Customer Reviews for

Kid Cooperation: How to Stop Yelling, Nagging, and Pleading and Get Kids to Cooperate

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    I thought the louder I yelled, the kids would know I meant business...WRONG!

    I just wasn't getting much respect or cooperation from my 3 and 5 year old sons. Mornings were especially unbearable! I would routinely scream from the kitchen-"How many times do I have to tell you?...Turn off the TV this minute!...Your breakfast is getting cold!" The truth is that my actions did not reinforce my words and they really didn't have to comply until the third time I asked- when I finally put down what I was doing in the kitchen, ran into the family room and stood right in front of them ranting and raging like a crazy women--veins popping out of my neck shouting threats that I knew I couldn't carry out like..."That's it!...Get going or I'll...I'll...I'll send you both to live with Grandma!...FOREVER!! You know how the kids know when your just about at your wits' end; why do we have to get to that point? This book taught me many ways to break this annoying ritual. But, in order to get my children to change their behavior, I had to learn how to change mine first! Although it felt awkward at the beginning, many of the tips and strategies in this book did work. Things are going much better in our house. If you have preschoolers like me, I also recommend taking a look at "The Pocket Parent", a small very practical reference guide with the same philosophy, formatted differently... alphabetically for quick access to "sanity savers" for behaviors like, biting, hitting, interrupting, lying, and whining. Both books have helped me to make positive changes in communicating more effectively with my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    When you read this book you'll be completely armed. You'll have

    When you read this book you'll be completely armed. You'll have many different solutions in your pocket on one problem.
    This book is also so much fun. It is very easy to read. And all the things are sooo logical (even when you talk about kids!)
    If you want to end the chaos in your home and want to boost your child’s self-esteem (with no yelling but cooperating) you need to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    This book is a lifesaver (or atleast a sanity saver!!)

    I recently purchased the book "Kid Cooperation", ended up reading it in one night and feeling completely shocked and amazed - finally found an easy to read, easy to follow parenting book that covered every problem I had and that made it seem completely possible to make the changes necessary for my family. I cannot say enough positive things about the book, it will be life changing for me and my children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Outstanding Parenting Book

    This book is wonderful. I have started recommending it to all of my friends. If you can read only one book on parenting, this is the one to read! When you read it you will learn about different parenting styles, their effectiveness or lack there of and a new way to create a happy loving and peaceful family life where you can get your children to cooperate and act as they should. I am the mother of a 3 and 7 year old. My kids go to bed easily and on time, are polite and well behaved when outside of the house, but at home is another story. At home we have to ask them/tell them things multiple times until we ending up yelling at them, are plagued by emotional outbursts and temper tantrums, back talk, whining and have a hard time enforcing some key rules. Lately I have taken to watching those nanny shows to get tips on what to do. But when I read this book it was if I had an epiphany. This book was clearly written and easy to understand. It unravelled all of the mysteries of why my kids act the way they do and what to do differently to fix it. I learned that I was using at least two ineffective parenting styles and if I just adjusted what I was doing I would be much more effective. I gave tons of useful tips and approaches to use in all situations. The parenting style is kind, effective and helps your children grow and become self reliant to boot. I think it would work for all ages and the book addressed all ages needs and how to modify accordingly. I have already started to see the effect in my kids behavior and it has even started to improve my marriage 'partially thanks to the one chapter on the parental relationship'. I can't wait to see where we are in a month or two, but I know the book has profoundly changed the way I parent and I have already seen some results and can't wait to see more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    practical advice

    Lots of practical advice. Not much theory but lots of great ideas that are instantly doable. Easy to read and quickly reference. Use discipline to teach not punish. Very loving but not wishy washy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Great pratical skills for parenting

    The skills and stories in this book are great. They are basic,do-able.The book is a short, easy read for busy parents. I found this book especially valuable because Elizabeth affirms parents and mistakes and I'm not left feeling overwhelming guilty for all the 'mistakes.' The chapter on anger is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    A must have for parents

    Very easy read for parents with little time. Practical and useful skills to help with parent-kid communication. I found the section on anger helpful understanding my own behavior and my actions/reactions. I read it over and over and even in the midst of conflict for some sane guidance. I did not get the 'guilty parent/oh how I've messed things up' syndrome when I read it. Instead I just start fresh each week or day or hour and forgive myself a for mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Wisdom: When what you're doing isn't working

    Parenting is the hardest job you'll ever have. But, it is the most fulfilling. Children don't come with Operating Manuals. So, often we find ourselves 'winging it' when instructing and guiding our children. We are then reminded by the outcomes that this is NOT the best approach. Elizabeth Pantley's book KID COOPERATION... is the best Operating Manual we have read. And the ideas are real experiences of Elizabeth and others. If one approach to child rearing event doesn't work well there are usually others you can employ that will. Our parenting journey with our two boys was at a point where we were so frustrated! What we were doing was NOT working. Now, with the advice and experience of Elizabeth we feel alot more confident in our decisions of discipline and guidance We liked the book so much we plan to look into other books she has written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Great Book!

