possibly a mild form of Autisim. I mean, Sapphire isn't about white picket house families or lucky, rich, spoiled and wealty gang banging families that dealt and hustled their way to sliver spoons...without damages until suddenly. I digress.
    This is real life for some, and people know kinds like this or saw this at sometime.
    I get the flipping of the editing too. The general understand about DS, is the kids have damage to the side of the brain that deals with motor skills, social and emotional development more than congnivite thought. Meaning they can have integellent capiblities but are unable to make an outlet (especially a healthy one) to be understood. So in his head it can be a Shakespear but outward he is Jeffery Darmer, sadly cause that is all he can get out of himself.
    This is just a carather and I'm looking foward to him being intresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Lifegem

    Padded in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Sapphire

    She finished the mouse and pushed the bones into a bramblebush. "Hi, Lifegem!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Excellent story.

    Excellent story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Silena

    Hey ppl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Saphire

    Jk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Sapphire

    I'm right here and ready!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    what?

    i thought this would be better then the frist but it BIT DRAWN OUT. I lost interest and find myself having to leave it and come back when i cannot find something better to read. a real let down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Depressing book

    Very dark and too much child sex abuse for one book. It was written well, but the content was too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Waste of time reading

    Very confusing as writer was all over the place. I did not enjoy reading this book. Don't waste your money, borrow or get it from a library. Would not recommend...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5