Customer Reviews for

Kill Shot (Mitch Rapp Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 600 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(153)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

266 out of 270 people found this review helpful.

A note from Vince Flynn

Dear Rapp Fans,

As some of you may or may not know, I was diagnosed with stage III metastatic prostate cancer in November of 2010. My treatments have gone well and the cancer has for the most part remained in my prostate and the right ischium at the base of my pelvi...
Dear Rapp Fans,

As some of you may or may not know, I was diagnosed with stage III metastatic prostate cancer in November of 2010. My treatments have gone well and the cancer has for the most part remained in my prostate and the right ischium at the base of my pelvis. Kill Shot was on schedule, and as is my habit, I was planning to lock myself away at my cabin for June and July so I could finish the book. Unfortunately, the cancer did not cooperate. In early June the tumor on my prostate spread and got a hold of a nerve bundle. At the same time the cancer on the ischium began to eat away at the bone, which caused some muscles and tendons that run down the back of my leg to snap off. The pain that this caused made it nearly impossible to sit still and concentrate, which is a fairly important part of writing a book.

My doctors and I had been discussing radiation since the very beginning, and we made the decision to begin treatment in late July. By the end of August the pain was beginning to subside. During this time I was holding out hope that I could refocus on Kill Shot and still get the book out in time for Christmas. I made it through the first half of my forty treatments with very few side effects, and then around September 1, fatigue began to set in. Once again I found it extremely difficult to focus on the book for more than an hour or two. I have never missed a pub date and it pains me to come up short on this one. I desperately wanted to keep my commitment to my publisher, the trade, and most important, you. Even though my condition has continued to improve, my doctors have told me I will not be back to full strength until the first of November. After that, they say I will feel better than I've felt in two years.

Rather than hand in a substandard Rapp novel, my agent Sloan Harris, my editor Emily Bestler, and I decided that we would move the pub date of Kill Shot to February 7, 2012. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you, and I promise that I will do my best to make sure the extra few months are worth the wait. Thank you for your patience, prayers, and goodwill.

Keep the faith!

Vince Flynn

posted by Sinay on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Killl shot

Can not open

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 599 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    A note from Vince Flynn

    Dear Rapp Fans,

    As some of you may or may not know, I was diagnosed with stage III metastatic prostate cancer in November of 2010. My treatments have gone well and the cancer has for the most part remained in my prostate and the right ischium at the base of my pelvis. Kill Shot was on schedule, and as is my habit, I was planning to lock myself away at my cabin for June and July so I could finish the book. Unfortunately, the cancer did not cooperate. In early June the tumor on my prostate spread and got a hold of a nerve bundle. At the same time the cancer on the ischium began to eat away at the bone, which caused some muscles and tendons that run down the back of my leg to snap off. The pain that this caused made it nearly impossible to sit still and concentrate, which is a fairly important part of writing a book.

    My doctors and I had been discussing radiation since the very beginning, and we made the decision to begin treatment in late July. By the end of August the pain was beginning to subside. During this time I was holding out hope that I could refocus on Kill Shot and still get the book out in time for Christmas. I made it through the first half of my forty treatments with very few side effects, and then around September 1, fatigue began to set in. Once again I found it extremely difficult to focus on the book for more than an hour or two. I have never missed a pub date and it pains me to come up short on this one. I desperately wanted to keep my commitment to my publisher, the trade, and most important, you. Even though my condition has continued to improve, my doctors have told me I will not be back to full strength until the first of November. After that, they say I will feel better than I've felt in two years.

    Rather than hand in a substandard Rapp novel, my agent Sloan Harris, my editor Emily Bestler, and I decided that we would move the pub date of Kill Shot to February 7, 2012. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you, and I promise that I will do my best to make sure the extra few months are worth the wait. Thank you for your patience, prayers, and goodwill.

    Keep the faith!

    Vince Flynn

    266 out of 270 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    New Book

    Did anyone else preordered this book and are you having trouble with the preorder line in the way of the book and not being able to read it today since it came out today?

    148 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Prayers are with you Mr. Flynn

    Wishing you the very best. GOD BLESS YOU?

    34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Vince Flynn Ill

    The reason this is taking so long to get out to his readers is that Vince Flynn was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer last year. He has been unable to write this book as soon as he wanted. Be patient.

