Customer Reviews for

Killer (Pretty Little Liars Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1097 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(866)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

ADDICTED 2 THEM!!!!

I love the Pretty Little Liars book...they're amazing!!! i've never read a book that made me sooo NERVOUS and ANXIOUS to find out who A is and Ali's murder!! i think i know who A is aswell... my friend and i (well mostly her) came up with what i think is an award-winni...
I love the Pretty Little Liars book...they're amazing!!! i've never read a book that made me sooo NERVOUS and ANXIOUS to find out who A is and Ali's murder!! i think i know who A is aswell... my friend and i (well mostly her) came up with what i think is an award-winning theroy!!

well first of all i believe that there are three A's,well 2 now since mona is dead,and i think they were all working together.

the second A I think is...Jenna. Why? Because if you remember in Flawless, Toby wrote a letter to Emily and Jenna gave it to Emily. When Jenna handed Emily the letter she said "your part is somewhere in the middle.."....ummm how did Jenna know that??? She can't read...she's blind!!! yeah i doubt that she is... but she's probably out to get them b/c they were mean to her in middle school.


Okay,this is going to sound sooo crazy but our 3rd A suspect is.....Alison!!!I know crazy, right? She's dead. Yeah, well i don't believe that!! Why? Remember in , i 4got ether Perfect of Unbelievable, Emily was in the yearbook room and she was looking at the page dedicated to Ali. and she saw the pic that Mona had in her purse of Ali and then Mya came in and asked who was that and Emily said "Alison" and then Mya said "that doesn't look like Ali"...what Mya said was very IMPORTANT!! Who out of Aria, Spencer, Hannah, and Emily saw Ali's body in the ground of her backyard??? None. However, Mya did. so what mya was saying was that
the "Alison" in the pic doesn't look like the "Alison" who was in the ground dead!!!! So the "Alison" who is dead isn't the real Alison..It's someone else!! And if you read Wicked,Ian proved this theory. He said "there were two blondes in the woods that night". and if ali's alive,she killed Ian.And i think Jason knows that's why he said he doesn't communicate with his family because "they're too messed up"...


I mean how AMAZING would that be to end the series with the final A being reveled as Alison!!!??^_^

posted by The1stPrettyLittleLiar on May 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kritters Ramblings

Call me a fan! I have fallen even deeper into this series and with each book, I can't wait to find out more clues to eithe confirm or deny my guesses. I think I could be close, but really I have no clue and I love it.

The writing has been so addictive. It is easy ...
Call me a fan! I have fallen even deeper into this series and with each book, I can't wait to find out more clues to eithe confirm or deny my guesses. I think I could be close, but really I have no clue and I love it.

The writing has been so addictive. It is easy to slip into the story after reading a book between and I found myself immersed in the hunt for A and the killer. With each book, I hope to be closer and then at the end I find myself no closer, yet no further away from the truth. As stated before, there is some repetitiveness to each book because as the story develops Shepard repeats clues from previous books, but it can be easily bypassed.

As I still haven't started watching the series, I am intrigued as to how close to the characters they follow and if the intricacies of the story are apparent on screen. Maybe a show I will check out soon, but I definitely want to complete my reading before I begin my viewing.

I think this series can be enjoyed by all ages as the mystery is the heart of the story. As they are high schoolers, the drama is obviously at that level, but I don't think the story is any lower due to their ages.

posted by KrittersRamblings on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ADDICTED 2 THEM!!!!

    I love the Pretty Little Liars book...they're amazing!!! i've never read a book that made me sooo NERVOUS and ANXIOUS to find out who A is and Ali's murder!! i think i know who A is aswell... my friend and i (well mostly her) came up with what i think is an award-winning theroy!!

    well first of all i believe that there are three A's,well 2 now since mona is dead,and i think they were all working together.

    the second A I think is...Jenna. Why? Because if you remember in Flawless, Toby wrote a letter to Emily and Jenna gave it to Emily. When Jenna handed Emily the letter she said "your part is somewhere in the middle.."....ummm how did Jenna know that??? She can't read...she's blind!!! yeah i doubt that she is... but she's probably out to get them b/c they were mean to her in middle school.


