Customer Reviews for

The Kill Artist (Gabriel Allon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Silva Strikes Gold!

In Daniel Silva's latest thriller, The Kill Artist, he not only continues the suspense created in The Mark Of The Assasin, he exceeds it. This book can't miss being a sure-fire smash with all readers who like international espionage thrillers; and it will keep you glued...
In Daniel Silva's latest thriller, The Kill Artist, he not only continues the suspense created in The Mark Of The Assasin, he exceeds it. This book can't miss being a sure-fire smash with all readers who like international espionage thrillers; and it will keep you glued to the edge of your seat. Silva's writing style is so 'grabbing' it will make you feel that you're personally there in the middle of the action. The action is non-stop, the plot is excitng and includes several surprises, and the characters are so fully developed, you'll think you really know them. If you're looking for a book in which you can fully 'get lost', get yourself a copy of The Kill Artist as soon as you can.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

good book.

nice book.but compared to spy masters like ludlum and forsyth,doesnt come close.but all the same a decent book.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Wanted more!

    I have just finished three of Silva's books ending with the Kill Artist. He writes sparingly and well, and the action keeps the reader tied to the book. And for those who have read his other books, there is a not so hidden moment in Kill Artist when a terrorist meets an assassin. You will like it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    The Artist

    An excellant read-silva has taken the lead as a suspense/spy thriller writer as far as I am concerned.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Silva proves he is still a pro...

    Gabriel Allon is ¿the Kill Artist¿; a former assassin who worked clandestinely for the Israeli government. When we first meet him he is living in a remote English seaside village and working as an art restorer, a cover he used frequently during his covert operations. He is soon called out of retirement by his former boss, Ari Shamron, head of Israeli intelligence, and a calculating man with his own agenda...one that may cost Gabriel his life. Ari needs Gabriel¿s talents to track down Tariq, an Palestinian assassin whose killing rampage is threatening the Middle East peace negotiations. Tariq and Gabriel have met before when Gabriel killed Tariq¿s brother in a very brutal manner, and Tariq avenged that death with a killing of his own...Gabriel¿s wife and son, making this a story of international intrigue and personal revenge. The stage is now set for a major showdown, but they must first cover three continents and weave through an array of cultures and characters to find each other. Gabriel is assisted by his former intelligence co-worker, a beautiful French girl named Jacqueline, whose family was killed in the Holocaust. Jacqueline is hesitant to join Gabriel on this assignment, but in the end it is love that prevails, and she plunges head first into Tariq¿s lair, a deadly trap that Gabriel may not be able to get her out of in time to save her life. What I love about Daniel Silva is his smooth and uncomplicated style. He has a 'rhythm' to his writing that hooks you somewhere in the beginning and stays with you long after you finish the book. It took me a little longer to warm up to these characters, probably because there isn¿t a lot happening in the way of relationships as there is in his other book _The Mark Of The Assassin_. Everyone is hiding behind their own specific job and agenda. They¿re all business. Still, the plot is riveting and the pace is solid. 4 and 1/2 stars. Highly recommended. His protagonist doesn¿t quite involve the readers as in his past works but this is definitely worth a buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Dim

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Loved it!

    Much better than the Jack REacher series, to me anyway. Not as good as Vince FLynn though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Very good reading

    Just finished #4 in the Allon series and am looking forward to completing the series. Silva knows how to keep you interested in the story, preventing you from laying it aside 'til later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Great. Check it out!

    Very fast paced. A killer with a heart. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    One for the books

    Swift, tense, suspenseful. The action keeps coming and coming.
    Difficult to walk away from.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    good book

    This was a good book but hard to get into.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Great read

    I read this while on a seven day cruise. It was a bit slow in the begining. It started to move quicker towards the middle. I can now say, that I may be hooked on this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    A great read!

    Very nicely written; great summer reading. I've read several in the series (I recommend reading them in order), and I've enjoyed all of them even though the essential plot line repeats. Characters are engaging, and the action fast-paced.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    I loved this book. A friend recommended the Allon series to me a

    I loved this book. A friend recommended the Allon series to me and I literally read through all 12 books in about 8 weeks. I was finishing one book every 4 days or so. Clearly this was the book that had to set the stage for my devouring all of the rest of them. You will absolutely enjoy this and all of the rest of them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Good read with several twist in the story. Just when you think you have an idea of what is going on a new twist is presented. Cannot wait to read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Dan Silva is a genius!

    I gobble up each new book that Silva writes. I am totally fascinated by this incredible author and am madly in love with Gabriel Allon. Allon is mysterious and unpredictable and I love that all the books take place in Europe-places I have either lived or been too. No other writer can match Dan Silva's talent and extraordinary intellect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4