Customer Reviews for

Kill for Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

This was another great book from Karen Rose. If you read "Scream for Me" then you have to read this book because it continues where that book left off. If you haven't read "Scream for Me" then I suggest you read that one first because they really intertwine and it could...
This was another great book from Karen Rose. If you read "Scream for Me" then you have to read this book because it continues where that book left off. If you haven't read "Scream for Me" then I suggest you read that one first because they really intertwine and it could be confusing. " Kill for Me" was a very action packed, thought provoking book. It has you from the first page and doesn't stop until the end. Kudos to Karen Rose for another excellent read, I have yet to be disappointed with any of her stories. The story is a bit disturbing and some people may have issues with that, but in the end it was worth it. A fantastic book!

posted by Darsey_spudnick on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Plot, Too Many Subplots

I love Karen Rose's books! They are great thrillers, very gritty and often very sexy. Her characters are engaging. This latest outing though was a bit overdone. In many suspense thrillers, the more characters, the more suspenseful and the harder it is to figure out who ...
I love Karen Rose's books! They are great thrillers, very gritty and often very sexy. Her characters are engaging. This latest outing though was a bit overdone. In many suspense thrillers, the more characters, the more suspenseful and the harder it is to figure out who done it. However,when you have a very large cast of characters and each one seems to have a subplot of their own, no one is just a good guy there or a bad guy there, but all of them have an agenda, it can be a hindrance to an otherwise thrilling story. Karen is masterful in how she handles many characters but in this book, it gets a bit jumbled to me. This is supposedly a stand alone book out of a three book series. I am told though that it is better to read the other two first. So maybe it is not the best if you are looking for one of Ms Rose's books to read as a stand alone. Also, this is one book that I would suggest, you set apart whatever time it takes you to read a 415 page novel all at once and read it that way. It becomes difficult to come back to the story after a day, when there are so many characters and one of the good guys and one of the bad guys have very similar names to boot. Not my favorite of Karen Rose's books.

posted by vivico1 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    This was another great book from Karen Rose. If you read "Scream for Me" then you have to read this book because it continues where that book left off. If you haven't read "Scream for Me" then I suggest you read that one first because they really intertwine and it could be confusing. " Kill for Me" was a very action packed, thought provoking book. It has you from the first page and doesn't stop until the end. Kudos to Karen Rose for another excellent read, I have yet to be disappointed with any of her stories. The story is a bit disturbing and some people may have issues with that, but in the end it was worth it. A fantastic book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    Right up there with Jaws for suspense!

    If there¿s one book you need to buy for the coming year, it¿s Kill for Me by Karen Rose.* It¿s a compelling and modern read, complete with a gutsy heroine, an intelligent hero, and a twisty plot so deceptive you¿ll be tempted to read the end of the book first.<BR/> Continuing the story of Die for Me and Scream for Me (although each can be read independently), this is the story of Susannah Vartanian and Luke Papadopoulos. Drawn together by the tragic events in Susannah¿s hometown, both feel obligated to find the mastermind behind the murder of five teenage girls and the kidnapping of others, no matter what the personal cost to themselves. Both have a history that leaves them vulnerable to doubt everyone around them, people they¿ve known for years--one of whom is hiding behind a small-town façade of friendliness. The one girl who was a witness to the murders is caught in a web of fear and treachery, no longer willing or able to help.<BR/> Rose¿s ability to keep you on the edge of your seat is amazing. It¿s almost as if you can hear the theme of Jaws running through your brain, afraid to dive back into the pages. Her characters are ordinary people thrown into extraordinary circumstances, and as readers we root for them to pull through. There¿s not one scene in the book that doesn¿t advance the plot, that doesn¿t add some new complication or define her characters.<BR/> Once you start, it¿ll be hard to put down¿so it¿s perfect for a long trip or a week at the beach. Enjoy! <BR/>* In the interests of full disclosure, if you get this one, you¿ll want all the others Rose has crafted. Caveat lector!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Karen Rose is my go-to author when I want nail biting, heart-pou

    Karen Rose is my go-to author when I want nail biting, heart-pounding, edge of the seat, unexpected plot surprises romantic suspense. I have yet to be disappointed with any of her titles. Kill For Me is her ninth romantic suspense title, but is the third in her Daniel Vartanian series that began with Die For Me, and followed by Scream For Me. This book picks up practically where the last one left off and focuses on Daniel’s sister, Susannah and his partner, Luke. To be honest, I didn’t feel much of a connection when I first met Susannah. I thought she was intriguing, but I knew there was a lot more beneath the surface. I suspect the author intended the readers to feel that way. Susannah is a very angry woman and the reader won’t understand the true reasons behind it until book #2, but this book really shook me with just how deep it went. I developed a greater understanding and empathy for this character.




    I liked Luke immediately, but my respect for him and the strength of character he demonstrates consistently impressed me. The things he has seen and endured in his career would cripple most people and cause them to implode and become self-destructive. I couldn’t blame him one bit if his character demonstrated any flaws, but he doesn’t and his strength and courage and determination made me more impressed with him. I actually felt more connected to him than any of the other characters and I loved the scenes involving his family and the stray dog.




