Customer Reviews for

Kill bin Laden: A Delta Force Commander's Account of the Hunt for the World's Most Wanted Man

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great war book

    I just finished reading this book. I found it hard to put down once I got started. The pages just seem to flow onto the next and you do not realize how much you have read. The author has taken much time in putting this superbly written book together to tell the story of him and his men. Though they are not in it to have a spot light on them but more so to tell the story of the sacrifices made by these highly trained warriors in the hunt for Bin Laden. There are great pictures as well to go along with the book. Though I was not in Tora Bora with these elite professionals I did serve in Afghanistan and understand what the author means by extremely cold weather there and how the muhj work for the highest bidder. God bless the author and good luck in any future projects.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    ¿Kill Bin Laden¿, is a ¿Unit¿s¿ commander¿s account of the battle of Tora Bora.

    I purchased this book just a few days ago, shortly after watching this story on ¿60 Minutes¿. In less than three days time, I came to realize that I have taken for granted all of which I have, love and wish for. ¿Kill Bin Laden¿, is a ¿Unit¿s¿ commander¿s account of the battle of Tora Bora. Mr. Dalton Fury¿s love and dedication to his men during such a skillful and delicate battle has to be one of the greatest military stories of the current time. Writing such a story took a great risk and may oust him from the Unit¿s small community, but none the less it was a story that needed told. Much of the book honors all of the greatest warriors of our time. Fury¿s selfless approach to this story is unmatched. I was inspired by the services in which his men conducted themselves, how they survived the worst of the worst and for which they stand for. As a prior military service member myself, it brought back many memories of those men I call ¿Brothers¿. I can only imagine the hardships in which these great fighters had to go through. As Fury quotes, ¿Not as cold as Tora Bora¿, ¿Not as hot as Baghdad¿ and ¿Not as bad as Delta selection and assessment¿! I have never experienced any three of these situations, but I am honored to know that there are men like Dalton Fury and his Warriors that have! Thank You.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Finally, The truth!

    Great book. I had heard different stories in the past and never really understood how Bin Laden escaped. No I know - and from someone that was there. Thanks for your service Dalton.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Great insight to the events after 9/11 and the hunt for Bin Laden. Insights you never got from mainstream news.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    ARMORY

    Get prepped to fight!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    This is a very encompassing book detailing the first efforts to

    This is a very encompassing book detailing the first efforts to bring Osama Bin Laden to justice. But as the reader will find out, in those early days of the conflict, George Bush attempted to work with the tribal leaders of Afghanistan and Pakistan in an effort to build a solid foreign policy and provide the elders of the tribes, a place of importance in the eyes of their people and the world.
    Unfortunately, his efforts turned into a political and military debacle that allowed “Enemy #1” of the world, to continue operations of terror and destruction for another twelve years. Is Bush at fault? Perhaps. Was it important for America to gain a presence in this tumultuous area? At the time, yes. In hindsight, it’s easy to assign blame to our leaders, but when it comes down to our troops risking their lives for the country and the worlds benefit, he should have rolled the dice and killed him when the chance first appeared. 
    The brilliance of the this work is how the reader is placed in the mountains of Tora Bora and following Bin Laden’s movements. Mr. Fury does an excellent job in recreating what he and his troops endured as they hunted this monster. Imagine being in the operations room and hearing Bin Laden bid his troops farewell as our Special Forces move in for the kill. You can feel his resignation over the air waves. You will tense up as the troops move in for the final kill, and then feel their pain and let down knowing their prey had escaped through the back door. 
    Well done Mr. Fury

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Great book!!!

    Great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Go DELTA!!!

    Just read it already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    From the inside, on the ground. Wish there was more, but it's classified.

    I'll do my best with my literary criticism here: "Dalton Fury" does an outstanding job in his book of convincing the reader of the difficulty that even the most capable modern force faces in the real world when it comes up against bought and paid for "Allies" and stateside handlers. That's before the shooting even starts. Refreshingly, he does this without fixating on the toys, blood and guts that most readers need to get sucked in. His work is truly the voice of a man who lives to get the results.

    I'm also going to add my counterpoint to some of the reviews posted for this title. Referring to "a very easy and illuminating read about how the "gloves came off" after the 9-11 tragedy, but incompetence, inertia and foot dragging allowed bin Laden to slink away. Although not getting Osama was a major US failure,..", I have to say that none of the impediments Mr. Fury described placed between SF and their mission seemed very accidental or random in the author's voice. From theater command clearing the Marines in Afghanistan out of Bin Laden's sole egress route through the Hindu Kush into Pakistan (this before Delta got involved (that we know of!)) to rationalizations from D.C. explaining that we must not endanger civilians by bombing, mining, or parachuting into the sparsely populated wastelands defining the border at thousands of feet of altitude-susbequent and prior to a campaign that makes heavy use of remotely targeted munitions into populated civilian zones with network news crews rolling-... Well I'll just say that I got the impression that the man said about as much as he legally could as clearly as he could, then walked off into the sunset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Kill Bin Laden

    Great read by Dalton Fury and the frustrations created by and bungling by higher ups in government in the search for Osama Bin Laden

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2