BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kill Anything That Moves: The Real American War in Vietnam

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This book masterfully puts together information not only taken f

This book masterfully puts together information not only taken from multiple credible sources, but also documents and provides sources for the United States' conduct in Vietnam. Turse pulls no punches as he describes the banality of atrocities and other war crimes commi...
This book masterfully puts together information not only taken from multiple credible sources, but also documents and provides sources for the United States' conduct in Vietnam. Turse pulls no punches as he describes the banality of atrocities and other war crimes committed with almost absolute impunity. If we do not come to terms with and accept that our nation's actions in Vietnam constituted almost daily war crimes, then we are doomed to repeat those actions. This book should make us wonder about the reports of illegal killings and atrocities committed by US forces in both Iraq and Afghanistan. Are the perpetrators just a few "bad apples" like Lt. Calley, as we were told about those crimes that were reported in Vietnam? Or do they indicate a greater, more systemic problem. As a Vietnam Era veteran, after reading the evidence Mr. Turse presents in this book and then looking at similarities in the rationale and descriptions of crimes recently committed, I tend to suspect that we are looking at a systemic problem. We are no longer the "good guys wearing white hats" -- if we ever were.

posted by wjshelton on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I served with the First Cavalry Division and can tell the reader

I served with the First Cavalry Division and can tell the readers that I never received an order to “Kill Anything That Moves”, participated in an atrocity, or heard rumor of an atrocity. It is clear to me that Nick Turse’s intention is to single out and defame all Vi...
I served with the First Cavalry Division and can tell the readers that I never received an order to “Kill Anything That Moves”, participated in an atrocity, or heard rumor of an atrocity. It is clear to me that Nick Turse’s intention is to single out and defame all Vietnam Veterans. Little or no mention is made of the atrocities committed by others (North Vietnamese, Viet Cong, Khmer Rouge, or Pathet Lao) before, during, or after the period (1965-1975) as others have noted in their one star reviews on other Websites. There are many good references about Vietnam but this is not one of them.

posted by BillyBobGreeley on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    An unfortunate true story of Vietnamese men women and children being killed for the sake of " dead body totals " no wonder so many vietnam vets have PTSD it is from killing civilians and not enemy soldiers. I am a Vietnam Vet and this book makes me ashamed of what was done there.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    This book masterfully puts together information not only taken f

    This book masterfully puts together information not only taken from multiple credible sources, but also documents and provides sources for the United States' conduct in Vietnam. Turse pulls no punches as he describes the banality of atrocities and other war crimes committed with almost absolute impunity. If we do not come to terms with and accept that our nation's actions in Vietnam constituted almost daily war crimes, then we are doomed to repeat those actions. This book should make us wonder about the reports of illegal killings and atrocities committed by US forces in both Iraq and Afghanistan. Are the perpetrators just a few "bad apples" like Lt. Calley, as we were told about those crimes that were reported in Vietnam? Or do they indicate a greater, more systemic problem. As a Vietnam Era veteran, after reading the evidence Mr. Turse presents in this book and then looking at similarities in the rationale and descriptions of crimes recently committed, I tend to suspect that we are looking at a systemic problem. We are no longer the "good guys wearing white hats" -- if we ever were.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    This book will become a must have addition to anyone¿s Vietnam W

    This book will become a must have addition to anyone’s Vietnam War library and marks a turning point in how we will look at the war in the future.  My Lai has become the accepted aberration of the war, but Turse opens new doors through his dogged research to show that maybe it was not an aberration, but accepted policy of the government and of the military higher ups.

    Pouring through Pentagon archives followed up with interviews with veterans and also with the survivors of the incidents Turse gives us eye-opening evidence that My Lai-like operations occurred time and time again throughout Vietnam.  These atrocities did not occur because of a “bad egg” in a platoon but because of a culture that grew in the US military forces.  It was difficult to tell who the enemy was because the Viet Cong were embedded into the very civilians that were only concerned with harvesting their crops and making a living the best they could and try to ignore the soldiers that were marching through their hamlets and rice paddies.  One shot from a sniper could lead to a whole village being wiped out by bombs or artillery.  “Body count” became the magic phrase for the military brass.  If the “body count” was high then we were accomplishing something.  I think the important thing is to not blame the “grunt” or foot soldier out there.  This mind-set came from the higher ups in the military scheme of things.  The officers wanted to get their “ticket punch” so that their records would show that they had been in a combat zone and if they could add some “body count” to it than all the better. It was these officers who time after time had charges against them buried by investigators and were allowed to move on up the ladder of military success.  This mind-set and a bunch of 18-20 year old draftees made for a situation that would lead to in some cases war against the civilians that they were trying to win over to the side of the US.

