Customer Reviews for

Kill Switch

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    A must read book!

    want to open a great book? open this one but be ready to be pushed to the edge. One of the best books I have read all year!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you want a fast read - this is the book!!!

    I love mystery books that keep you guessing and throw many different characters into the story. The main character is forensic psychiatrist Claire Waters who you really feel for she has many demons that she is facing included a real one called Quimby. Running from her past when her childhood friend Amy was kidnapped while playing in the driveway together right in front of her she has to face the guilt she is feeling while helping a mentally ill patient get over his demons from his childhood. When released from Rikers's Island Quimby goes on his own killing spree or does he?? This is not your typical mystery things aren't what they seem. There is alot of characters and stories in this one book it will keep you interested and you will fly thru the pages wanted to get to the conclusion. Highly recommend this book . Look forward to any future books this author will have. !!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    BORED ME TO SLEEP !!!!

    This book cured my insomnia...... I suppose it would work for a rainy day read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    I would like to see more of Claire Waters in the future.

    Reviewed by Lynn F. for Readers Favorite "Kill Switch" by Neal Baer and Jonathan Greene is one of those thrillers that keep you guessing right to the end. Written by former producers of Law & Order SVU, the book shows that they have managed to bring that about in their first novel. Claire Waters is a forensic psychiatrist who helps get Todd Quimby out of Rikers Island and on parole. As she dives into his mind she figures that with medication he can lead a normal life. Not long after he is out, a series of murders start happening and the women all resemble Claire. Knowing that Quimby is the killer, she starts to work with Detective Nick Lawler. Trying to keep her safe has been a job in itself and when Claire’s boyfriend is killed this sends Claire over the end. Still remembering her past and not being able to save her best friend from a kidnapper and uncertain death, now she has caused the death of her boyfriend. Finally she catches up with Quimby as his car goes in the river, but something strange shows up in the autopsy. Could he have had a partner? Is he the killer or was it someone else? When I started reading this book I found it very hard to put down. It is a very captivating thriller and, being a fan of SVU, I could see this played out in my mind as I read on. The plot has many twists and turns and has a surprise ending. It won’t do any good to go to the back of the book as you won’t find out anything. With the emphasis placed so much on Quimby, I couldn’t quite place my finger on it being him or if he was being set up. I like the characters of Claire and Nick but did not like to see them trying to work through former problems. The only problem I found with Claire was her penchant for getting into trouble. She did things that could have put her own life and that of others at risk and led me to believe she should have got a job working undercover instead of forensics. If you like Law and Order SVU, then I feel you will enjoy this book. I would like to see more of Claire Waters in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Excellent mystery!

    Claire Waters is a forensic psychiatrist. Todd Quimby is a dysfunctional screw up. Nick Lawler is a good detective going blind. Throw them together and you get a twisty turny mystery that needs to be solved.

    This book is authored by two guys associated with Law & Order: SVU. I’ve never watched that particular show, but I do love Law & Order: CI and shows like CSI, Bones, Cold Case, Without a Trace, Monk, NCIS, etc. etc. So though I usually would watch something like this story on television I do like to read a good mystery every now and again.

    This was a great story. The characters were believable, the plot twisty, the writing smooth. It started off a bit slow with some background info interspersed with the mystery, but I like info, so it didn’t bother me. Then when I thought the case was put to rest yet had half a book left to read I was wondering where this story was going. The case didn’t seem to fit together very well, as if we were missing something. Something important. The middle lagged a bit, but picked right back up when the trail got hot again.

    I have to say the ending surprised me. I love not figuring out how a story is going to end. It drives me crazy…in a good way. I’d read more stories by Baer and Greene and hope they collaborate again.

