Customer Reviews for

Killbox (Sirantha Jax Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The fourth Jax science fiction tale continues the outer spaces escapes of the heroine

    Sirantha Jax, March and their crew struggle with ending the death and destruction of jumpers in Grimspace. However as the peril from the man-eating Morgut expands, the Conglomerate has need of March. They want March to train an Armada whose missions will be to take the war to the deadly pirates and the Morgut.

    Jax considers a perilous trek jumping through Grimspace without the use of beacons. Hesitating she wonders if her new nanotechnology will enable her to do the jump or kill her. However, while she vacillates, Jax also knows time is running out.

    The fourth Jax science fiction (see Doubleblind, Wanderlust and Grimspace) continues the outer spaces escapes of the heroine and somewhat less March in the dark (sort of like leaping in grimspace without a beacon) bleak Aguirre universe. The story line is faster than the speed of light as Jax goes from one thrilling adventure to another though she is much more mature but still her philosophy remains shoot first or be killed; questions are irrelevant if you are dead. Fans of the saga will need to set aside time as Killbox is a terrific taut thriller, which sets up book five; newcomers can jump right in and appreciate this entry, but will relish it much more with the reading backlist.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing addition to the series! FULL of action!

    Jax is with March and crew jumping again, leaving Ithiss-Tor. She quits her job as ambassador and they are heading back to Emry Station where Surge and Kora have taken charge. Jax agrees to train her first apprentice jumper. The Conglomerate now needs to work on creating policing ships to help protect the space and different worlds from pirates, slavers , the Syndicate, and other troubles lurking. Chancellor Tarn has asked for March's help... Jax learns she is an all new type of jumper... and she just might be able to help save them all...

    I like how this book pulls from the last 2 books to work them together. Emry Station and technology. Angus who we learned in Doubleblind has J-gene, and the dream of March's and others from Lachion to create a new academy for jumpers. Jax starts down this path with new methods, ideas, and technology.

    Jax seems to be at the top of the game here. She has become the hero type from the influence of March and the crew. And March gets a glimpse of how it feels to be on the other side watching those you love risk their own life for others. Jax has learned a lot about herself in the previous book and in this book it just accelerates. I know I say this with each book, but Jax has come a long way since the nav star she was way back before the series started and she does remind herself off and on. Jax takes on some new technology and things to improve herself, which comes greatly handy. She even shares her DNA to make jumpers better. But the information she gathers to help with the drives and even a few other pieces is what leads us to the ending of this book. Jax has become wonderful at thinking outside the box, which Farwan didn't want jumpers to do. Jax puzzles the pieces together to come up with a wonderful yet heart wrenching idea. War is in full swing, and Jax has an idea to at least slow the Morguts down.

    We have a new mysterious, yet key character that shows up here. We only get a small feel for this person through letters passed between this person and Chancellor Tarn. I'm not even sure who or what this character is yet. Or if we have ever met him prior. I don't think so, but don't really know.

    I think this book has become my favorite out of the series thus far. There is much that happens here. Jax has to learn to let go of what she is holding so close, what she never had until she met March and the crew. The crew has become a family and close friends. The crew does have to separate here as they need to spreed the knowledge they share with others to defeat the Murgot's and the army they have created with the war starting. A whole new species comes back to life here. Jax and March are even tested to their limits to try to think of the bigger result other than just their love for each other.

    As much as I loved broken March, I really liked Commander March too. Oh, I was mad with him at first but who can stay mad at March? Not I or even Jax. Vel isn't as prominent in this book, but the few scenes he and Jax share; Jax pulls at the heart strings regarding her close friend. Who would have thought I could love a bug so... We do see Jax's mother again, surprise surprise, and in a new light as well.

    I think this book is the best book of the series yet! Full of action and information. We do get more details here with some technological upgrades, but they are not overly bearing to take over the story. In this book we focus more on the war at hand and the battle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Fantastic series

    Great read, great fkawed charecters. Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jax is Fantastic!