    I loved this book! Lots of helpful hints and best of all lots of great ideas of what to do in specific situations. It really got me back on track with my kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    Every parent have to have this book.

    I think this is the best book I ever read about parenting. To real problems author gives real advices, and not just one advice, but many. You can choose which one fit to your situation, your family and your child. Now I never run out of ideas. Book covers not only how to raise your child, but has sugestions about marriage, and motivates you to take care of yourself. I feel lucky that I picked this book to read. I became better parent and better wife, do not have that much stress. Now we plan to have a second child. Thanks to Elizabeth for her wondefull book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    To Make Your Life Better; To Make Your Kids' Lives Better!

    This is SUCH a valuable book. Once I'd read it, I began to notice uncooperative kids everywhere I looked! There was always an adult beside them nagging, whining, pleading, or waffling. I wanted to give them all copies of KID COOPERATION! Parents don't want to nag or yell; kids don't want to be nagged or yelled at. However, it's easy for well-intentioned parents to fall into counter-productive habits. This book helps you choose words and behaviors that will bring about cooperation. Guaranteed. And it's simple. Much easier than the conflicts parents and children can get into. Sometimes we just need the lightbulb to go on and give us an alternative. Elizabeth Pantley has the alternative. She's really brilliant. It's an easy read, too. You must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    This is a must-read book!

    This book has been such a help to our family! My husband and I have become increasingly interested in gentle, effective ways to teach our 2 1/2 year old what behavior we expect, and _Kid Cooperation_ has really given us some great tools! Elizabeth provides wonderful ideas for making cooperation palatable for kids so they can accept Mom and Dad's leadership more easily. Within a few days of reading this book and practicing her suggestions, our son's behavior and mood improved dramatically, and my husband and I were much more calm. We are continuing to see the benefits, and we recommend this book to everyone we know who has kids! It really puts the whole family on the same team, working toward a common goal of helping the kids become responsible, compassionate, respectful adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2003

    WONDERFUL!

    What an eye opener! You really think you are the ONLY parent out there pulling your hair out until you've read this book. There were so many scenarios given in this book that were so similar to mine that I could of sworn there was a hidden camera in my home! I've already used some of the advice given and let me tell you it helps you keep your sanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Finally, no more battles!!!!

    This book truly has changed our lives!!! Finally, mornings and bedtime are no longer battle grounds resulting in tears and mom and dad feeling guilty!!I was skeptical but who knew that giving my 3 year old son a choice like "do you want to brush your teeth first or get in your pajamas first?" would result in him eagerly doing what HE CHOSE? The chapter on self esteem was a real eye opener!! I was embarassed reading it at times because I saw myself in many of the "bad expamples"! A great book for parents!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    The BEST parenting book out there

    This book gives you all the tools to need to raise good kids and enjoy the process. The basic tools are easy to learn and effective to use. It contains simple ideas that make sense and work wonders. For just one example (there are many), I used to yell at my kids to clean the kitchen and do their homework. Now I just ask, 'What are you doing first, your homework or the kitchen?' They pick! It sounds simple I know but it's amazing how often it works. I AM yelling less and they ARE cooperating more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    Skeptical man pleased

    I am a very skeptical person but I was hooked by the title (since I and my wife feel guilty for yelling at our kids so much)and ordered the book looking for help. This is the best and most practical book I have ever read on dealing with kids...and it works! As a 'Christian' I can say that this does not conflict with Biblical principals and would love to see it offered as a course in Sunday Schools. One may disagree with a point or two but the book is so FULL of 'good stuff' that if one disagrees with whether to 'spank' a child or not it's no big deal. I plan on recommending it to all my friends and I plan on studying the book now that I have read it. It is very liberating to have knowledge and skills that I didn't think were learnable. PRACTICAL, PRACTICAL, PRACTICAL. Please read this book for your kids sake. No... I don't even know the author or work for the book company but I am grateful for her work. Pleased in Tennessee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    Finally! A Manual for Raising Kids!

