Customer Reviews for

Kill Me If You Can

Average Rating 4
( 496 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Riveting

You can't go wrong with a Patterson thriller. I have read all of his books, and as always there are twists and turns. I particularly like that his chapters are short- it makes me want to read more. Perfect for Patterson fans!

posted by thecollector0 on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Can't Recommend Yo Purchase it!

I will not buy an e-book version of a novel when it is less expensive to buy the hardcover. When i'm done with the hardcover I can recoop some of my expense by selling it! Then there is even less reason to pay more for an e-book version. Barnes and Noble and you Mr. Pat...
I will not buy an e-book version of a novel when it is less expensive to buy the hardcover. When i'm done with the hardcover I can recoop some of my expense by selling it! Then there is even less reason to pay more for an e-book version. Barnes and Noble and you Mr. Patterson need to understand the consumer market better!!!!

posted by DissapointedGT on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 497 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting

    You can't go wrong with a Patterson thriller. I have read all of his books, and as always there are twists and turns. I particularly like that his chapters are short- it makes me want to read more. Perfect for Patterson fans!

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Exciting high intrigue and fast paced.
    Couldn't put it down. One of James Patterson's best.
    You won't be disappointed.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    If you crave thrills and chills, this is for you!

    An innocent, young art student, Matthew Bannon, finds a bag of diamonds after an attack in Grand Central Station in NYC. Not knowing what else to do with them he decided to hang on to them. The Russian Mob had other ideas about those diamonds. This book is packed with suspense. A worthwhile purchase if you love thrills and chills! Madison Pridgen, A member of Between the Lines book club

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Definitely see a future for the characters in this book-Highly Recommend Everyone read this!

    At first I thought this book was going all to well for the main character, no real death or chase. But there is a twist in this book that i have to say is one of Patterson's (and Marshall Karp's) best. I tried to pace myself to stretch this book out over a few days, but couldn't do it. Finished it in one night and can't wait for the next alex cross book in november.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A deadly duo

    Reviews Of Unusual Size!

    Re: Matt Bannon just found a far better way to make money than his fledgling art career - a black bag full of diamonds. That is, if he can find some way to unload them, avoid the international conglomerate and hired killers after him and manage to keep his beautiful girlfriend happy.

    Outstanding: Frantic, globe trotting fun. Like most Patterson novels, full of action and a quick read and like Karp's novels, stuffed with humor and unique characters. Jett the dog has a cameo!

    Unacceptable: Though this was a normally sized novel, it felt incredibly short. I read it in a few hours. I'm not sure why every woman in Patterson's novels are six feet tall and beautiful... or nuns...

    Summary: I was really looking forward to this book, being a fan of both authors, the first time with one of Patterson's co-authored books, it was interesting to try and guess what parts came from which twisted mind. The story was enjoyable with a speedy pace, some great action scenes and more humor than the typical Patterson. (Thanks for that, Marshall!) Recommended!

    5/5

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Grow up!

    So i don't know about you, but i think there are more posts from people complaining about people complaining about the price than there are posts from people complaining about the price. Im more ticked off by the people trying to tell me what i should write, you check this page to see what people think about the book and they don't think it's worth it so get over yourselves

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    It's not even him

    I don't understand how you people could heap praise on a guy that has so sold himself out for money that he can't even be bothered to write his own books anymore. It seems there is a new Patterson book in the store each week with a different collaborator. He is nothing more than a literary whore at this point and I'd rather give my money to Stephanie Myer than to this moneygrubber. Myer's books may suck but at least she wrote them

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't go wrong with Patterson

    Matthew Bannon is a poor art student living in New York. He has found the love of his life in Katherine Sanborne, a professor of Fine Arts at Parson's. He was originally from Hotchkiss, Colorado, his father wanted him to follow family tradition and join the Marines, his mother hoped he would be more artistic like her. So he compromised, four years n the Marines with tours to Iraq and Afghanistan, then he moved to New York to study art.

    It way just an ordinary day in New York when Grand Central Station was suddenly filled with gunshots and two huge explosions. Everyone thought it was a terrorist attack and people poured out of the building as fast as they could before they were caught up in another attack like 9/11. As Matthew was running out of the terminal he saw a man lying on the floor in front of an open locker. By the time he reached the man he was dead, but Matthew took what was in the locker. A bag, a bag filled with diamonds. Matthew took it and ran. He thought he life was really going to change. After selling these diamonds he'd be a very rich man.

    That's was all before he thought things through, someone would be missing those diamonds. That's when he realized he was being hunted. An assassin called The Ghost was chasing him down. The diamonds belonged to an international syndicate, and when The Ghost wasn't finding him fast enough they added another assassin. This new assassin had two targets in their sights, Matthew and The Ghost. It would be a great pleasure to make The Ghost disappear forever.


