Customer Reviews for

Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait to read #3

What a great follow up to the first novel. What I love most about Richard Kadrey is his no nonsense writing style. The reader doesn't have to muttle through page upon page of painfully detailed descriptions of minor characters and places. No whiny girls, no annoyingly b...
What a great follow up to the first novel. What I love most about Richard Kadrey is his no nonsense writing style. The reader doesn't have to muttle through page upon page of painfully detailed descriptions of minor characters and places. No whiny girls, no annoyingly benevolent heroes. This book is a win.

posted by Re-Be on February 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.....

I would have given it **** if it hadn't shambled along like a zombie in places, but the fact that it had zombies in it saved it from getting **.

posted by 6237445 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Can't wait to read #3

    What a great follow up to the first novel. What I love most about Richard Kadrey is his no nonsense writing style. The reader doesn't have to muttle through page upon page of painfully detailed descriptions of minor characters and places. No whiny girls, no annoyingly benevolent heroes. This book is a win.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This reviewer can't wait for the next Sandman Slim novel.

    Stark, known as Sandman Slim, is not a human. He is a Nephilim; the offspring of a fallen angel and a human mother. He has all the power of a Nephilim, but still was not strong enough to fight black magician Mason Faim, who dispatched him to hell for over a decade. When Lucifer releases Stark, he returns to hell on earth where he dispatches Mason back to Lucifer's kingdom. While there the mage mason tries to take over Lucifer's throne.

    The devil comes to earth to watch a picture of him being made and wants Stark to serve as his bodyguard. He also takes jobs for the Golden Vigil, sometimes called "Pinkerton's Angels, such as killing Eleanor the vampire, who wears a belt buckle that interests him for reasons he cannot figure out. Besides the Golden Vigil and Lucifer gigs, Stark works on fighting demons and a way to kill Mason. However, a new threat arises as zombies begin to walk the streets of Los Angeles killing all humans who cross their path. Stark has to figure out who is controlling the walking dead and get rid of him so the zombie menace will end.

    Stark is a terrific antihero whose conversations with a horde of paranormal and normal (that is in a specie sense; not a mental sense) is humorously biting satire. He is a half-breed who is neither angel nor demon, but works for both sides as he has no place with either. The story line is fast-paced, filled with high octane testosterone action, but is owned by Stark who tells his latest misadventures in a noir style first person account. Urban fantasy readers will fully appreciate the goings on in the city of angels. This reviewer can't wait for the next Sandman Slim novel.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    A fun, pulpy, sequel to one of my favorite easy reads of 2009

    Richard Kadrey puts his slick spin on the supernatural back onto pages in this sequel to 2009's Sandman Slim. The titular character is back, along with many of his cohorts, to deal with yet another horrifying preternatural outbreak of ghoulies and goblins. Comparable stylistically to Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, Kadrey has developed a surprisingly deep mythos to go along with his pulpy, creative, and easily readable material. Kill The Dead is fun, engaging, and increasingly creative. It is everything I wanted out of a sequel and I'd recommend it to anyone who's read "Sandman Slim" or are a fan of Jim Butcher.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Don't listen to any whiners

    1st Sandman Slim novel A+. 2nd novel A. 3rd novel genuflection plus chant. This guy can write and that is a fact. Buy his books. Support this crazy man. Keep him in tattoos.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    .....

    I would have given it **** if it hadn't shambled along like a zombie in places, but the fact that it had zombies in it saved it from getting **.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    "Imagine shoving a cattle prod up a rhino's ass, shouting &

    "Imagine shoving a cattle prod up a rhino's ass, shouting "April fool!", and hoping the rhino thinks its funny."...
    So begins Kill The Dead, the second Sandman Slim novel by Richard Kadrey. Sandman Slim or James Stark as he is refered to throughout most of the novel is a strangely unique character. There are just enough references to his past to make me feel like I really missed out when I did not pick up the first Sandman Slim novel. Slim is a bounty hunter working for both the side of God in the form of the Golden Vigil run by an Angel to hunt down all sorts of evil creatures. The side is as bodyguard to Lucifer, yes that Lucifer.
    This novel delves into the darkness of night creatures that are the dead. Not the undead, but the dead. Zombies in all their variations and the mayhem that they shamble forth. And the blood. And the guts. And the feedings. I mean this book could be The Walking Dead but without all the seriousness and introspection.
    And that is a good thing.
    Kill The Dead hits the tongue in cheek horror genre right on the head and then steamrolls right through.
    Fun Fun Capital freaking FUN!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Better Than the First!!!

    I LOVE THIS SERIES! Lucifer hires Stark as his bodyguard. Why would the devil need a bodyguard? Stark is suspicious that the fallen angel Lucifer may be his father, while he fights a zombie army. A movie is being made in Hollywood about Lucifer, sort of like a life story by the people's souls that he owns. Way more is going on than that. Not wanting to give away a huge wow moment in the book (which may leave this brief and vague), Stark comes upon a unique zombie that may give him the chance to see his murdered girlfriend. This second book in the series soars over the first. It's full of so much good and wonderful stuff, that you can't put it down once the story starts. There's the Bamboo House of Dolls, a Czech porn star, flesh eating demons, members of powerful and prestigious magic families' obese and weird sexual appetites, and lots of violence and smart aleck remarks from our hero whose escape from hell may lead him right back! Do yourself a favor and read this great urban supernatural series by Richard Kadrey. 'Aloha From Hell' the next book in the series soon to come out is sure to be just as good if not better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Arceus

    Shoots a zombie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Cc

    Walks in "Hi. I'm Cc"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Annabella and Thomas

    Annabella gazed at Arceus. -- Thomas cleaned his shotgun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Loved it

    Sarcasticly witty and i enjoyed it just as much as the first. Cant wait to read the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    A supernatural take on the hard-boiled detective novel. Sandman

    A supernatural take on the hard-boiled detective novel. Sandman Slim is a classic anti-hero, with the cynical lifeview of a pulp fiction PI, but there is a strong current of humor in both the continuous metaphors and the rapid-fire dialogue. With a severed head as his main foil, and a supporting cast that includes vampires, zombies, Lucifer, and some of Kadrey's unique creations, the story has a contemporary setting but a rich element of the inhuman. The intricate plot is best understood if you start with the first novel in the series, "Sandman Slim", as this is less a stand-alone sequel than a continuation of the overarching plot introduced in the first novel. And don't ignore the fun of watching people's eyes as you sit in your favorite coffee shop reading a book with "Kill the Dead" on the cover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Fanrastic.

    Anothet fun read in this series. Looking forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    recommended

    good book a few misspelled work (maybe in the nook only).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Please save my hellboy

    My entire family ate the nook after reading this book. Five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Best series ever..

    Can not put it down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No i am in trouble ya like thats going to happen i am to strong

    Awsome but wierd ina bad ir good way if u want to know then go ti me i think

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Awesome

    All of his books are excellent

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Awesome!

    What a great writer and a fantastic series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13