BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Kill Clause

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding thriller

Some authors are so expert that you find yourself becoming the protagonist, facing all of the problems faced by that character. Hurwitz is that good. But, the protagonist in this book faces such deep dispair, such overwhelming problems, that it is difficult some times...
Some authors are so expert that you find yourself becoming the protagonist, facing all of the problems faced by that character. Hurwitz is that good. But, the protagonist in this book faces such deep dispair, such overwhelming problems, that it is difficult some times to pick up the book and continue reading. When you work up the courage to do so it is well worth it.

I'm sure I will read every book Gregg Hurwitz has written or will write.

posted by 2865660 on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slow going in parts

I thought this was well written, and I enjoyed the ending, however, there were just too many dead spots for me. I can appreciate the emotion that the author was trying to portray, I just thought it was a bit much considering the books genre.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Outstanding thriller

    Some authors are so expert that you find yourself becoming the protagonist, facing all of the problems faced by that character. Hurwitz is that good. But, the protagonist in this book faces such deep dispair, such overwhelming problems, that it is difficult some times to pick up the book and continue reading. When you work up the courage to do so it is well worth it.

    I'm sure I will read every book Gregg Hurwitz has written or will write.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Thumbs Up

    One of the best books I have read in years. I couldn't put it down. I anxiously await Gregg Hurwitz's next books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    Unique, no-let-up plot

    Intense plot and emotions of grief. Unique situations. No dull spots. A good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting vigilante thriller

    Upon learning of the rape and dismemberment of his beloved daughter Virginia, US Marshal Tim Rackley went ice cold as if his heart was sucked out of him. He knows nothing will ever be the same. His wife Dray is in shock, but Tim no longer feels except frustration and anger and offers her nothing and doesn¿t seeks her comfort to ease his ire. Realizing the man he believes is the culprit will walk only brings more rage. <P>The Commission, an encounter group that shares Tim¿s outrage that the system enables killers to walk, recruits the former cop. They do not care about his adjustment to life without Ginny. Instead he becomes one of their hitmen providing vigilante justice to those animals who escaped. However, as the haze clears and he realizes some of his peers are loose cannons like the crazed Mastersons, Tim invokes THE KILL CLAUSE that eliminates his involvement, but first he must take care of rampaging Commission killers hurting anyone in their path. <P>This is an exciting vigilante thriller that blends a delightful look at Tim the executioner on the job within a comic book Hollywood feel (Bronson¿s Death Wish). Readers will understand Tim¿s reactions and subsequent actions to Ginny¿s horrific murder as he and the Mastersons insure gore and blood flows freely through the veins of the plot. Though not for everyone, Greg Hurwitz purveys an action packed thriller starring a hero seeking justice in all the wrong places. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Talon

    "All good things end even love. Love perishes as does good......evil never dies nor does hate"
    <p>
    Wisdom time biotch xD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reading backwards on Gregg Hurwitz novels, I did like this one,

    Reading backwards on Gregg Hurwitz novels, I did like this one, but it is my least favorite of the bunch so far.
    Did he get better as he moved along? I think he did. But, clearly he started from a pretty good place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Slow going in parts

    I thought this was well written, and I enjoyed the ending, however, there were just too many dead spots for me. I can appreciate the emotion that the author was trying to portray, I just thought it was a bit much considering the books genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Hurwitz has done it again!

    This is easily the best of the Gregg Hurwitz books. While The Tower, also a favorite is a wonderful first book, it was a bit dark and gory. The Kill Clause has a hero who we can enjoy, actually like, as he goes though recovery from the death of his daughter and resultant separation from his wife. Obviously a lot of research went into this project and the plot line is exciting and complicated. Others have shared the plot line, I'll just say it was GREAT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    They keep getting better!

    This is Hurwitz's best book yet. After making it through the first, harrowing pages, I could not put this book down. The action is non-stop, yet it is offset by a very interesting character study of a father, and how he copes with loss, grief, revenge and justice. I read this book in two sittings.....and that was only because I had to go to work. A fantastic read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Trash

    Vulgar, obscene trash!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2