    Hundreds of times I've heard people say, 'I wish kids came with an instruction manual.' This book is exactly that- an easy read, that offers detailed advise on how to effectively communicate with your kids in order to get them listen. The author uses a lot of examples which make it easy to apply her suggestions to your situation. I read it once and I review it often. I have 2 boys, ages 5 and 1. This book has given me amazing skills that I've been able to use with each of them. I would definitely recommend this book to ANYONE who has children, or who cares for children. It's a sanity saver!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    A useful, helpful book!!!

    I often find it hard to get through books because I am so busy and exhausted from being a mother and fulfilling the rest of the responsibilities in my life... I found this book very easy to read and the concepts were presented in such a simple fashion that it has also been easier to apply than other things I've read. I am also a family consultant and lecturer and encourage people I work with to read the book and try some of the ideas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2001

    Nannies Need this Book Too

    Wow! Finally a book that really helps with you understand and manage your relationships with your children, the children in your care, or even your spouse or significant other! Several aspects of Ms. Pantley¿s book, KID Cooperation, make it a standout in the crowded field of `self-help¿ books addressing children¿s discipline. Ms. Pantley uses easy to understand language ¿ not techno-jargon or politically correct phraseology. KID Cooperation is actually a page turner (no kidding) just because it is so easy to digest. The solutions given were practical and realistic, including common sense things we adults need to be reminded of from time to time. The examples of actual situations and the way real people have handled them effectively was particularly helpful. The end of chapter summaries were a good way to reinforce the key points contained within the chapter, very useful for readers like myself who cannot always read a chapter from start to finish uninterrupted. Most importantly, when reading KID Cooperation you realize you aren¿t alone, that your children and your family are not unique and many of us share common challenges in child rearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    Life changing! A 'must have' for all parents!

    Parenting would have to be the most difficult (yet rewarding!) job in the world. Of all parenting challenges, discipline is probably at the top of most parents¿ list. Every parent wants to raise kids who are responsible and caring people. But HOW on earth are we supposed to achieve this? Often the only blueprint we have for discipline comes from our own parents, and involves methods such as spanking and shouting, which are neither effective nor respectful to children. Thank goodness for Elizabeth Pantley and her wonderful book Kid Cooperation: How to stop yelling, nagging and pleading and get kids to cooperate! I must admit to being somewhat sceptical when I come across claims such as those in this book title. ¿If it sounds too good to be true then it probably is¿, rings in my ears. However, I am DELIGHTED to be able to say that this book not only lives up these claims but MORE. In Kid Cooperation, Elizabeth Pantley shares parenting skills that are LIFE CHANGING! I do not say that lightly! This book will change your life! The wonderful thing is that the skills outlined are easy to learn and implement, they actually WORK, and probably most importantly in my opinion, they are kind to and respectful of children. Elizabeth¿s style is very readable, positive and not at all preachy. She allows you to determine areas needing improvement in a way that leaves you feeling both hopeful and positive. The first chapter comprises a quiz to determine your current discipline style. Are you permissive, democratic, balanced or autocratic? (I erred on the ¿too democratic¿ side!) The good news is that, whatever your current style, you CAN find help in this wonderful book. The remaining chapters contain the gems of wisdom which fulfil the claims on the front cover! Chapter 2 teaches the keys to successful parenting ¿ take charge; think; when you say it, mean it; use skill. Chapter 3 covers cooperation and how to achieve it in your home. Chapter 4 discusses punishment versus discipline. Chapter 5 teaches ways to build your child¿s self-esteem. Chapter 6 is all about sibling relationships. Chapter 7 deals with parent anger. Chapter 8 discusses ways to look after yourself and the relationship with your parenting partner. Chapter 9 consists of some common discipline questions with several suggestions on how to deal effectively with each. Each chapter ends with a very helpful ¿reminder page¿, which can be copied and placed in appropriate spots around the home. This really makes learning the new skills manageable! Throughout the book, examples of situations and dialogue (some from the author¿s own family experiences) make understanding easy. Many readers will see themselves and their kids in the examples (I know I did!) Elizabeth makes it simple to identify ineffective parenting AND to replace it with techniques that actually WORK. I have personally used many of the skills taught in this book with my own child and am thrilled to report the improvement in harmony in our household. Some examples which have been particularly useful to us are the ¿5-3-1-go¿ (when leaving a playground for example), making objects talk (great for things like teeth cleaning time!), and using happy faces and sad faces on a daily chart. I thoroughly recommend this book! My ONLY complaint is that I didn¿t get it when my child was younger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2