Customer Reviews for

Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait to read #3

What a great follow up to the first novel. What I love most about Richard Kadrey is his no nonsense writing style. The reader doesn't have to muttle through page upon page of painfully detailed descriptions of minor characters and places. No whiny girls, no annoyingly b...
What a great follow up to the first novel. What I love most about Richard Kadrey is his no nonsense writing style. The reader doesn't have to muttle through page upon page of painfully detailed descriptions of minor characters and places. No whiny girls, no annoyingly benevolent heroes. This book is a win.

posted by Re-Be on February 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.....

I would have given it **** if it hadn't shambled along like a zombie in places, but the fact that it had zombies in it saved it from getting **.

posted by 6237445 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 250 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Even better than the first

    Enjoyable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    As good as the first

    I love how Richard writes. If you liked/loved the first book, you will enjoy this one as well. By the time i got to the end, i was ready for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Love the Sandman Slim series!

    Interesting read, great story and a neat spin on angels, demons, zombies, witches and even God and Satan. This series is for any reader looking for something outside the usual zombie/supernatural genre! Want to stir up your Christian Small Group (and I am a Christian who thinks we ignore the fact that evil exists in a far too tangible form)??? Try reading this one and discuss the possibility that this might be closer to real good vs evil than we might like to think...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    A nice fast ride with a few small breakdowns

    The sequel just wasn't quite as good. There was also the solving of the main plot twist with a bit of fluff that just didn't have a good explanation to it. It kind of flounced. Otherwise, it was another mayhem filled ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Entertaining

    Having read the first Sandman Slim book, I bought the second one to find out where the series was headed. While this installment had a more convoluted plot, the characters remained the same save Sandman. That is due, in part, to the death of his human half and heading for full angel status due to a bite from a zombie. I personally got lost with all the explanations of the different zombie types, there were characters that really didn't need mentioning in this book, and at places the story stalled. The whole Lucifer wanting to go home seemed a bit of a stretch, considering he's a fallen angel and the way back into Heavan is blocked for eternity to him yet he aspires to "go home to Father". Stark still laments over his dead girlfriend, Alice, although he did get some action this time around. I still have a problem with how things are "discovered" in this series, with how Lucifer seems so "out of touch" with his surroundings when he's the baddest ass in Hell but, in this series, comes across as a whiney, "I'm so tired" character. I would have given this two stars but I gave the additional star because the writer managed to bring a smile to my face more than once in this book (reference to "this is no boat accident" had me in stitches) I may not agree with this writer's style but I am curious enough to find out where this series is going which means I will read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Entertaining fantasy/sci-fi read!

    Although it meanders somewhat, after having read the first one, I enjoyed this follow up alot. Once the plot coalesced, it was very well done and ended nicely. Read the first installment, Sandman Slim first. I'm not sure about this one as a stand alone novel. Love this character, though, and will definitely get the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not nearly as good as the first

    Maybe it's just me, but I loved the 1st book in this series and couldn't wait to read Kill the Dead. Unfortunately, my enthusiasm quickly waned once I read the first 20 pages or so. The humor that was so original in the first book fell flat and the plot just wasn't interesting anymore. Just how many demons and different creatures do you have to invent to make the story enjoyable? And how come something has to get blown up or destroyed every few pages? I bought the book about 3 months ago, read the first 26 pages and then never read another word. I probably won't go back to it to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Kill the Dead is a shocking, entertaining novel that makes you think about the world we live in. We live among evil day after day and we do what we have to to survive. I felt like James and I had a lot in common, except that I didn't come from Hell (unless it was kept a secret - dun-dun-dun). I found this book to be wickedly cool and would definitely recommend it to other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 250 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13