BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kill You Twice (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best installments in the series since Heartsick! You'

One of the best installments in the series since Heartsick! You'd think the twisted relationship between Lowell and Sheridan would get old after 5 books but it in no way does. Cain does a superb job of making each book feel fresh, and I have faith she'll continue to do ...
One of the best installments in the series since Heartsick! You'd think the twisted relationship between Lowell and Sheridan would get old after 5 books but it in no way does. Cain does a superb job of making each book feel fresh, and I have faith she'll continue to do so in the future without disappointing us.

posted by M-Ekim-K on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good book. Only some connections between characters were no

Very good book. Only some connections between characters were not obvious to me but that is because I did not read the books that preceded this one.

posted by Harvard0124 on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best installments in the series since Heartsick! You'

    One of the best installments in the series since Heartsick! You'd think the twisted relationship between Lowell and Sheridan would get old after 5 books but it in no way does. Cain does a superb job of making each book feel fresh, and I have faith she'll continue to do so in the future without disappointing us.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Archie Sheridan, a detective at the Major Case Task Force in Por

    Archie Sheridan, a detective at the Major Case Task Force in Portland, Oregon, for years had headed what was termed the Beauty Killer Task Force, dedicated to tracking down and bringing to justice a megalomaniac serial killer whose victims were tortured and killed in gruesome ways, graphically described. Their target, Gretchen Lowell, a stunning blonde who claims she had killed more than two hundred people, almost claimed Archie as one of her victims, but despite slowly torturing him over a 10-day period [during which time, among other things, she removed his spleen - - without anesthesia, of course], she let him live. She is now locked up in the forensic psychiatric services ward of the State Hospital.

    Six years later, now forty-one, Archie has only recently returned to work after two years on medical leave. He is called to a murder scene as the book opens; soon after another body is discovered with striking similarities. As Archie says about Portland, it is “known for its blush-tinted scenery, and its serial killers.” There is still a strong connection between Archie and Gretchen, and ultimately he accedes to her calls asking him to come see her, at which point she says she can help him find the killer. His scars, which still itch and sometimes bleed, are a constant reminder of her brutality, but he can no sooner escape them than he can the power and sexual pull she still exerts over him.

    The characters in the series are vividly drawn, and fully fleshed out. Susan Ward, reappearing three months after being fired from the local newspaper, the Herald, still very attracted to Archie; Susan’s mother, Bliss, a former hippie, whose “eyes looked sparkly and spacey, like an anesthetized rabbit;” Henry, Archie’s best friend and partner, himself recovering from a narrow escape from death, and trying without much success to keep his relationship with a fellow cop under wraps; Leo Reynolds, an attorney and the son of a drug kingpin whose sister’s killer Archie had caught; among others.

    In trademark fashion, as the investigation proceeds and the solution is in sight, the tight plotting grabs the reader by the throat and doesn’t let go till the end, and the author pulls off one unexpected twist after another. And lest you think the book is entirely comprised of graphic violence, be assured that there are regular doses of humor in these pages.

    Parenthetically, in case you’re wondering, the title of this book comes from a couplet: “Sweet as sugar, hard as ice, hurt me once, I’ll kill you twice.” If this is your introduction to the Archie Sheridan/Gretchen Lowell series, you’ll understand it better after you read the book – not necessarily an easy read, certainly, but a highly recommended one. The next book in the series, “Let Me Go,’ is due out in August of 2013, and I for one can’t wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    This book was good enough to make you want to find out whodunit,

    This book was good enough to make you want to find out whodunit, but I couldn't really take it too seriously. Good entertainment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Another awesome work from Chelsea Cain!

    Chelsea Cain just gets better and better. Now how long do I have to wait for the next one?!

    Another amazing Gretchen/Archie story - great characters, awkward moments and plot twists aplenty - REALLLLLY?! Sweet :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Excellent

    I couldn't wait for the new book to be released and it was, as all Chelsea Cain's books are, a treat. The depth of the characters is practically tangible; I especially liked getting to know Bliss and Susan better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Very good book. Only some connections between characters were no

    Very good book. Only some connections between characters were not
    obvious to me but that is because I did not read the books that preceded
    this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    ANOTHER GREAT INSTALLMENT IN THIS SERIES!!!

    Ohhhh, Chelsea Cain, how I love these books. I am completely hooked.

    To fans that were disappointed with the last book for the lack of the Gretchen/Archie aspect, GRETCHEN IS BACK!!!! I have loved all of these books, but the last one was a little different than the first three. This books jumps right back into the intense relationship between Archie and Gretchen, and we also get to see the growing relationship (?????) happening between Susan and Archie. Is Archie really healing?

    The only bad thing I have to say about this book is that I have to wait so long for the next one and this author does have a great way of letting you know there are more to come (cliff hanger)!!!!!!!! I do soooooo hate waiting.

