Customer Reviews for

A Killer among Us (Women of Justice Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    LOVED THIS SERIES!

    I can't say enough good about this series. I really would love if Lynette Eason would decide to add another book or two...or three. I have read several of this author's books, and she has a wonderful writing style. The character development always unfolds perfectly, the suspense fantastic, just the right amount of Christian flavor to be inspiring (but wouldn't turn off a reader who may not get into that aspect), always a page turner and a story that makes you feel as though you've stepped right into the book. Don't pass up this series...and check out some of Eason's other books too! You'll be glad you did!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    (:

    This is the best series of books I have read in a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this series.....kept me reading even though there was a lot of predictability throughout her stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Everyone should read it

    The book is very very good I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Not for me.I don't like books that have pray in it.I won' be buy

    Not for me.I don't like books that have pray in it.I won' be buying any more of her books. Sorry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    AWESOME!

    By chance I came across this author. I love her writing style and recommend her books to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Awesome series

    Loved all three books of this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Killer Among Us

    When Detectives Noah Lambert and Kit Kenyon are assigned to the murder case of Walter Davis a twenty nine year old man who was getting ready to graduate from Wofford Law College, there pretty sure it isn't a random killing and when the second body shows up, a young lady who attended the same college the pair realizes that there is a serial killer on the loose. As they try and find the killer, the killer has his own plans which includes one of the detectives. Will the pair be able to figure out who the killer is before its to late?

    This book takes off like a house on fire, with unstoppable twists and turns to keep you flipping the pages to figure out who the killer is, and for while I thought I knew who the killer might be, I really wasn't sure until the end of the story.
    The characters in this novel are easy to connect with, Kit and Noah both have issues from their past, and Kit has let those issues keep her from God, but not so with Noah, he has a wonderful relationship with God. The relationship that develops between Noah and Kit was nice, and added to the story.

    While this book is the third book in the Women Of Justice series it can easily be read as a stand alone work because the author gives sufficient background so that you don't feel lost. If your a fan suspense/mystery novels that will keep you on the edge of your seat, that also weaves in a bit of inspiration and romance as well then you should certainly pick up this book, but I would suggest that you read the entire series, because the books are just that good!

    A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    my favorite in this series

    Women of Justice Book Three
    Lynette Eason
    2011
    Revell
    Fiction/Suspense/Romance

    Reviewed by Cindy Loven

    Kit Kenyon, is dealing with finding out that she was adopted, specifically finding out that she was a twin. She has met her sisters, and birth parents, even moved to their town. However the anger she feels toward her adoptive parents is costing her. Her relationship with her adoptive mother is suffering, her relationship God is suffering also.
    As a police officer, she has to stay focused. Being distracted can cost her, or her partner their lives, so she has to pull it all together, especially now that the case they are on is beginning to look like a serial killer is on the loose.
    Noah Lambert loves his job, but he is not happy with the choice of his new partner. He swore he never wanted to work with another woman partner after the last female partner was killed in the line of duty. Noah's faith is a huge part of his life and his job, and finding out that his new partner is struggling with her faith, is another distraction for Noah. Noah and Kit are on the case of the gavel killings. They also are dealing with someone shooting at them. Not only is there a crazed killer out there, it seems that someone is also targeting Noah and Kit, there must be no distractions.
    This book was my favorite in the Women of Justice series, having read and reviewed the first two, it was really great to see the familar characters of Jamie (Kit's twin sister) and Samantha and their spouses. The suspense in this book was edge of your seat reading and it will pull you in to the very end of the book. Lynette has wonderfully written this series and you will want to read all three of these books. Even though each book refers to the previous story, you will not be totally lost if you missed one of them. 343 pages US $14.99 5 stars.
    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
    Available May 2011 from your favorite seller of Revell books, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Killer Among Us

    The final novel in the Women of Justice series, A Killer Among Us pulls out all the stops. Author Lynette Eason gives readers a book crafted with so many twists and turns they will guessing all the way to the end! With a touch of romance and lots of suspense Eason's latest novel gets right to the heart of the matter, pitting a hostage negotiator and a seasoned officer against a maniacal serial killer. Eason fans will be sad to see the series end, but it certainly goes out with a bang!Many readers will be sad to see the end of the Women of Justice series. Lynette Eason has a remarkable way of making the reader become invested in her characters. But, I'm sure they will looking forward to what comes next from Eason. She has the ability to write romantic suspense without all the blood and guts and still add in a Christian message. Blending the romantic suspense genre with issues of faith is not an easy task, but Eason does it with style. In her latest book, she takes on a serial killer bent on his own form of justice. Eason's knack for creating compelling characters reaches all the way to the villain in this book. Readers will find it almost chilling being inside the head of the killer as he plots his next move. It is a riveting and heart-pounding novel that provides so many twists and turns that the reader will have to be on their toes if they want to figure out the killers next move. I loved the way Eason told the story not only from the point of view of the hero and heroine but also from the killers POV as well. It changed the entire dynamic of the book. There were several things going on in this novel besides the main plot line involving the murders. Kit is dealing with some serious issues in her family life. She has recently discovered she was adopted and has moved in order to be closer to this new family. But, it is definitely not without it's challenges. Kit is a strong woman, a hostage negotiator and feels that she has a handle on things. But this new family dynamic throws her for a loop. I enjoyed the way Eason showed Kit's vulnerability as she settles into a new rhythm in her life. She learns a hard fought lesson when she realizes that even when we sometimes forget about God, he doesn't forget us. Noah on the other hand thought he had everything figured out. He is a good detective. A godly man, who is loyal and just. His problems stem from losing his last female partner. When you feel like something is your fault or happened because of something you did, it's hard to forget. Noah deals with this situation throughout the book and learns that it's almost as important to forgive yourself as it is to forgive others. I thought Eason did a spectacular job of getting her message across with these two characters while not beating the reader over the head with it. It felt natural and understandable and I think readers will appreciate the subtlety.