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Patience and Prayers

    We are all awaiting the next adventure of Mitch Rapp. Thank you, Anonymous, for sharing the fact that Vince Flynn has cancer. I heard about this the other day and was greatly saddened ~ he is so young. But I also heard that he is doing much better and pray for his complete recovery! February will be here before we know it!

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Godspeed Mr. Flynn

    I discovered Vince Flynn and the Rapp series when i was serving in Iraq. A Flynn paperback was a standard stowaway anywhere i traveled. Rapp stories helped me pass some nerve-racking lulls away. Your fans are behind you Vince -we'll wait as long as you need. Speedy recovery boss - chin up. USAF!

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Pre Ordered

    BN took money out of my account but I can not open the new book on any of my devices. They have also not responded to my email about the situation. I am sure that I will give the book a real 5 star rating if I could only read it. Get well soon Vince. Am looking forward to many more books from you.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Killl shot

    Can not open

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    E-Book SUCKS.

    it would be nice to read, but it won't upload to my Nook Tablet. This turns me off !! I Prepaid for this book 21 Jan. Where is it?

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Prayers and Praises...

    Dear Vince - Sorry to hear about your illness, but thank you for the update. I have enjoyed following the adventures of Mitch Rapp. Prayers and praises for your full recovery.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Why won't it open?

    I hate preordering from the Snook. It won't open when promised, but they sure want their money on time. Is the Kindle this bad? Mac

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I was counting the days to get the book but a couple of more months won't hurt. Thank you so much Flynn for taking your time to let your fans know how is going with you and the book. Love your Mitch Rapp series and I can't wait to read #12 "Kill Shot". Hope you have a speed up recovery.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Praying for you.... keep your head up.... even through all the stuff you are going through, thank you for keeping us updated...

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Another Hit by Flynn!!

    Terrific read!! I inhale these Rapp novels and end up going back and reading them over and over as I wait for the next one. Even with his cancer battle going on Flynn has still managed to put out another very well written Rapp episode. I love meeting up with the already known characters from the sequels in the now written prequels. I got better intel on the relationship between Mitch and Stan Hurley in this installment so can relate to their mutual respect and consideration of each other.
    I have read each and every one of the twelve(12) Rapp novels and will continue to do so. You keep writing them Mr Flynn and I will continue to read and recommend them to everyone. They are a big hit with my buddy veterans at my local VA Medical Center.
    Vetlass in Louisville, KY

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    jaxnidaho

    Take all the time you need and get well. We'll all wait. We'll just have to read your lousy competitors and it'll increase our anticipatory delight! Funny how you can get attached to an author, isn't it? There's a lot of people in your cheering section.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    why can't I open this book......

    F

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Get well - your fans can wait

    Dear Mr. Flynn,

    My family and I are wishing you a speedy recovery, I believe I know what both you and family are going through over the past year.

    Last April 2011, I lost my older brother Michael after cancer took him.

    It's times like this when families and friends are brought together to share in our bond of love for the sick and injuried.

    I can only hope that during this holiday season your friends and family can bring you their love and remove some of the pain you are currently going through.

    I wish both you and your family and happy and merry holiday season.

    Sincerely,

    Rick Tallent
    Fort Lauderdale, FL.
    Semper fi

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Highlight of 2012 - read Vince Flynn's latest book, KILL SHOT.

    Dear Vince Flynn:
    My family, my neighbor and I are all praying for your complete and pain free recovery from this awful illness. We have read each of your books and were able to hear you talk at a luncheon sponsored by Northern Trust in Newport Beach, CA. You demonstrated knowledge of your subject, a great sense of humor and refreshing skill at public speaking. You signed our 4 copies of "Extreme Measures" and were personally charming. I am so glad that you are determined to complete "Kill Shot." I've been missing my 2011 annual pleasure in reading your latest novel. I look forward to reading it in 2012. At this time in history we need Mitch Rapp more than ever.
    With all best wishes to you and your family, Your devoted reader in Orange County, CA

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Short story, not a novel

    Very disapointed; entirely too short. To add insult to injury, the last 100+ pages are samples from Flynn's prior Rapp series. Not even a hint of new material!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Some disappointments

    Having read all the Mitch Rapp books at least twice (or more) I anxiously waited for this one. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. The interactions between the hero and the others was described on a very superficial basis. The action descriptions, other than multiple shootings, were superficial and week. The denoument was illogical.

    I hope Mr Flynn has a good recovery and, with his next book, I can go back to 4 or 5 star ratings.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 599 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30