    Parts of this story were difficult and shocking, but considering the subject revolves around human trafficking, I really could appreciate that the author didn’t try to cover up any lack of knowledge or research by blowing smoke signals at the reader. I felt the author did an excellent job of researching her subject matter and connecting it to her characters and plot. Her dedication to her craft shows in the end product with a story that hits hard and draws on many emotions from the reader. The story is so good that I was able to set aside any aversions to the subject matter.




    This was a fantastic story that will appeal to fans of not just the romantic suspense genre. Fans of thrillers and mysteries will find this intense story very enjoyable. A word of caution to the reader: make sure you read this trilogy in order. The character development and timeline of the events surrounding the Vartanian family will be hard to understand if you don’t read them in order. On the other hand, I highly recommend reading all of Karen Rose’s titles. You can’t go wrong with Karen Rose if you are looking for stories and characters that stay with you after the last page has been turned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Vineclaw

    Thats great. Now iyou could only help me escape from that sidef

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    ArrowClaw

    Nobody's gonna kill anybody. Not over my dead body. Omg, did I seriously just say that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Deathscreech

    What the...what happened exactly? And sorry I was not on. I lost my nook. Found it in the trash. ;(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Despite the fact I haven't read the first two, I recommend it to anyone. I wasn't lost and love the book without the help of the first two in the trilogy.

    <i>I would first off like to say I love this book and it kept me on the edge of my seat and left me with a happy ending.</i>

    In agreeing with James Patterson, "From the first rousing chapter to the last, <i>Scream for Me</i> is intense, complex, and unforgettable."

    After classes one day, I had walked into the on campus bookstore at the college I'm attending and my purpose for walking in there got sidetracked with the bargain book shelf located to the left of the entrance. I walked over there just to see what they had and saw this book there and it looked interesting, so I picked it up and read the inside cover. I took interest in it and decided to purchase it.
    Later, I started the book and found it to be interesting and couldn't put it down. I was look at the beginning introductory pages and saw the list of other book Karen Rose wrote and noticed <u>Die For Me</u> and <u>Scream for Me</u> and at first, didn't think anything of it and later thought maybe they were related. It wasn't until I put the book up on Goodreads that I saw that it was part of a trilogy and realised that I was reading the third book of it.
    With that being said, I think that might have an effect on how the reader likes the book. I love the book and now I want to go back and read the first two, but seeing some of the reviews, some people liked the first two and not the third one or liked the third book, but were still disappointed.
    This book kept me wanting to read more, but I also felt that the book went by more slowly than I expected. I like how the scenes were broken up, but I found myself reaching a climax at the end of each scene and wanting to know what happened next, but had to wait two or three scenes before it flashed back. This is what kept progressing the novel. There were a lot of questions I had and I felt like they were all answered, but slowly. I can understand why some people think it took forever for the authour to explain everything and to tell the story, but I deem this necessary. I could vividly see all of the imagery and felt the story play out in my head like a movie and understood why it took so long for the story to be told.
    I felt like the title fit really well with the story and there were a good amount of twist that not only confused me, but also helped piece the plot and storyline together more tightly.
    This novel helped me see how a rape victim dealt with her life and finding out what happened in the past. I can understand this being difficult on her and I like how the authour told Susannah's story. There were parts that were purposely awkward or had a very serious tone and I felt bad giving a chuckle or two, but I'm thinking it was slightly intended to lighten the mood. On the other hand, there were other points in the story that I thought were down right funny and I played them over and over to give myself a good laugh.
    Why reading this novel, I also read two ebooks by Lynn Daugherty that dealt with real child abuse victims and this helped me more with this novel because I could fully understand what Susannah was going through and how hard her life was growing up. I also found it interesting how things pieced together because of it and in the end the puzzle was fully completed.
    With me having read the third book first, I'm wondering if it muddies my opinion on the first two books, but I won't know until I read them. Only then will I know which is better and how the

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Karen Rose does it again!

    This is the last book in the Vartanian series and is just as good as the 1st and 2nd books. I came late to these treasures and I have to say had I found this author earlier I would have been enthralled sooner, Ms. Rose is that good. Evil, evil villans and hot lovers. All of Karen Rose's books are worthy of several reads each.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Great series, love the author!

    I started this series as a quick summer read and was hooked! Love the twisted plots, interesting characters, great dialogue that is movie worthy, and the fact that the Ms. Rose does not leave you hanging... she ties up the loose ends and unites her characters in each book of the series. Highly recommend, and glad I found a new favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dark but Never Dull

    This is the first book that I read by Karen Rose and would definitely like to read more of her novels. The subject matter was dark but the book was well written and was never dull. The twist and turns were not predictable and showed a lot of imagination. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Another great one!

    If you read Scream for me, then you should read this one as well. It ties up loose ends and you get to enjoy some of the same characters. I really like the author's writing style and would recommend her books to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Un-put-down-able

    Un-put-down-able. Non stop thriller, hold your breath suspense, emotional sub plots, engaging characters. WOW! I can honestly say "I didn't see that one coming."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kill for Me grabs you interest at the onset.

