Customer Reviews for

Kill the Messenger

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great

    I read approx 3 books each week and this is one of the best books l've ever read! A fabulous story from an exceptional writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Great mystery with HEART

    Excellent twisty plot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Review

    Love her books. Very exciting and reviting. I hated to put the book down at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Another good one!!

    Have been away from Tami Hoag for a while so thought I'd try this one. Really liked it. Have now ordered her new one since I'm hooked again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Kill+the+Messenger%2C+my+heart+is+still+racing%2C+Thrilling%2C+page+turner+to+the+END%21

    The+BEST+book++I+have+since+owning+my+Nook%2C%2C+ok+besides+JJohn+Grisham%27s+Confession%0A%0AAwesome+Read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Couldn't Put The Book Down!

    I had someone I met on vacation tune me into this author. I was reading alot of Grisham doing the family laundry, and he was reading another Tami book, that his daughter had given him. I am so glad that I investigated this author. This book is one of her best. I couldn't put it down. My doctor's receptionist asked to borrow it, and now she's hooked on Hoag!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Good Read

    This was an excellent book. As soon as I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I even found myself adding time to the treadmill at the gym so I could keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slow start, better ending

    For the longest time I was tempted to give up on this book, but the ending was a well-done surprise. It seemed like another run-of-the-mill Los Angeles good cop/bad cop story, but there were some good twists and turns at the end. There were also some good descriptions of some chase scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as I thought it was going to be.

    The biggest problem with this book was that events were not explained clearly enough. I love mysteries and read them voraciously, but this one often had me going "Huh? Where did that come from?" or "Who is that, I don't remember that person." Too many characters with too little development.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Not as good as i had hoped

    The book was okay, but not as great as some of her previous work. The only romance in the book didnt end up well. I think the killer in another of her books had a relationship with the lead detective as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Very, very good!

    I've read several Tami Hoag books now and this is my favorite so far. It's full of action, suspense and her crazy 'cop dialogue' (which I love). But the main protagonist is a 20ish-year-old young man for a change. I really liked that, just because it made this book different. Not the usual 'beautiful woman with flawless skin' meets 'ruggedly handsome super man.' Even though the story does take some heart-breaking twists at times, all comes out in the wash, so to speak. A great, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    Very Good Read!

    I have been reading Tami Hoag since her debut and like fine wine she gets better with time! This book I must say has to be my favorite to date. Engaging characters, suprizing plot twists, and a define irony sense of justice, you cant help wanting more even after the last page has turned. I am delighted to know that she does plan to include Kev Parker and friends in a future book. thought one could argue that this story was written with an eye to a movie deal still it was entertaining and would make an entertaining movie, therefore in my opinion Ms. Hoag succeeds all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Page turner

    This is my first Tami Hoag book, and even though it's fast pace prestages a movie version (she admits as much in the last page) one looks forward to her next. The opening, in which she describes the bike messenger's riding through rush hour on the L.A. streets with threatening rain clouds overhead is a good precursor of the pages full of talented prose to come.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    A Surprisingly Good Read

    This was a fantastic book and a real page turner. Tami Hoag is definitely an author to look out for. She is peaking whilst my girls' LH and CC are in a slump.I'm looking forward to her next attempt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Good book

    As usual Ms. Hoag wrote a book that is hard to put down. The only thing I was disappointed in was the lack of romance. I really enjoy her romantic suspense books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Not the usual fair

    I was very disappointed in Tami Hoag's newest book. Little suspense and unsympatheic characters made for a boring read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    entertaining

    Overall I enjoyed this book. It had an engaging plot and interesting characters. However, I got a little tired of the 'metrosexual cop' thing and REALLY tired of the designer name-dropping. I don't care if it is set in LA. Please tell the story and drop designer names only if important to the story line. Continued references to everything he wore got old. I had no sympathy for the guy getting his Hugo Boss dirty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Slick, spooky and sometimes camp!!

    The story is so beautifully set up that within a few pages you're hooked and along for a wild ride. Retains a great sense of humor and a corny sense of chic that leavens the fingernail biting. A strange psychological thriller and ghost story wiorth checking out is IN THE GHOST COUNTRY which is a true and kinda weird story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    FIRST RATE READER SCORES AGAIN

    Audio book aficionados know that voice performers don't come any better than Scott Brick. Time after time he delivers exceptionally well crafted readings - add 'Kill The Messenger to his already impressive resume. Tami Hoag is another who always delivers, penning first rate thrillers since her debut in 1988. Her characters are fleshed out, and her plots sizzling with suspense. This tale focuses on bike messenger Jace Damon. Delivering messages on a bicycle isn't the easiest job in the world, especially in L.A. where Jace is at the mercy of cars and on the lookout for daydreaming pedestrians who may wander into his path. It's the end of a grueling day - just one more delivery and he's home free. The last package he's carrying is from a none too moral lawyer, Lenny Lowell. However, this is a drop he can't make as he's almost run over by a car, chased through streets, and the target for gun shots. He returns to Lowell's office only to find the attorney dead and the police on deck. Prime suspect in the murder? Jace, of course, as if his day hadn't been trying enough already. Listen along for the thrills as Jace flees both cops and killer. He's got to save himself and his ten-year-old brother from whoever wants the all important package that he still has. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    A grat police procedural

    Nineteen years old Jace Damon has learned to keep a low profile for fear that children¿s protective services would take his eight-year-old brother Tyler away from him. He works as a bicycle messenger in Los Angeles, being paid off the books and living in Chinatown where the community closes ranks around them..................................... One rainy night, Jace picks up a package from slimy lawyer Lenny Lowell. When he reaches the address of the place he is supposed to leave the package at, he finds an empty lot. Someone tries to grab the package and Jace knows he has to get away before the thug grabs the parcel and kills him. When he returns to Lenny, he sees the cops there and learns that his client was murdered. When he opens the package, he sees negatives. Jace figures that Lenny was blackmailing someone. Not wanting to bring trouble to his brother or Madame Chan who has unofficially adopted them, he leaves but homicide detective Ken Parker and robbery-homicide detective Brandon Kyle is looking for him as well as the man who wants to kill him for what he knows......................................... KILL THE MESSENGER is a fascinating police procedural that readers will enjoy immensely because the quirky characters make this book very special. Jace is more mature than people twice his age are; his brother is a genius; and the lead police officer on the case Detective Parker is a maverick who does not always follow directions but manages to get the job done. Tami Hoag is one author the audience one can count on for getting the job done too as she writes juicy, entertaining and original novels.................................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3