Customer Reviews for

The Kids Are All Right

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Story of 4 Siblings

    This book was amazing. It had me laughing, then crying and then laughing and crying again. I could not put the book down. I am not an avid reader, but when I started this book, I knew I would read it from cover to cover.
    Definitely worth the price.
    Don't hesitate, buy it today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Read

    This was a story that grabbed you, held on to you, dragged you through the depths of the Welch's sorrow, and left you thinking "Man, and I thought I had it tough."
    I read it cover to cover on a rainy Friday. The pace was good and story engaging. I wanted to keep reading, but didn't feel compelled to.
    Some parts of the story are a bit scattered and disjointed but well done for four people who are not writers by trade.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You will look at your life in a whole new or old way!

    Powerful story with every emotion that can only be endured by strong hearts and love for family. Endearing, unforgettable, well written, engaging. I can't say enough!
    You will want to hug all four of these kids. Each told in their own individual way. You feel like you know them and grew up with them.
    Another surprising thing I found amazing is how much of cult history I had forgotten.
    You will want to tell your own story, regardless of what that may be.
    Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Fascinating story well told

    Recommend this book. The "Kids" have a very sad and amazing story to tell and they have done an excellent job of writing a group memoir using alternating chapters. Each grown "kid" tell the story from their point of view as a child at the time. This works very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read, touching story!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! What a fascinating and touching story the Welches have to tell and the way it's told is just fantastic. I love love loved the four strong and very separate voices and will most likely re-read this in the future. I will recommend this to everyone I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    The Welch Kids are Remarkable!!!

    "The Kids Are All Right" is a memoir about the lives of four siblings who together and apart indure life's interesting turns. I loved this book! It takes a little while to get used to the four voices the book is written in. Each person gives his or her take on events they all went through though they don't always remember them the same way. If you love a incredible story this book won't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book! The Welch kids did a great job with this!

    I thought this was a great book. I found it hard to put down. I especially enjoyed reading from each sibling's viewpoint. I would definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great sibling story

    I think many people who are adults and grew up with siblings will really enjoy this book. I know, that does not exactly narrow down the audience. Story is written from 4 kids perspectives and it gets passed back and forth based on a time line. The kids are dealt a rough hand to say the least. But the book, I think, is uplifting and hopeful. I have not lost a parent and my life growing up was really fairly painless, but I still was moved by this book and at times related to the characters. it is not just them dealing with the fallout from their losses, but also a lot of normal growing up stuff. Drinking, drugs, sex, puberty, etc. Nothing is too over the top, so do not think it is a story of kids that totally lost their way. Not so.
    The 4 of them did a great job writing this and I am happy I found this book. I think you will be too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2