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Clear Waters

    Dr. Claire Waters, a crackpot psychiatrist, able to diagnose her patients needs with a clarity undefined. Her all encompassing interest is the study of the brain as it relates to the criminal mind lead her to the renowned Dr. Paul Curtain. Claire is confident that Dr. Curtain’s exclusive fellowship program will provide her with the opportunity she believes will be her final step in the completion of her research in the field of forensic psychiatry. Dr. Curtain’s research revolves around the study of mentally ill minds contained in criminals incarcerated within the walls of the Rikers Island criminal facility. Having worked the last three years in the laboratory slicing into the brain matter of mentally ill minds, Claire’s need to be face to face with patients once again draws her in a way she cannot deny. This she finds true however, until she meets the criminal who is to be her first patient, Todd Quimby. Quimby who at all turns seems to see straight through Claire with clarity of his own, which touches too close to the life altering secret Claire keeps threatening her judgment. A call in the middle of the night puts Claire to the test, as she must come to terms with the result her professional diagnosis. Evidence leads her to believe she may have misinterpreted the signs and she is determined to prove herself wrong. A forced alliance with Detective Nick Lawler, who is harboring his own secret, is the only means with which Claire can ensure the answers she seeks in both the present and the past. Claire and Nick too soon find themselves caught up in a scheme so far removed from anything a criminal mind can conceive, which puts them in danger at every turn. Kill Switch is the debut, fast-paced page-turner from the co-producers of the hit television program Law and Order SUV. A must read, and hopeful continuation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great new thriller!

    Claire Waters is still working through her childhood trauma. When she was only 8, her best friend was grabbed out of her driveway while they were playing. She can’t forget those life changing minutes and is haunted by her friend’s last moments of life. She is now a forensic psychiatrist and hopes to help understand the criminal min. She is sent in to assess Todd Quimby before his release from prison so see if he is ready for release and to be his counselor in the outside world. Is Quimby just misunderstood and suffering from a childhood trauma, or is he a serial killer who is now focused on his pretty new doctor? Det. Nick Lawler is finally cleared of any charges in his wife’s death, and just in time since his first case is almost identical to the last murder he was investing a year ago. Same m.o., same pretty blonde. Is this random or a serial killer? If so, where has this killer been for the last year? This was a very interesting thriller. Really held your interest in the story. There are a lot of things going on in this story and a lot of it involves past traumas suffered by the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Good read

    Very enjoyable story. Kept me interested throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Jaw dropping, suspenseful and not stop excellent read!

    All I can say is WOW! It was a great read from start to finish. I love Law & Order SVU and when I heard this book was like the show I had to read it. It was amazing how the 2 stories become 1 different thrilling story. Can't wait to read the next novel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Great first novel

    I was pleasantly surprised by this first novel. Kept me guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Takes a while but it is a great read at the end

    This is a three/three and a half star book until about page 200, then it takes off and is a five all the way, in fact it was so good from that point on, I forgot that it started slow and in my opinion a little disjointed. But once I hit around page 200 I could nbot stop reading and did not stop. Likely 100 pages left isn't much to get through but it was amazing, quite a roller coaster. To me, these Law and Order writers did not recreate the show in their writing, in fact other than the fact that it utilized a law enforcement and psychiatrist backdrop, it was not like the show. That is not a good thing and not a bad thing, it is a stand alone read, that could easily be made into a series, there are some things I would like to see Claire waters do.
    flag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    This is a must read for readers who love mysteries and fast moving action.

    Baer and Greene take us on a beautifully crafted and skillfully developed story that twists and turns from beginning to end. The character development and stories within stories make Kill Switch a marvelous mystery thriller. This one is a great page turner. I excitedly await their next book!

    Marc Levitt, Ph.D.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    A Real Page-Turner!

    To say Kill Switch is a page-turner is an understatement. At several points, I had to put the book down and walk away because my adrenaline was pumping rigorously! Having been a fan of Law and Order for years, I was very much aware of the action-packed pages. At points, I was actually breathless as I read. Family members in the room would talk to me, and I heard nothing! I was totally engrossed in the book.

    To the authors of Kill Switch, I say WELL DONE! I would read another one by them, and I have recommended this one to just about everyone I know.

    Judith Scharle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Interesting story but

    Character development was weak and often unrealistic psychiatrists dont treat patients in the way described could have been better had the people been believable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2