    Okay,this is going to sound sooo crazy but our 3rd A suspect is.....Alison!!!I know crazy, right? She's dead. Yeah, well i don't believe that!! Why? Remember in , i 4got ether Perfect of Unbelievable, Emily was in the yearbook room and she was looking at the page dedicated to Ali. and she saw the pic that Mona had in her purse of Ali and then Mya came in and asked who was that and Emily said "Alison" and then Mya said "that doesn't look like Ali"...what Mya said was very IMPORTANT!! Who out of Aria, Spencer, Hannah, and Emily saw Ali's body in the ground of her backyard??? None. However, Mya did. so what mya was saying was that
    the "Alison" in the pic doesn't look like the "Alison" who was in the ground dead!!!! So the "Alison" who is dead isn't the real Alison..It's someone else!! And if you read Wicked,Ian proved this theory. He said "there were two blondes in the woods that night". and if ali's alive,she killed Ian.And i think Jason knows that's why he said he doesn't communicate with his family because "they're too messed up"...


    I mean how AMAZING would that be to end the series with the final A being reveled as Alison!!!??^_^

    35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Read

    I just love this series and I still try to figure out who A is. This book is wonderful and can only recommend.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for the next book

    I started reading the Pretty Little Liars series earlier this year. Each book ended with a cliff hanger and I couldn't wait to read what happened next with "A". I enjoyed these books so much, I read them consecutively. The only problem was I had to wait a few months for Killer's release.

    Now that I finished Killer, I have to say I was worth the wait. It immediately began where Wicked concluded: the night of the Rosewood Day benefit held at Spencer's house. Spencer discovered Ian in the woods and when she later returned with the police, Ian was gone. He simply vanished. (I don't want to say more to prevent spoilers). While the police continue to search for Ian based on the details provided by Spencer, Aria, Hanna and Emily, they begin to wonder if these four girls fabricated their stories for attention.

    Like the previous novels, Killer begins with a flashback. In this flashback the reader learns how the four girls became friends with Ali. Emily, Aria, Hanna and Spencer all have the idea of stealing Ali's piece of the Time Capsule flag. This is a tradition at Rosewood Day: the principal cuts the Rosewood Day flag into pieces, the upperclassmen hides the pieces around town, while the teachers post clues to their locations. When someone finds a piece, he/she can decorate it. When all the pieces are found, the flag is sewn back together and is buried in the Time Capsule. The students who find the pieces are known to be legends in the school's history. The twist to the game is another student can steal a piece from the original student who found it. Which is what Hanna, Emily, Aria and Spencer plan to do with Ali's piece.

    This flashback is significant to the story. The reader learns what REALLY happened to Ali's stolen flag piece and why it's so important to her disappearance and death. As each girl continues to receive threatening texts from "A", they decide to investigate the events leading to Ali's death. As they dig deeper, they stumble on a new twist that will erase everything they knew about their friendship with Ali.

    What makes this story so addicting to me is how the Ms. Shepard uses the girls' individual stories to add to the mystery behind Ali's death and "A's" hold on them. Each girl struggles with a secret, insecurity, problem, etc. "A" sends them text messages to manipulate them into doing what "A" wants by threatening to expose their secrets. Each girl discovers more clues about their friendship with Ali. The reader can't help but to wonder are these legitimate clues or just part of "A's" game? It's so hard to tell, but that's what keeps me reading. I WANT TO KNOW! The twists and turns are plenty in this series and just when the reader thinks he/she knows what will happen next, guess again.

    Killer's ending took me by surprise! The cliff hanger was shocking and left me speechless. Of course, I had more questions and wondered did THAT just really happen or is this just another twist? Again, I must wait to have my questions answered. Heartless, book seven, will be released in 2010. Killer is a must read for fans of the Pretty Little Liars series.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Nail biter

    Every time I read one of the Pretty Little Liar's books, I always finish it so fast, because you get so involved in whats happening to those girls. But in the other books in the series, it seemed that the infamous A was all about scaring the girls to death. In Kill, A seems more bent on pushing the girls to figure out the real killer of Ali, and to unravel all the mystery. I think that more trouble is going to come to them with the opening of that new hotel at the old asylum. Now maybe my heart rate can go back to normal:) Needless to say...I highly recommend this series to anyone.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best book of the Series!!!