    This is Chelsea Cain on top of her game. Thanx again Ms. Cain for another wonderfully tense suspenseful book. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chelsea Cain has done it again. I absolutely love this series an

    Chelsea Cain has done it again. I absolutely love this series and this might be one of the best. The only bad thing is the wait for the next book. Highly recommend this book and the entire series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Non-stop blood, gore and ugliness are not necessary to produce a

    Non-stop blood, gore and ugliness are not necessary to produce a good mystery. Good writing would suffice. I got through the first 50 or more pages of this and threw the book out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Do you have any drain cleaner?  Of the five Archie Sheridan/Gret

    Do you have any drain cleaner? 
    Of the five Archie Sheridan/Gretchen Lowell novels I’ve read and loved, this one just might be my favorite. Not only is Gretchen back as a main character, but there are some major revelations about her past that shed light on the previous four stories. Susan, with all of her quirkiness, remains my favorite character, but I also enjoyed the interactions between Gretchen and Archie immensely. As for this new neighbor Rachel? Well I don’t trust her at all. And just like a great season ending episode of your favorite TV show, this one will leave you panting for book six.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Kill you Twice - Gretchen's BAAAAACCCCCKKKKKK! For a more in de

    Kill you Twice - Gretchen's BAAAAACCCCCKKKKKK!

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals!

    I was slightly a little disappointed after reading The Night Season compared to the other books in Chelsea Cain's Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell series, but not disappointed enough to stop me from reading another book!  In true Chelsea Cain fashion, Kill You Twice definitely lived up to all the hype that was built up in the other books in the series!




    I was glad to see that Gretchen Lowell was back in Kill You Twice, and as in the first few books, she holds back nothing!  She is back to her truly psychotic ways and I LOVE IT!  Cain sure knows how to write a totally sick book!  She never fails to leave me reeling and wondering, who thinks of this stuff, but gosh I love it!  Does that make me demented as well?  The more sick and twisted the plot, the more I enjoy it, and Kill You Twice fell right into that!




    I enjoy that each book is a character builder and lets us see a little bit more about a particular character!  The more I read about Archie, Gretchen, Susan, Henry and Claire, the more I want to keep reading!  I think the characters in this series have got to be the most diverse, unique set of characters that I have ever read.  I mean seriously, I don't think anyone else is capable of creating such greatness in characters.




    The narrator, Christina Delaine, did this series much more justice than she did in The Night Season, and was easy to listen to and follow in this book.  She did the characters justice and was a great reader, especially given the content of what she was reading!  Great job! 




    Overall, I am so glad that this series picked back up from the last book.  All too often, I find that the deeper you get into the series, the worst each book gets, and I was totally afraid that was what was going to happen with this series, but oh how Chelsea Cain pulled it off again!  I am so thrilled to have read this book and can't wait to check out the next (and last for now) book in this series, Let Me Go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Archie/Gretchen adventure!

    The dynamic between between Archie and Gretchen is back and its as enjoyable as ever. Chelsea Cain delivers again and rebounds from the last installment's low points. Delving into Gretchen's personal history and tying it to the present was fantastic. Archie's road to recovery, both medical and mental, is a great read and seeing how he deals with those around him during this is spectacular. The crimes in this are as gruesome as ever and the other antagonist(s) other than Gretchen are serious, the mystery and dots are connected too quickly. I really enjoyed it all but the read could have been a little longer to elongate the suspense. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    highly recomend

    This series is the best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Cant wait for the next

    Love all of the books in the series! So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    I devoured this one! It was reminiscent of the first book and th

    I devoured this one! It was reminiscent of the first book and the plot was right back on target.
    Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Highly Recommend!!!!!

    Kept me hooked! Couldn't stop reading and I can't wait for the next one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    4.5

    Great book...love the characters...cant wait for more!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Cain/Gretchen Captivating

    After reading the 3 preceeding Sheridan/Lowell novels (I did not read "The Night Season"), I am as enthralled with Gretchen Lowell and her hold over Archie as when I first met her. In fact after reading "Kill You Twice," I was inspired to go back and re-read both "Heartsick" an "Sweatheart." I can almost hear Gretchen purr, "Hello, Darling."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    When looking for an amazing thriller writer look no further than

    When looking for an amazing thriller writer look no further than Chelsea Cain. I absolutely LOVE Gretchen! How Ms. Cain is able to make her readers LOVE a serial killer is a mystery to me. I cannot wait for more of Archie and Gretchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    SPOILER ALERT.....JUST LOST A FAN...REALLY????AGAIN

    I read the first one, could not put it down...second one, just a good, great buildup of the characters...by the third, it became kinda of really??? you want us to buy that even in fiction??? fourth was great because she was barely there and you got into the other characters more. I found the first four to be very VERY interesting, and could not wait for the next. but at 12.99??? sorry, just lost a fan. The end was so unbelievly ridiculous and hmmmm can you say..BEEN THERE...DONE THAT FOUR OTHER TIMES...sorry, but with the economy, the amount of authors, I think my money is better spent on NOT reading the same thing over and over. I made that mistake with the Eve Duncan Series....never again. If you can't keep it fresh and your characters interesting WITHOUT the unbelievable ridiculous cling to the same thing...I think it best for someone to move on and since you did in book four but returned to the same in book five, I guess it should be me.

    SPOILER ALERT....do not read if you have not read the book. T

    We are to believe that in such a short time she went from becoming this haggish female to suddenly looking like her darling self. We are to believe that she could literally AGAIN get free from someplace...I know because they didnt learn the first time right? Because she hadnt already done that, killed them again and gotten away??? Really...the place is surrounded by SWAT, FBI and every cop in the county and Archie is right there with the blast, but she gets away???? come on...she is not the invisible woman and

    YOU LOST A FAN and our book club will end your series here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4