Customer Reviews for

Kill Alex Cross (Alex Cross Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 895 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(391)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The ending is flat

Have read almost all JP's books, dependable Cross fan but the ending left me disappointed. If the ending had a bit more bite & closing, it would be one of his good books, but not great. Hope the movie lives up to the book. Recommend the read but don't hope for much in e...
Have read almost all JP's books, dependable Cross fan but the ending left me disappointed. If the ending had a bit more bite & closing, it would be one of his good books, but not great. Hope the movie lives up to the book. Recommend the read but don't hope for much in end.

posted by biff on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Running Out Of Ideas

James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but no...
James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but now his Cross books have now become repetitive. He does his loyal fans a great disservice cause it seems that all he cares about is money.

posted by Darth-Vader on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Review of the Review

    Disappointing. The review can be compared to anxiously waiting see a movie, only to have someone tell you all about it before you make it to the theater . The anticipation and excitement are immediately extinguished ... like a burst balloon. That's how I'm feeling now. Your review was well written but because of the detail, I no longer have burning need to read the book.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Who Killed James Patterson

    No way that James Patterson wrote this very lightweight and very predictable book. There are several sub plots that don't intersect except that they involve Alex Cross, all very predictable with very little suspense. What happened to the twists and turns of previous Patterson books. This book was about exciting as a bowl of tapioca; please Mr. Patterson, regain consciousness soon, I miss your better books!

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Disappointed

    Don't bother. Mr. Patterson seriously needs to review his first books to be reminded how his books became bestsellers. The topic did not relate to the book in any way. The subplots are disjointed. The terrorism plot is not explained nor resolved. I kept waiting for the pulse pounding, heart racing part but it never came. Just confusion and questions.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    NO NEED TO TELL US THE ENTIRE STORY

    Trust me - we can read too!

    9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Coppycat!!

    The story lone is jut a copycat from the movie red!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Not impressed

    I normally love James Patterson/Alex Cross, but not this one! Had to struggle to finish, did not keep me on the edge of my seat like his books usually do. Hope Patterson is not losing his touch!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Don't bother with this book.

    Have been an Alex Cross fan for years. This latest installment is simply not worth the time or money. Extremely disappointing. One would think the title is what the story is primarily going to be about. It is not. Agree with other readers that Mr. Patterson is pounding out books too fast and furiously. As a result, the quality of his writing has truly suffered of late.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The book

    It was the worst book ever. Do yourself a favor and do nit buy it.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    B o r i n g !

    No need to say anything else, save your money

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Pre-order. Haven't even gotten it yet

    Pre-order. Haven't even gotten it yet

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Shallow

    Simply a lazily written book. Not much depth. I guess it becomes all about the money after a while with some of these famous authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    What a disappointment

    From the hype on tv, I expected a more exciting read. It did not live up to the hype on tv or the author's high standing of other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    James Patterson started his Alex Cross series with a good and du

    James Patterson started his Alex Cross series with a good and durable concept. Then, with success, he began simply lending his highly bankable name to books written by others. He began to disappoint me--even insult me as a reader--years ago, as he began pulling deus ex machina twists that made no dramatic sense. It was as though he was just tired of writing, or had reached his quota for that book, and used the quickest way to come to some sort of an ending. For tight writing and genuinely unexpected plot twists, I'll take a Harlan Coben mystery any day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I have read every Alex Cross book but this one was lacking. It

    I have read every Alex Cross book but this one was lacking. It was just okay;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Childish

    This is the second time I have given this prolific writer a look to see what he is about and to discover why so many people buy his books. Alas, I have still not determined the reason as his plots are childish and his writing common.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Disappointing

    Patterson needs to spend more time on writing his books then jamming them out. This one was an embarrassed to Alex Cross. Come on James get it together, or you won't have any readers left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Boring

    Think i am done with patterson..the more of the reviews i read the more i wonder, did we all read the same book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Mean

    That is mean

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    James

    You totally phoned it in... no time to write anymore?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Don't buy it!

    So disjointed. Three story lines and only one is brought to an unsatisfacttory cconclusion. This is not good writing, just rambling. No wonder Patterson is co-authoring so many books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4