Customer Reviews for

Kids Learn to Read (Educational Phonics and Reading Game for Preschool/Kindergarten-aged Children)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

My 4 year old loves this!

My four year old would rather play with a video game than sit down and do flash cards and such, so this has been a wonderful tool to concrete his phonics and small word recognition! Amazing! I will be buying the other apps from this company.

posted by 8639649 on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

76 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

Poor word examples in "blending sound" section

Pictures appear at top of screen but they are unrelated to the sounds that are put together. Child is limited to hearing isolated sounds that may or may not blend to produce the word being presented, ex /b/ /o/ /y/ does not sound out as "boy." I was going to purchase ot...
Pictures appear at top of screen but they are unrelated to the sounds that are put together. Child is limited to hearing isolated sounds that may or may not blend to produce the word being presented, ex /b/ /o/ /y/ does not sound out as "boy." I was going to purchase other components of this app but I am somewhat reluctant to spend even a few dollars on phonemic awareness activities that may not provide appropriate examples. Other parts of this app were okay for teaching blending sounds. By the way I am an ESL/ early childhood teacher.

posted by 5557656 on November 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Poor word examples in "blending sound" section

    Pictures appear at top of screen but they are unrelated to the sounds that are put together. Child is limited to hearing isolated sounds that may or may not blend to produce the word being presented, ex /b/ /o/ /y/ does not sound out as "boy." I was going to purchase other components of this app but I am somewhat reluctant to spend even a few dollars on phonemic awareness activities that may not provide appropriate examples. Other parts of this app were okay for teaching blending sounds. By the way I am an ESL/ early childhood teacher.

    76 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    My 4 year old loves this!

    My four year old would rather play with a video game than sit down and do flash cards and such, so this has been a wonderful tool to concrete his phonics and small word recognition! Amazing! I will be buying the other apps from this company.

    31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Not Bad

    While this app definitely captures mu daughters interest there are a few issus I have with it. They are trying to blend words that have welded sounds or vowel teams that make different sounds then the ones my preschooler would be learning. Plus some of the words are sight words and you cannot sound or blend them ... that's why they call them sight words....because you just need to see and memorize them. But that being said, this app did begin to show my daughter a strategy for beginning to read and as long as I was there to correct the other flaws in the system...it was a good teachable moment.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Beautifully made app very easy to interact with kids

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    GREAT APP!

    My 4yr old LOVES it!!!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Does not work right

    It freezes and frustrates us so we had to archive it waste of money

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Awesome!

    Very entertaining!

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Love it!

    My 5 yr old loves this program the only bad thing i can say is that the u is pronounced like an o, but its worth getting.

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Neat App

    Very cute animations - I like that the child must go through the stages of piecing the words together before moving on - very bright and colorful. Children will enjoy the skateboarding turtle... : )

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Errors and will skip past the screens. :+(

    Enough that is not working right that we just gave up .

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great for learning

    Fun for practice!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Gxxxxzzaqq,


    Xz,












    Zasszzxxxaq

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Nat

    I love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Tgvhb tgv

    Ionjkn

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Kupppoppppoopoopppooppip"

    Jcccndbcjjchbbhvjmjdhncbdjjvmxmnmcmj x,xnz !klx,x xkdllwllkjjjak

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2