    This book was easily the best of the series! It was so suspenseful, and surprising! I would reccommend this to anyone, but read the other books first! The ending was amazing and totally unexpected! I really want to know when the next book will come out... With an ending like that, I want the next one soon! Read it and you will understand!! (I also Reccommend the Private series, and Privilege series, the Private spinoff)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    lovee this book

    I love this series with a burning passion. Aria is my favorite because I can kinda relate to her. But if you wanted a book that would keep you up all night, this series is it, it has romance, drama, confusion, thrillers, killers, like everything packed into one book. So read them and don't let the cover fool you, yes its a barbie, but it makes sense once you read it. I looked at the cover and thought wow its stupid girly drama but it really isn't. =)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i think i know who the real a is!!!!

    i really think i know who the real A is. what i noticed is that in almost all of the prologues jason alisons older brother is in them. he is always in a bad mood. like when he was arguing with ian at the school and when he was arguing with alison at their house.maybe jason was so protective over alison that he wanted nobody around her so he kidnapped and faked her death .nobody would think that jason killed alison their blood relatives. another thing i noticed is that jason did not like ian because he was always flirting with alison that could be another reason why jason is a because he could have came back and killed ian.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Anoymus

    I have read this WHOLE series through out the summer, and i cant wait for june 5 2012!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!

    ok so i love these books!!! i mean they keep you constantly on the edge of you edge of seat going "WHAT!!! that did not just happen!" its the best book ive read scince twilight!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great

    This was a great book thend had a nice twist to it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Call me a fan! I have fallen even deeper into this series and with each book, I can't wait to find out more clues to eithe confirm or deny my guesses. I think I could be close, but really I have no clue and I love it.

    The writing has been so addictive. It is easy to slip into the story after reading a book between and I found myself immersed in the hunt for A and the killer. With each book, I hope to be closer and then at the end I find myself no closer, yet no further away from the truth. As stated before, there is some repetitiveness to each book because as the story develops Shepard repeats clues from previous books, but it can be easily bypassed.

    As I still haven't started watching the series, I am intrigued as to how close to the characters they follow and if the intricacies of the story are apparent on screen. Maybe a show I will check out soon, but I definitely want to complete my reading before I begin my viewing.

    I think this series can be enjoyed by all ages as the mystery is the heart of the story. As they are high schoolers, the drama is obviously at that level, but I don't think the story is any lower due to their ages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    must read

    i am hooked on these books !:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    AMAZING

    everybody should read this it is amazing book. but haves you hanging until the next one can't wait for the 7th one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ending left me so freaked out I went to sleep in my little sisters room...

    I feel bad for not wanting to give this book a chance, i thought Wicked was dumb, so I asssumed the rest of the series would be too. This book ended up being pretty good, atleast the ending was. I did not expect that at all and once again ended up feeling really bad for one of the characters, I have hope for the rest of the series now :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    As a fan of the Pretty Little Liars series, this book has been the best in the series by a landslide. As soon as you start to read the first page, you are immediately hooked. I was sad when the book ended because the ending was such a great cliffhanger that leaves you wanting for more. I can't wait for the next one. If you love mysteries I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Series!

    The Pretty Little Liars series is phenomenal!!! The series is definately geared towards teens, like myself, but they are very enjoyable books that will keep you wanting more! I can read these books in one day because they are so good! I definately recommend them to all other teen girls!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    i just finished it. i will never forgett this book.

    i have faithfully followed this series. as soon as i started reading this, i was hooked. i think that if your looking for a great book that keeps you suspense, this is perfect. it was definitley worth the money, and i can't wait for the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Killer, Pretty Little Liars 6

    The girls run to show Officer Wilden Ian's body in the woods, only to find nothing there. Wilden is acting completely suspiciously, and Emily is worried that Jason is up to something too, but Aria refuses to believe her, seeing as she's always had a crush on him. Hanna feels everyone is over-reacting, and has gotten a new phone and not given the number out to anyone she doesn't trust, to be A-proof. However, A has plenty more means of sending the notes. Meanwhile, Spencer has found a match on iloveyou.com, which means she could have found her biological mom, but Andrew is worried about her rushing into things too fast. And A is acting weird too, appearing to give clues about Ali's disappearance and sends a photo of Ali with Jenna and another one of Wilden exiting a confession box to Emily. Do the girls really know anything they thought they did? In Killer, you might just find out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love these series

    I think i know who A is. The series is soo hard to put down. I was reading wicked in barnes and noble. The twists and turns keep you hooked

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    PRETTY LITTLE LIAR series is MY LIFE!

    Oh wow. I so agree that these books are absolutley amazing! i think i know who A is in wicked (: its pretty intense and i totallly recommend it. also if you like all the drama and scary-like moments...you should definitely check out Kate Brian's Private series. It is amazing!!! Just like this book (: ive reread it about a million times! CANT WAIT FOR killer. (:

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57