    Karen Rose continues to write a riviting story that leaves you completely surprised at the end. I greatly enjoy the flow of characters from one book to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!

    I really loved this book and had a killer time putting it down! The topic was current and interesting and it kept me on my toes throughout the whole book. The only one thing I would have changed would be that I almost had to go back and read her last book Scream For Me, because of the series feel to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner

    Kill For Me by Karen Rose is another non-stop thriller.

    Susannah Vartanian has overcome a horrific childhood to become an assistant district attorney in NY. The misdeeds of her now deceased brother still reverberate today. Back in her hometown the ring of people are still operating in the trading of young woman. Susannah helps to save one of the victims and will move heaven and earth to see justice served.

    Luke Papadopoulos an agent of the GBI along with his partner Daniel Vartanian has been drown into the crimes going on in Daniel and Susannah's hometown. Luke has seen some terrible things in the current unit he has been working with but these crimes are monstrous

    Susannah agrees to work with Luke and his team to finally put a rest to crimes against young girls. Sadly the things that were done to Susannah will be coming public knowledge.

    Luke and Susannah both have demons to work through and being together 24/7 on this case is bringing them closer then either of them thought possible. But can Luke protect Susannah from the evil that is still out there?

    Karen Rose is tops in the romantic suspense genre. Her books will keep you enthralled from the get go and not let up. I adore her books and can't read them fast enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    it didn't disappoint

    I've read everything this author has written, and Kill for me did not disappoint. the last of the kill trilogy starring the Vartanian family, it wrapped up the story line nicely and answered questions from the other two books. It was a fascinating read. If you are into romantic suspense it is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romanctic Suspense is Right!

    Author Karen Rose is a New York Times best-selling author and award-winner. Other titles include: Nothing to Fear, Count to Ten, You Can¿t Hide, Die For Me, Scream For Me, Don¿t Tell, I¿m Watching you, Have You Seen Her, and I Can See You- coming out in August 2009. When she¿s not writing, she¿s practicing for her next karate belt test. Karen resides in Florida with her husband, (an avid fisherman), and her two daughters, (who also like to write).<BR/>When five girls are discovered in an underground bunker dead, Special Agent Luke Papadopoulos can¿t help but think- Too late. I was too late, again! Only one girl has survived this horrendous crime, and with five more girls out there who have been kidnapped, drugged, beaten, and raped- Luke is running out of time to save them. Susannah Vartanian knows all too well what these girls have gone through. A repeated rape victim herself, and now a DA, Susannah finds comfort in Luke¿s arms for the first time in years, maybe ever. But trying to bring down this vile ring of people who are selling these girls on the black market only throws more questions, lies, and horror at them. The chain of deception and cruelty runs deep. They are willing to take any extreme measures necessary to keep their anonymity and their business intact¿And maintain silence amongst those responsible.<BR/>I¿m going to have nightmares for weeks after reading this book. It throws you into a world you never knew existed, or rather, you prayed didn¿t exist. Taken from several different points-of-view, it immediately sucks you into the minds of the determined detectives, the terrified victims, and the despicable murderers. Hailed by James Patterson and Lorenzo Carcaterra, it is not that difficult to see why Karen Rose is an award-winner or a best-seller. She has an extensive understanding for both the dark and light side of human nature and a true gift for displaying that in her books. The plot was fast-paced, with more twists than a windsock in a tornado. You don¿t see half of them coming. The characters were realistic in every sense of the word. You really grasp the concept of victim. Be prepared¿Very prepared. You won¿t put it down out of your trembling hands until it¿s over.<BR/>If you want a fast-paced, chilling, intense, and unforgettable book- Pick up Kill For Me, by Karen Rose.<BR/><BR/>Kelly Moran,<BR/>Author and Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An exhilarating thriller

    In Dutton, Georgia., Georgia Bureau of Investigation's special agent Daniel Vartanian and his partner Luke Papadopoulis have solved two interrelated cases that started thirteen years ago (see SCREAM FOR ME). However, their work is not done, as remnants of an affluent rape gang whom for the most part never faced justice as money rules, survives in a different form. This gang that seems to be centered in the Dutton area is abducting female teens and selling them as sexual merchandise to perverted predators. An attempted raid to catch the leader of the trafficking network ends tragically with five girls murdered and the unknown chief still free.<BR/><BR/>Daniel¿s sister, NYC ADA Susannah is also involved hoping to rescue other victims before Charles and his horde sell them in a damaged goods reduction sale; she is intimately knowledgeable about the sex slave commodity market. However, two teens rescued during the raid provide useful information, but the GBI agents and the ADA remain ignorant that one of their peers is making a lot more money peddling insider information to Charles.<BR/><BR/>This is a stupendous police procedural suspense thriller containing a complex story line and a large cast although many are corpses. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action from the onset and never slows down as the ¿Me-Me¿ trilogy (see SCREAM FOR ME and DIE FOR ME) ends with a vivid violent finish. The romantic subplot between Susannah and Luke is handled deftly as each has a history that has them fleeing commitment and both knows bringing down the ruthless human traffickers who diabolically use chat lines to find their prey comes before their attraction. KILL FOR ME is an exhilarating thriller.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3