    You can't go wrong with a Patterson thriller. As always there are twists and turns, chills and spills, secrets revealed and enough action to keep those pages turning. Patterson's trademark of short chapters are a key to this, it makes the book hard to put down. The twist in this story was truly unexpected, something Patterson and his co-writers are experts at incorporating into their stories.

    Katherine is a very relate-able character. She falls in love with a poor art student and all that changes overnight as she is caught up in the journey to save their lives only she doesn't even know it until it's almost too late.

    Perfect for Patterson fans and a really good stand alone if you have never read a Patterson suspense thriller.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Little Brown & Company, Hachette Book Group in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated are entirely my own. I am stating this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR part 255. "Guides Concerning Use of Endorsement and Testimonials in Advertising"

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Simply put . . . it was bad.

    I have learned over the years to suspend belief when it comes to reading James Patterson's books. This book was just too much. Absurdity after absurdity with tons of "convenient" events to keep the plot moving. Sure, if you don't worry about that kind of stuff then this is the book for you. For me, this one was just too over the top.

    Just a fair warning, this book has incest. Not only does it have incest, but extremely descriptive incest. I don't offend easily, but this was just too much. I wish I would have just stopped the book when the incest first appeared. I was hoping it was a one-time incident but I was wrong.

    Overall, this book was just far too unbelievable for me. I wish James Patterson would just stick to writing books on his own like he used to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Pretty good

    Love a good patterson read... although this isnt one of my favorites, it was still a page-turner. Love the main character's relationships with his girlfriend and his marine buddies. Was not thrilled about the whole creepy father/daughter thing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I was unwilling to finish the book after realizing one of the ma

    I was unwilling to finish the book after realizing one of the main plot points is a graphic sexual relationship between a father and daughter. Horrible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    This book started out like gangbusters and I couldn't put it dow

    This book started out like gangbusters and I couldn't put it down....until the incest. You really didn't need to include garbage like that in what was an excellent book. I stopped reading even though James Patterson has always been one of my favorite authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Truly disappointed

    I am truly sorry I purchased, Kill Me, If You Can. If I could, I would return it. I have been a James Patterson fan for years and have read most of his books to date, always looking forward to the next one to come out. I am on page 79 of 305 and have already given it up as REALLY BAD. I don't appreciate the incestuous relationship being described in such detail as well as it even being in your book. I find this beneath you. Please reconsider your values, Mr. Patterson. You have written so many good books, why do you feel that you have to stoop to this filth? I would give it less than one star if I could.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stopped reading it! Discusting!!!

    Sex with your own daughter!!!!! Are there any boundaries that won't be crossed???? Very disappointed!! Always loved James patterson's books but this has changed my opinion of him and spending money on his books.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    So worth it

    The book was better than i thought it would be im a big patterson fan and this was fantastic

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Highly recommended

    What a great book. Could not put it down....read it in less than 2 days. It's one of the best books I read. Definitely a page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Horrible storyline. Not worthy of you james. What would your mother think of all that incest

    Incest ruined the entire storyline. Book is full of trash.
    Not really a patterson novel at all. Dialogue poor.
    Diamonds okay. Two killers one too many. Liked the humor. Characters too slick. Twists too unbelievable.
    Little omf pattterson in this book. Shallow and cheap.
    Rgd in abilene.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I haven't read this book and I WON'T! I used to be a huge Patte

    I haven't read this book and I WON'T! I used to be a huge Patterson fan - reading everything I could get my hands on, BUT in the last 5 years or so, he has written what I consider nothing but TRASH!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Nice

    Its alright love the suspence

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    An amateur artist in trouble with a Russian mob finds himself

    An amateur artist in trouble with a Russian mob finds himself in grave danger and all because he found a bag of diamonds in Grand Central Station. How will he make it out alive? You have to read to find outMichael Bannon is an amateur artist living in New York. He finds himself very lucky one day in Grand Central Station. He found a bag full of diamonds worth millions of dollars in locker #925. He is not so lucky now. He finds himself in trouble with the Russian Mob. He is being hunted by several people. Michael is running for his life while falling in love with his college professor. The ending will surprise you. Will he live or die?James Patterson has outdone himself again. He had me captured with the first sentence. James never seizes to keep me fascinated and interested with his choice of words and contemporary writing themes. He is my favorite author and in my opinion, the best author of our time. “Kill Me If You Can,” is an amazing book with a great plot and has all the elements of a good book.This is an amazing book and definitely one of my favorites. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thrilling and suspenseful books. The ending will surprise you. This book is one book that I did not get bored with after the first page. It is a great read and everyone should read it at least once. You will be addicted to James Patterson’s books forever. There is no turning back. Now sit back and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 497 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25