Customer Reviews for

Kill Alex Cross (Alex Cross Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 900 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(395)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The ending is flat

Have read almost all JP's books, dependable Cross fan but the ending left me disappointed. If the ending had a bit more bite & closing, it would be one of his good books, but not great. Hope the movie lives up to the book. Recommend the read but don't hope for much in e...
Have read almost all JP's books, dependable Cross fan but the ending left me disappointed. If the ending had a bit more bite & closing, it would be one of his good books, but not great. Hope the movie lives up to the book. Recommend the read but don't hope for much in end.

posted by biff on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Running Out Of Ideas

James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but no...
James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but now his Cross books have now become repetitive. He does his loyal fans a great disservice cause it seems that all he cares about is money.

posted by Darth-Vader on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 903 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Running Out Of Ideas

    James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but now his Cross books have now become repetitive. He does his loyal fans a great disservice cause it seems that all he cares about is money.

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Review of the Review

    Disappointing. The review can be compared to anxiously waiting see a movie, only to have someone tell you all about it before you make it to the theater . The anticipation and excitement are immediately extinguished ... like a burst balloon. That's how I'm feeling now. Your review was well written but because of the detail, I no longer have burning need to read the book.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    DISAPPOINTED

    WORST BOOK WRITTEN BY PATTERSON. HEHASGREAT TALENT BUT HE DIDN'T SHOW IT IN THIS BOOK. I'VE READ ALL OF HIS MYSTERY BOOKS AND LOVED THEM. COULD HARDLY WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE AND THEN THIS ONE CAME ABOUT AND I WAS SORELY DISAPPOINTED. MAYBE HE SHOULD NOT PUT SO MANY OUT IN SUCH A SHORT TIME AS HE HAS DONE LATELY. THIS ONE HAD NO CONTINUITY AND EVERY THING WAS LEFT HANGING AT THE END. NO FOLLOW UP ON KIDNAPPING, TERRORISTS PORTION MADE NO SENSE, MUGGING OF NANA RESULTED IN NOTHING AND HAD NO PLACE IN THIS BOOK. TAKING IN HER ATTACKER WAS NOT A REASONABLE ACTION .... SORRY

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Who Killed James Patterson

    No way that James Patterson wrote this very lightweight and very predictable book. There are several sub plots that don't intersect except that they involve Alex Cross, all very predictable with very little suspense. What happened to the twists and turns of previous Patterson books. This book was about exciting as a bowl of tapioca; please Mr. Patterson, regain consciousness soon, I miss your better books!

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Disappointed

    Don't bother. Mr. Patterson seriously needs to review his first books to be reminded how his books became bestsellers. The topic did not relate to the book in any way. The subplots are disjointed. The terrorism plot is not explained nor resolved. I kept waiting for the pulse pounding, heart racing part but it never came. Just confusion and questions.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    NO NEED TO TELL US THE ENTIRE STORY

    Trust me - we can read too!

    9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Pretty Bad, Starting to Resent the Author

    I am starting to find the more prolific that James Patterson becomes, the more terribly written his books. I have read all the Alex Cross novels and enjoyed them, but this had zero intrigue, no suspense, a terrible plot, uninteresting cliched characters... I read it in two hours and did not enjoy it and regretted having bought it. James Patterson knows how to write a great thriller so he should give his loyal fans something worth their time and money even if it means he publishes less than 40 books a year!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Missed the msrk Missed the mark

    Did not see how the 2 story lines were related Lacked
    the usual surprises of a Cross novel

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was the worst Alex Cross novel ever, story was disjointed no true conclusion, seemed to have been written in a rush.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Okay

    Iffy

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Coppycat!!

    The story lone is jut a copycat from the movie red!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Not impressed

    I normally love James Patterson/Alex Cross, but not this one! Had to struggle to finish, did not keep me on the edge of my seat like his books usually do. Hope Patterson is not losing his touch!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Don't bother with this book.

    Have been an Alex Cross fan for years. This latest installment is simply not worth the time or money. Extremely disappointing. One would think the title is what the story is primarily going to be about. It is not. Agree with other readers that Mr. Patterson is pounding out books too fast and furiously. As a result, the quality of his writing has truly suffered of late.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Okay

    I love James Patterson, especially his Alex Cross series, but this was not his best. Hope the next one is better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    The ending is flat

    Have read almost all JP's books, dependable Cross fan but the ending left me disappointed. If the ending had a bit more bite & closing, it would be one of his good books, but not great. Hope the movie lives up to the book. Recommend the read but don't hope for much in end.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    James Patterson

    All of James Patterson's books are well written and easy to read, he is a very fantastic author. He should be greatly rewarded for his sucess. He writes so many books it seems like he writes one every week.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The book

    It was the worst book ever. Do yourself a favor and do nit buy it.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Disappointing!

    I've read all the Alex Cross books and usually love them. This one was slow and disappointing. Half of the plot went nowhere and the other half was slow. After pre-ordering MONTHS ago I was extremely disappointed. Save your money and skip this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    B o r i n g !

    No need to say anything else, save your money

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Half disappointing... half great

    I have to say I was kind of disappointed with this book. I've either read or listened to all of the Alex Cross books, and couldn't wait for this one. Then I started listening to it and I thought, "Huh? This kidnapping plotline is practically straight out of ALONG CAME ASPIDER!" I was expecting Alex to shake his head and realize he'd done all this before.
    The terrorist part, though, was good. I can understand what a lot of people here are saying that it didn't connect with theother plotline, but maybe it wasn't supposed to. I'm thinking the idea was to set up a continuing story for another book. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The other half just could have been much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 903 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46