    This series includes some of the most memorable characters of the genre! The writing is interesting and sharp, and the story is definitely a page-turner! I can't wait to find out what happens next! I think this series will appeal to both sci-fi and urban fantasy fans. If you enjoyed these books, you might also like "Survival" by Juliet E. Czerneda and "Moon Called" by Patricia Briggs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    $paperbook < $Nookbook

    Why is the nookbook more when there are no printing costs or shipping costs?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is a great series, LOVE it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    another crazy Jax ride

    Having just come off a mentally (and physically) grueling assignment as an ambassador for the Conglomerate to Ithiss Tor, Sirantha Jax would like nothing more than to rocket herself back into grimspace with March by her side. But with the alarming rise in recent Morgut attacks - a highly advanced, yet nasty group who leave no survivors - the Conglomerate is scrambling for a way to protect ships and remote outposts from utter decimation. As all-out war explodes, Jax and March must gather (and train) a rag-tag militia while Jax continues to test her body's limits as a jumper in hopes of gaining any advantage over the terrifying force of the Morgut.

    I have no idea how Ann Aguirre keeps doing it. Really. The woman must be a mind-reader like my favorite dark hero March to be able to manipulate my emotions this effortlessly, because honestly, there wasn't a chapter where I wasn't afraid for, mad at, or elated for any one of her amazing characters. Nothing comes easy or without a struggle this time around (but really, when has it ever for Jax?) and Jax is especially feeling the strain of having to separate indefinitely from those who she has come to rely so heavily upon.

    War is always a time for goodbyes and loss yet in no way could Killbox be described as a purely emotional book without any action. Whereas Doubleblind focused more on Jax learning how to control her impulses and learning to fight with words, Killbox returns once again to her trademark let's get this done fighting style. But she's also a more mature Sirantha Jax who weighs the outcome of her actions and decides to go to bat even when she isn't sure of the outcome. Time and again, we see a Jax who rationally evaluates a dangerous situation, makes the hard choice (which usually involves putting herself at risk), and then rushes forward with guns blazing. I'd say the woman is a machine to continue putting herself in danger like that, but truly she's not. Jax has so much heart that it makes her choices that much more admirable and extremely heart-breaking once you understand her reasoning for such crazy actions.

    And as for the ending? Yeah, my tender emotions were pretty much already fried from the rest of the book, so it was nothing short of cruel to be left with such a crazy cliff-hanger ending! I honestly have no idea where Ann Aguirre is going to take Jax next but you better believe I don't want to miss a second of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I purchased this book.

    Sirantha Jax, book 4

    This review contains spoilers for previous books in the series.

    When last we left Sirantha Jax, one of the elite jumpers born with the gene that allows navigators to travel through the subspace area known as grimspace, she'd escaped an alien planet she was sent to as an ambassador after breaking her love and captain, March, out of the alien jail.

    Killbox starts fast and remains very hard to put down. What was hinted at in the last books, the increasing invasions of the flesh-eating monstrous aliens known as the Morgut, has become a full on, planned attacks as the Morgut are clearly declaring war on their favorite tasty snacks. However Farwan, the mafia/Empire-like organization that had been protecting the human worlds, have been exposed for their corrupt actions, namely the sabotage and destruction of a ship carrying beloved political emissaries (and the subsequent brainwashing attempting to set Jax herself up for the crash that killed everyone but her). Now that Farwan has fallen there is no one else to step up and protect human space from pirates, the Syndicate and the Morgut. The Conglomerate has been too dependent on others for too long and lacks the force to fight the coming war.

    So it does the next best thing, and hires March to build an Armada to stave off the attacks while plan B formulates. Meanwhile other members of March's crew (all becoming increasingly more important) are at work at a variety of projects. Jax is training the first non-Farwan trained jumper. Doc is working on tech that will turn Jax's ability to heal from grimspace damage into a strength rather than a random mutation and Dina is hard at work trying to hash out the secrets of the Morgut ability to jump anywhere, not just from hotspots.

    The truth is that they know very little about the Morgut other than they have a 97% kill rate against humans. So now Jax and March and the crew find themselves on the front lines of a war against an nearly unknown, but very deadly enemy with the clock ticking until the major invasion begins.

    Killbox is a fabulous book. It's complex, and exposes more background of grimspace and human space travel and how the world came to be where it is in this series. Furthermore Jax has changed as well, into a solid, determined woman willing to face down ultimate evils to help the people she loves.

    This series is far too complex to ever fit into a single book, or a trilogy and nearly impossible to put down. Fans of the big SF flicks out there, from Serenity to Star Wars, will find everything they love about those stories in this one. Princesses, space ship battles, monsters, lasers and aliens, Killbox has it all and is poised to thrust this series into a strong, tight spin to its (I hope) victorious end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    Very satisfying series

    I have read all the books in this series and am impressed with the consistency and quality of the writing. Solid combination of suspenseful plotting and believable characters (human and alien). I look forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3