    I would recommend this book, to romantic suspense fans. It may be a little short on the romance, but it's definitely there as Kit and Noah find an attraction between them that is hard to deny. This book will also appeal to fans of fast paced thrillers and even mystery readers as well. It isn't a long complicated book an can be read in a couple of sittings, if not straight through. It will definitely keep your attention and have you biting your nails.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Expect the Unexpected!

    This is the third book in a series, called the Women of Justice series. But you don't have to read the first two to enjoy this one. I find I'm totally enjoying the series, though, and the author, Lynette Eason. The way she works around the plot and the unexpected twists really keep my interest. Then there's the family drama of the main character dealing with the new knowledge of being adopted. Her new family is heavily involved in the story and we get to learn the emotional side of a life-changing event.

    Writing a killer suspense novel (no pun intended!) with enough detail without getting gorey while adding that touch of romance as well as a Christian theme is a very fine line. Ms. Eason covers all that while still keeping the reader wanting more. It's really hard to put this one down!

    I hope Ms. Eason is planning on a fourth book in the series-the characters are now cemented in my mind and I can't wait to see what comes next both professionally and personally for them. I would give this book a 5 out of 5 star rating for readability, cohesion, suspenseful plot, and developing sub-plots.


    Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    I received this book free from Revell as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Ending To A Great Series

    Lynette Eason in her new book, "A Killer Among Us" Book Three in her Women Of Justice series published by Revell takes us back to Spartanburg, South Carolina.

    Kit Kenyon is a first-rate hostage negotiator only just recently arrived in Spartanburg to be with her family. She has been newly partnered with Noah Lambert, a veteran on the force, and there are still sparks as these two clash as they work out their differences. Now there is a serial killer on the loose called The Judge. He has a planned execution for a number of individuals where he will be the Judge, jury and executioner. And either Kit or Noah is on The Judge's list.

    "A Killer Among Us" is a thriller, no doubt about it. Kit and Noah's lives are in great danger from page one and the danger grows with the body count. Just when you think you might know where the story is heading Ms. Eason tosses in another turn which you take at high-speed on two wheels. There are so many wonderful themes in this book especially God's love and forgiveness. "A Killer Among Us" reminds us that God never abandons us or forsakes us even when we turn our backs on him! Ms. Eason makes her characters so real and you root for them to complete their mission and you root for their romance to blossom. Ms. Eason knows how to tell a story that keeps you flipping the pages and guessing as to who the bad guys really are. This is a wild ride read and I recommend it highly. While I am sorry that this book concludes the series I am looking forward to Ms. Eason's new series.

    If you missed the interview for "Too Close To Home", the first book in the series, and would like to listen to it and/or other interviews as well please go to Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hunter Becomes the Hunted

    The latest thriller in the Women of Justice series, Lynette Eason pulls out all the punches in her book, A Killer Among Us.

    Detective Kit Kenyon, a first-rate hostage negotiator, is Detective Noah Lambert's new female partner. One he's not ready to deal with after losing his previous female partner. They get off to a rough start, due to Noah's initial lack of respect, which Kit quickly nips in the bud.

    Three weeks into their new partnership, a grisly murder pops up. Even with both using their distinguished talents, they are thrown into a tailspin as additional murders begin to occur. About the time a commonality in the victims is identified, the next one blows their theory out of the water.

    More help is brought in as they determine they have a serial killer on their hands. The killer, who is identified as the Judge, is crafty in evading the investigators. Your interest is piqued by Lynette's multi-layered and intense plots and twists, keeping you enthralled in the chase to the very end.

    You find yourself grieving with the victim's families and struggling with the exasperation of the investigators' inability to speedily track the killer down, as well as their exhaustion due to the number of murders occurring. Throw in the simmering romance between Kit and Noah, the fact that the killer is also after the detectives, and you have one riveting story that keeps you reading late into the night!

    This story is heart-warming on a different level, that brings the reality of the whole situation into context. One that both Kit and Noah will learn.

    Noah's faith is vital to all that is going on, despite the gruesomeness of the murders and the devastation to the families. It's his faith that unnerves Kit initially. But gently opens her heart.

    This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant, of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling suspense with a touch of romance

    A Killer Among Us is exhilarating! The story is about 2 detectives, Noah and Kit who are new partners and find themselves working on a serial killer case. Not only are there people getting killed around them but it is evident that either Noah or Kit are getting hunted too! Trying to work with new a new partner is always a struggle especially when you find yourself attracted to that person as well.

    Once you start reading A Killer Among Us, you'll have a hard time putting it down. There is a ton of action and suspense that had me guessing who the killer was the entire time. This book reminded me of watching the TV show "Criminal Minds" where you get to see inside the head of the killer as well as watching the detectives work the case. I enjoyed the tidbits of a glimpse in to the killers mind, he sure was psychotic.

    The main characters were enjoyable; I was completely immersed in their lives right from the start. I really admired Noah; he was such a Godly man and always made an effort to remind Kit as well as others of God's love.

    The spiritual threads in here were perfect. There was a lot of action going on, but here and there was a mention of God's love and forgiveness. A Killer Among us reminded me that God never abandons us or forsakes us even when we turn our backs on him! Very inspirational!

    The romance was sweet and desirable. I felt like the romance moved a little fast considering it all happened within a few weeks but I wouldn't change anything about it. Very clean and enjoyable! I am looking forward to reading more by Lynette Eason. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy Christian Suspense with a touch of romance, you will not be disappointed.

    I received a copy of this book to read and review from the author. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3