Customer Reviews for

Kill Me

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    Thought-provoking thriller is the real deal

    Stephen White never disappoints me with his stories-- they are always well-written, intelligent studies on various psychological issues that are relevant to most people, couched in a thriller motif. With Kill Me, however, Mr. White has really raised the bar for the genre as a whole. From having an anonymous main character --something that would be merely an annoying plot contrivance by lesser authors-- to the completely engrossing story that continually made me think and feel --difficult to sustain in most thrillers-- White has written a surprisingly beautiful story not to be missed. This is one of those rare stories that will actually stay with me for a long time, and I'm so very grateful to the author for offering the gift of such a lyrical, thoughtful work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    LOVED IT!!

    This was a fascinating read with suspense, action and insight.
    It is a must read! Wish there were more books like this-I couldn't put it down til I finished it. Looking forward to more intense reading from Stephen White

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this a while ago but just re-read it and thought I would share my opinion. It is honestly one of the 10 best modern thrillers ever written. White is a great writer who has done it yet again. This is his best book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Book title and author: kill me by Stephen White Title of review: Number of stars (1 to 5):5

    This book is about a man who makes a wish and he can't take it back. He wishes that he was dead and in the book he is trying to find a loop hole. He goes to therapy twice a week. He doesn't know what to say to the therapist when he goes because he wants to tell him what he wished for but he doesn't want his therapist to think that he is crazy. The question for you is what if you could pick the time and date for you to die but when the time comes you can't change it?



    One of his friends died when they where skiing down a hill about to get on a plane to go home, later in the book he thinks he's dead but he isn't for sure, later after that no one really likes him anymore only like two or three people because they think that he's crazy.


    My opinion about the book is that it's an amazing book. It talk's about losing friend's, adventure, basically it's mostly drama. I mean the book was very interesting like I no when some people get mad who are my age there always like why can't I just die now and I think if they just read this book and relies hey I'm glad I'm not this guy I take it back I'm glad that I'm alive and I can't my own date and time to die. This book is really inspiring to kid's my age. And it really help's because this book can help out with some of the problems that you have in life.


    Just because the book is called kill me doesn't mean that it's talking about people killing each other it's really a heart warming book. After so long he stop's seeing his therapist and start's to get out a little more. Kid's twelve and under should read this book because of the bad language.


    I think everyone should read the book called kill me I mean besides song of the word's the say it's a great book.


    Anaysia Lee

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    never put it down

    really great story - kept me up all night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Too well written

    It is hard to find great writing. It is hard to develop a great theme. When you find the two that should provide a socko work. Mr. White can write very well. His storyline was unique with a surprise ending. Yet, this book was a labor to finish. The hero, a wealthy businessman, contracts with a clandestine company to kill him if his health deteriorates below a selected level. After passing the company's intensive investigation in which he meets the heroine, he is accepted. The one problem is that the commitment is irreversible. No backing out. Well, you can guess what happens. His situation is clouded by the discovery of a son he didn't know he had, a rediscovery of the desire to be with family, etc., etc. All of this is presented in detail, and detail, and detail. That, in the end, was the problem. Several times I thought to put the book down as its attention to facts, its presentation of intricate exchanges between the characters, its psychological analysis, its long path to an end 'well explained' just seemed to make reading it a struggle. While it gained speed as the conclusion approaced I was happy to finally finish. This was less a tale or story than a painting of a picture through excruciating detail. Little was left to the imagination. A little less writing would have improved the work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Amazing Novel

    This book was quite possibly one of the best I've read in a long time, though I have to disagree with previous statements about the book starting off intense and staying that way. Granted, it did start off intense, but then cooled down a bit. The novel was very Quitin Tarentino esque, in the fact it starts later in the story and goes back to the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    On a score of 1-10 - I say 11

    Great read by Stephen White. I love all other Alan Gregory books,but, this is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    It's to DIE for!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read and best book that Mr. White has ever written. So different than his other books in the same series. I felt it was superb even though it veered away from Alan Gregory as the main character. I've recommended it over and over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Loved It!

    What a great concept this book was. I was very excited to read this when I picked it up in the bookstore about a month ago. It didn't disppoint me either! I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    The Concept Beyond Thinkable

    This book is by far, one of the best Mr.White has ever written. It's a page flipper that takes you into a concept beyond thinkable. It revokes our heavy thoughts who should be the one to judge when our lives worth living or not what determines that line between life and death, God or ourselves? The book is well written. It's heavy, thrilling,and deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Not up to par

    I love Mr. White as an author and have read all his books. This one was too repititious, but I still love the way he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    NARRATOR AT THE TOP OF HIS FORM

    He's back again - the man AudioFile has dubbed a Golden Voice and rightly so because Dick Hill's performances never fail to compel, immediately engaging listeners. Hill has said that when there's a change of scene, such as from day to night, 'he makes a subtle shift with his voice to reflect those environmental changes.' This narrator is at his best when there's suspense afoot as with 'Kill Me.' The question asked in this thought provoking novel by Stephen White is what if you could choose the time you will die? For instance, if you were in extreme pain or permanently disabled and you could determine your time of death, would you do it even if your choice is irrevocable? The protagonist in Stephen White's novel is in that position. It took a friend's terminal illness and his own brush with the grim reaper for the man to discover those who will kill you upon command - the Death Angels. However, once you have paid for this final service there's no turning back, and positively no addendums to the agreement. 'Kill Me' is the best to date in White's well received Dr. Alan Gregory series. Listen as a man fights to break the unbreakable - a pact with the Death Angels. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    White Is A Mastermind

    As a psychology student, I have been a fan of Mr. White for some time. 'Kill Me' only furthers my claim that he is one of the best writers today. The novel starts out very fast and doesn't relent until the very end. In classic White fashion the book deals with very sensitive subjects, but they are handled very well. My only gripe is that the ending was a bit predictable but it doesn't hinder what essentially is a fantastic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    thought provoking thriller

    He is a patient of clinical psychologist Dr. Alan Gregory, happily married with a young daughter when he had a near death experience while skiing. He is fortunate to survive as his reflexes kept him alive, but as he explains to his shrink, he ponders an exit strategy struggling to decide the bankruptcy point in which death is superior to life. He signs a contract with the mysterious Death Angel Inc. in which he pays them in consideration for them to kill him when his lifestyle reaches the agreed-upon point of no return. --- When his health deteriorates, he soon learns about the hidden clauses in his contract starting with an incident caused by Death Angel agents that occurs while he drives with a passenger on I-70 in Colorado. His reflexes save their lives, but other drivers are hurt perhaps dead as nothing prohibits collateral damage. --- This thought provoking thriller will leave readers wondering at what point is life not worth living just like the nameless patient did and eventually acted upon to his regret. The fast-paced action story line never slows down yet propels the audience, even the err on the side of life crowd, to consider an exit strategy. Interestingly in what is probably his best work to date, Stephen White¿s hero, Dr. Gregory serves as a support player to the anonymous star of the deep KILL ME. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2