BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Kill Artist (Gabriel Allon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Silva Strikes Gold!

In Daniel Silva's latest thriller, The Kill Artist, he not only continues the suspense created in The Mark Of The Assasin, he exceeds it. This book can't miss being a sure-fire smash with all readers who like international espionage thrillers; and it will keep you glued...
In Daniel Silva's latest thriller, The Kill Artist, he not only continues the suspense created in The Mark Of The Assasin, he exceeds it. This book can't miss being a sure-fire smash with all readers who like international espionage thrillers; and it will keep you glued to the edge of your seat. Silva's writing style is so 'grabbing' it will make you feel that you're personally there in the middle of the action. The action is non-stop, the plot is excitng and includes several surprises, and the characters are so fully developed, you'll think you really know them. If you're looking for a book in which you can fully 'get lost', get yourself a copy of The Kill Artist as soon as you can.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

good book.

nice book.but compared to spy masters like ludlum and forsyth,doesnt come close.but all the same a decent book.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    Silva Strikes Gold!

    In Daniel Silva's latest thriller, The Kill Artist, he not only continues the suspense created in The Mark Of The Assasin, he exceeds it. This book can't miss being a sure-fire smash with all readers who like international espionage thrillers; and it will keep you glued to the edge of your seat. Silva's writing style is so 'grabbing' it will make you feel that you're personally there in the middle of the action. The action is non-stop, the plot is excitng and includes several surprises, and the characters are so fully developed, you'll think you really know them. If you're looking for a book in which you can fully 'get lost', get yourself a copy of The Kill Artist as soon as you can.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    love those Allon books!

    Another great installment in the Gabriel Allon series by Silva. Definitely a suggested read!!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    this really is a bad book. as you can see from all the other reviews it is of poor quality. the only spy manuver Gabriel Allen actually did threw out the book was in the 5 pg when he pretened to use the phone to look for any body following him. the author is way in other his head. the action is terrible the story line is drawn out. charcters are dull, the flash backs are practically useless. the thing is you would expect a published author to know this but this genius seems to be a little slow. he makes so many mistakes in the way he uses charcters point of view its like a mix between omnipresent third person and many other point of views. trust me . i recommend this book for future novel writers like me. this way you will know what not to do. this book was literally a waste of papper. your better off reading one of those 24 declassifed books and those arent even that great.

    5 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    good book.

    nice book.but compared to spy masters like ludlum and forsyth,doesnt come close.but all the same a decent book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    Outstanding

    I just finished my first book by Daniel Silva, The Kill Artist. It was the BEST book I have read in years! I could not put it down and was sorry when it was finished. The female lead (Sarah/Jacqueline/Dominique) reminded me so much of Charlie in Le Carre¿s Little Drummer Girl, in the way she was deceived and led to do things by duplicitous men she loved. I am now starting The Confessor and hope it is even half as good. I plan to get all his books. So thankful there is another writer whose thriller/spy novels I can look forward to getting my hands on (like Ludlum, Forsythe, Follett, etc.).

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    Gripping Novel

    As an avid reader it is easy to predict the ending for many novels however Silva continues to keep you on the edge of your seat and turning pages. Nothing is ever as it seems Gabriel is a genuine character that is caught between something he believes in and trying to get on with his life. Great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Wanted more!

    I have just finished three of Silva's books ending with the Kill Artist. He writes sparingly and well, and the action keeps the reader tied to the book. And for those who have read his other books, there is a not so hidden moment in Kill Artist when a terrorist meets an assassin. You will like it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My 1st Silva novel & definately my last!

    Yawn! Oh, excuse me. I'm trying to get my blood flowing again after reading this snooze-fest of a Anti-terrorist novel. Silva is a bad, cliche-ridden thriller writer who has attempted to write what would be an interesting "24"/Bond-style story if it weren't for the fact all the characters are cardboard cut-outs. I wanted a break from all the Sci-fi/Fantasy I've been reading over the countless years by getting into spy/assassin thrillers & I thought Silva's first Gabriel Allon novel would do the trick. Not so.
    Israelis & Muslems complain they are portrayed as 2-D stereotypes when it comes to thrillers, so I find it surprising when a Jewish thriller writer caters to their complaints. Every character--regardless of their ethnicity, nationality or career--is a stereotype. Every situation is dull, not well thought out & a let-down for action, suspence & excitement--all key elements to a successful novel in the thriller genre. I can't believe Silva is still being published. I'd rather read an incomplete Ludlum manuscript, completed by a ghost writer than another piece of garbage by Silva. The dialogue is trite & can be found in a bad Roger Moore/Timothy Dalton/Pierce Brosnan Bond flick--it is that horrible! I'm sickened by the plot device that Yasir Arafat is a character--& he stops HIS OWN assassination with a political debate. The main character is not the one who stops the assassination plot--in fact, he is shot & taken out of action before anyone does anything to stop the terrorist.
    Do not buy this novel. It does not deserve your money($$$) or time wasted on it. Instead, buy another Ludlum novel or pick up one of Hard Case Crime's pulp fiction novels. It's time better spent.
    Daniel Silva--please stop writing & leave it to someone who knows how.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    If you love espionage, this is right in your alley!