    Turse’s book Kill Anything That Moves was a hard book for me to read but I am glad that I did.  I do not believe that a true history of the Vietnam War or an understanding of what our soldiers went through during their time there can be made without books like this.  Yes it is a tough book to read but as Americans we must stand up and say we made mistakes and try to learn from them.  I have to wonder if the military has learned anything or are they still busy trying to hide what happened.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I served with the First Cavalry Division and can tell the reader

    I served with the First Cavalry Division and can tell the readers that I never received an order to “Kill Anything That Moves”, participated in an atrocity, or heard rumor of an atrocity. It is clear to me that Nick Turse’s intention is to single out and defame all Vietnam Veterans. Little or no mention is made of the atrocities committed by others (North Vietnamese, Viet Cong, Khmer Rouge, or Pathet Lao) before, during, or after the period (1965-1975) as others have noted in their one star reviews on other Websites. There are many good references about Vietnam but this is not one of them.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Worth the money if you like military history

    Footnoted and thorough to a fault. Factual account of the extent to which American soldiers mistreated and killed the Vietnamese civilian population, often ordered from the top and covered up at the top.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Don't expect to read Turse's incredibly documented report in a s

    Don't expect to read Turse's incredibly documented report in a single sitting: The information will astound you, the fact that the military and government suppressed these accounts will confound you. Read every word. Then share this book with someone else and ask him or her to do the same.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    It was hard for me to rate this book. I couldn't read it before

    It was hard for me to rate this book. I couldn't read it before bedtime; it gave me nightmares. But I also couldn't put it down. I felt like a guilty, gaping bystander to some horrific catastrophy. In fact, I am a Vietnam- era veteran and I spent my 30+ year career as a Psychologist listening to a seemingly endless procession of Vietnam veterans as they described the joys and horrors of their combat experiences. After reading this book, I realize that I never fully appreciated, nor could I have imagined, the scope of the misery inflicted on Vietnamese civilians by U.S. military forces. And I say this ever mindful of the friends and families of the nearly 60,000 American casualties whose honored names are engraved on the Vietnam Memorial Wall in Washington, D.C. I gave this book to several of my former colleagues. One returned it saying that he couldn't expose himself to the information contained in this book. "It wouldn't be good for me", he said. I told him I understood. Believing all your life that we are the good guys and they are the bad guys and war is as simple as that; it's a difficult belief to surrender. But ultimately, I suppose, we must put away the things of childhood and face the truth of reality. And so, I regretfully give this book 5-stars.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Elliott

    Great read. Impressive array of research and paints a very clear picture of what happened during that conflict.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    What's next, investigations into Civil War crimes?

    What's next, investigations into Civil War crimes?

    3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Compelling but Redundant

    Well researched, but the tales were so many & so similar as to seemingly be variations on same tale. Could have delivered same punch in about 1/2 the pages.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Excellent book. This shows what really went on in Vietnam

    Excellent book. This shows what really went on in Vietnam

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    almost a PhD submission

    Very factual and cold. Not a readable narrative.
    Almost 100 pages of footnotes.
    Very limited on the coverup portion of the war and it's aftermath.

    Art
    1st Air Commando IV Corps 1967-1968

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Metaclan rules and ranks

    - Feta- the leader of metaclan. Only one at a time. Current Feta is Storm <p> - Bede- deputy of metaclan. Only one at a time. No current Bede. <p> - Omigon- Elite warriors of metaclan. Up to four at a time. Bede will be chosen frome these. <p> - Punge- a fully fledged warrior. You may have kits at this rank. <p> - Amur- a junior warrior. You may have a mate but no kits at this rank. <p> - Juno- ALL NEW MEMBERS MUST JOIN AS THIS RANK. apprentice members. You MAY NOT have a mate at this rank.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Extremely well written and meticulously researched. The author d

    Extremely well written and meticulously researched. The author does more to expose the plight of the peasant population of Vietnam during the decade of occupation by US forces, than any of the 30,000 plus volumes written on the war to date.
    Laid bare are the truths that the American policy of atrocity was a top down calculation to kill the US to victory. Punctuated by micro level tales that are a stain on the moral compass of all Americans the greater narrative is that the behavior of some troops in the field was a reflection of the policies of the Johnson and Nixon administrations and the military leaders that served them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Essential reading. Highly relevant to current discussion of the National Security State and the use of secrecy. It documents -- with Defense Dept documents -- that My Lai was only one of hundreds of atrocities reported by troops to their superiors and then buried by higher-ups at all levels. The failure of the public to understand fully what occurred during that war made the subsequent invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan much easier to sell. We're getting better; it's only taken 40 years to get this story out, better than the 60 years it took for the CIA to admit its overthrow of democracy in Iran.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1