BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kill Alex Cross (Alex Cross Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 892 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(388)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The ending is flat

Have read almost all JP's books, dependable Cross fan but the ending left me disappointed. If the ending had a bit more bite & closing, it would be one of his good books, but not great. Hope the movie lives up to the book. Recommend the read but don't hope for much in e...
Have read almost all JP's books, dependable Cross fan but the ending left me disappointed. If the ending had a bit more bite & closing, it would be one of his good books, but not great. Hope the movie lives up to the book. Recommend the read but don't hope for much in end.

posted by biff on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Running Out Of Ideas

James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but no...
James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but now his Cross books have now become repetitive. He does his loyal fans a great disservice cause it seems that all he cares about is money.

posted by Darth-Vader on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Running Out Of Ideas

    James Patterson was one of my favorite authors but not anymore ever since he lends his name to sell books which is coming out now every two months. Now at the end of the year he releases his only solo novel which is his Alex Cross series. At one time it was great but now his Cross books have now become repetitive. He does his loyal fans a great disservice cause it seems that all he cares about is money.

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Missed the msrk Missed the mark

    Did not see how the 2 story lines were related Lacked
    the usual surprises of a Cross novel

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Okay

    Iffy

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Okay

    I love James Patterson, especially his Alex Cross series, but this was not his best. Hope the next one is better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Little disappointed

    I have read every book of Alex Cross and this is the first time I have been disappointed. I get the feeling James P didn't give much thought into this novel. This series #18 left me wanting more and wondering what happened? For the first time I conclude this book is not worth the read maybe next year..JamesP. I actually want a refund

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great but too short!

    Good plot, it was missing something but i do love my James.
    Boobie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Awsome book

    Try saling the book for free

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Not his best

    This book was ok byt defunutely not his best. I felt it moved a little slower thsn usual and i still struggle to find the conndction kn the two storylines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Language? -- BMotor63

    How bad is the language in this book? Too bad they don't have a rating system like they do movies! It sure would save mr momey! Buyig a book then having to erase it gets a bit ecpensive!






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Trite

    Predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    James Patterson seems to be one of the most polarizing authors w

    James Patterson seems to be one of the most polarizing authors working today. While he is one of the best selling authors of all time, most of his novels are met with lukewarm responses. It has been argued that because of his prolific output, the quality of the novels suffers. I agree that many of the standalone novels that Patterson writes, often with a co-author, are not very good, but he has always seemed to take a certain pride in his Alex Cross series. Because I have read all of the other novels in this series, there was no way I would miss the latest.

    The novel begins with the kidnapping of the U.S. President's children. The junior high school where they were last seen is locked down, and Alex Cross, who just happens to be in the area, stops by to lend a hand. Alex has had experience with high profile kidnappings in the past (read Along Came a Spider) and after the first lady personally contacts him to get her kids back, Alex is officially put on the case.

    At the same time, a Saudi Arabian terror cell is infiltrating the country. Nicknamed "The Family", the cell sends out teams of married couples to come into the country and wreak havoc. When they release a deadly poison into the Washington D.C. water supply, Alex also becomes burdened with facing a national security crisis. Even more, he believes this terrorist organization could be responsible for the kidnapping of the President's kids.

    I have mixed feelings about this latest Alex Cross novel. Despite the title, I never really felt that Alex was in any danger of losing his life. Both the kidnapping and terrorist stories run separate from each other for most of the novel, making the book feel extremely disjointed. The redeeming factor, as in most of the other novels in this series, is the emotional depth shown in Alex's interaction with his family. Patterson understands that readers are connected to the character and his family, and uses relatable domestic life to entice us. Unfortunately, the rest of the novel feels like just another thriller with an ending that doesn't really satisfy. I know Patterson still has some great stories left to tell, but this novel was pretty middle of the road for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Alex Cross books

    I look forward to the Alex Cross books, however, they just are not the quality they used to be. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Ok

    Definitely not the best i liked the story line but it was predictable and it never sucked me in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Why Kill Alex Cross?

    This was James Patterson's usual good book, but why it had this name is anyone's guess--No one was even trying to kill him. this is not what this book was about. THe title is a mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I like Alex Cross and the dynamics of his family. The story is a

    I like Alex Cross and the dynamics of his family. The story is a little unbelievable but it still makes for an interesting read. I think James Patterson writes too many books in the course of a year for them to be as excellent as early novels. I never buy the books. Always borrow from the public library for this very reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    A ok

    Not the best book ive read it is a lil to old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Average

    Average for alex cross series but still better than a lot of other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Kill alex cross

    Definitely not up there with rest of his books, i also think the title is misleading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Same

    You guys keep saying the same thing as l go down the line. I havn't read the book. That is why l gave three stars. The other people who are whanting to read the book, but are seeing these comments and now your getting second thoughts. Well listen to me. Do not buy the book, yet. First read the free sample. People have different opinions. So read the free sample, and if you like it buy it. If you don't you just saved money. Then comment on both. The comment for the sample would be... I --- it, but now l am going to read the sample/ To save money for me, l'm not going to read the book. Or you could just go to the library and save a whole bunch of things. Now either save money, by listening to me or do as you please and problably waste your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    been better

    previous AC story line better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8