    The author developed the character of Gabriel Allon very good. I loved the scenic descriptions as well as the reference to history/facts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    The Artist

    An excellant read-silva has taken the lead as a suspense/spy thriller writer as far as I am concerned.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2002

    He's Simply the Best

    Daniel Silva burst onto the scene with the Unlikely Spy and has followed it with the Mark of the Assassin and Marching Season. Each of his novels is unique in setting, characters and plot. What remains consistant is his thought, pace and intrigue. He is quite simply the best thriller writer today!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Silva proves he is still a pro...

    Gabriel Allon is ¿the Kill Artist¿; a former assassin who worked clandestinely for the Israeli government. When we first meet him he is living in a remote English seaside village and working as an art restorer, a cover he used frequently during his covert operations. He is soon called out of retirement by his former boss, Ari Shamron, head of Israeli intelligence, and a calculating man with his own agenda...one that may cost Gabriel his life. Ari needs Gabriel¿s talents to track down Tariq, an Palestinian assassin whose killing rampage is threatening the Middle East peace negotiations. Tariq and Gabriel have met before when Gabriel killed Tariq¿s brother in a very brutal manner, and Tariq avenged that death with a killing of his own...Gabriel¿s wife and son, making this a story of international intrigue and personal revenge. The stage is now set for a major showdown, but they must first cover three continents and weave through an array of cultures and characters to find each other. Gabriel is assisted by his former intelligence co-worker, a beautiful French girl named Jacqueline, whose family was killed in the Holocaust. Jacqueline is hesitant to join Gabriel on this assignment, but in the end it is love that prevails, and she plunges head first into Tariq¿s lair, a deadly trap that Gabriel may not be able to get her out of in time to save her life. What I love about Daniel Silva is his smooth and uncomplicated style. He has a 'rhythm' to his writing that hooks you somewhere in the beginning and stays with you long after you finish the book. It took me a little longer to warm up to these characters, probably because there isn¿t a lot happening in the way of relationships as there is in his other book _The Mark Of The Assassin_. Everyone is hiding behind their own specific job and agenda. They¿re all business. Still, the plot is riveting and the pace is solid. 4 and 1/2 stars. Highly recommended. His protagonist doesn¿t quite involve the readers as in his past works but this is definitely worth a buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Dan Silva continually gets stronger as his Gabriel Allon series

    Dan Silva continually gets stronger as his Gabriel Allon series moves along. Perhaps his writing muscles are reaching their peak potential, but I rather think his knowledge of the lead character has brought him to a point where the story propels forward personally. This engages us, as we too get to care for our art restorer-spy, the one whose painful troubled past both threatens and enables him to face his present. A definite must read. Now on to the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Dull

    Predictable and slow. I felt like it would never end, and it's only 333 pages. Save your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!!!

    Daniel Silva has done it again. His fourth book is an engrosssing story of murder and intrigue. I could not put it down. I took this book everywhere with me , in the off chance I'd have a free second to read a few pages. The story flows brilliantly with a surprise twist at the end that I never saw coming. One trait that I like about Silva's novels is the way he sneaks characters from previous novels into the present. For instance, in this book, Douglas Cannon from the Marching Season, makes a cameo. I highly reccommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fast paced thriller.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2014

    Difficult to put down.

    Difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Eira

    She chuckled and wandered out herself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Pedro

    "This place is full of stupidity." He vanishes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Cira

    Cira watched Pedro...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    ¿The Kill Artist¿ paints a nice picture (so to speak).  The stor

    “The Kill Artist” paints a nice picture (so to speak).  The story give the back story of Israeli spy, Gabriel Allon, and then follows his on what is supposed to be his final mission. The story has good plot and character development and some intrigue (even a nice twist at the end) but is very short on thrills and action.  Overall a nice story but if you’re looking for rock’em sock’em action you may want to look elsewhere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14