Customer Reviews for

The Killer Angels

Average Rating 4.5
( 437 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great book - Must read!

The Killer Angels written by Michael Shaara, is a very interesting book that describes the Civil War in vivid detail, specifically the Battle of Gettysburg. If you are an individual who is enthusiastic about learning about our nation's history and past, then it will be ...
The Killer Angels written by Michael Shaara, is a very interesting book that describes the Civil War in vivid detail, specifically the Battle of Gettysburg. If you are an individual who is enthusiastic about learning about our nation's history and past, then it will be a great choice to purchase this book. In addition, this book is, for the most part, historically accurate, and will create an image in your mind of the landscape and the various skirmishes it details. Ever since I visited Gettysburg myself, I have had a passion for understanding and learning more about the battle itself, and I feel that this book has enhanced my knowledge of it and given me a new perspective on the events leading up to, and after, the battle.
I really enjoyed the way in which Shaara used the point of view of multiple characters throughout the story, on both sides of the war, to truly involve the reader in the feeling and emotions of both the Union and the Confederacy, and allow the reader to view their perspectives in terms of the reasoning behind their judgments and reasons for being involved in such a war. When detailing a major historical event such as the Battle of Gettysburg, numbers and statistics are not always the best way to involve a reader, which is why Shaara presented the story from the perspective of a single soldier or general on either side of the war, to allow the reader to experience what the individual had felt and thought. When a reader becomes emotionally involved in a book, they are more apt to have a greater understanding of the material within, and have a much better overall experience in reading the story. I enjoyed the book because I became somewhat emotionally involved, and I greatly enjoyed the presentation of the Battle of Gettysburg through several different perspectives and points of view.
In the case of any historically significant book that has conflicting points of interest, there is bound to be some sort of bias or historical inaccuracy, and the latter of which is present in this book. One major historical inaccuracy in the book is that Shaara detailed that the 20th Maine brigade of the Union army was present to defend General Pickett's charge. According to several historians, the 20th Maine brigade was defending the Union's left flank, and could not have defended against Pickett's charge, which brings forth the presence of a historical discrepancy. I believe that Shaara portrayed the 20th Maine defending against Pickett's charge to add appeal and zest to the story. The presence of a historical discrepancy did not detract from the overall detail and meaning of the book, however it did slightly detract from the point in the plot detailing Pickett's charge.
Overall, I enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to anyone who has a desire to learn about the Civil War, The Battle of Gettysburg, or any of the significant military leaders. The way in which Shaara presented the information about the logistics of the Battle of Gettysburg through various viewpoints and perspectives greatly interested me, and allowed me to become very involved with the book, which is why I finished it in two days.
I would recommend this book to an audience of individuals who are mature enough to handle the violence and loss of life that the story entails, and are conscious enough to keep up with the multiple story lines.

posted by SWA7X on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

We tried reading this for a group that was making high A's in my history class and all I can say is, "AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH THIS MAKES MY HEAD WANT TO EXPLODE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" I guess if I was older I would underatand it more. I am just giving my personal opinion. ...
We tried reading this for a group that was making high A's in my history class and all I can say is, "AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH THIS MAKES MY HEAD WANT TO EXPLODE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" I guess if I was older I would underatand it more. I am just giving my personal opinion. As an American I have the freedom of speech to say what I feel (so long as it is not demeaning or bad...). Don't get me wrong at first it was okay, then, well AHHHHHHHHHHHH again.

posted by 10435811 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 437 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Great book - Must read!

    The Killer Angels written by Michael Shaara, is a very interesting book that describes the Civil War in vivid detail, specifically the Battle of Gettysburg. If you are an individual who is enthusiastic about learning about our nation's history and past, then it will be a great choice to purchase this book. In addition, this book is, for the most part, historically accurate, and will create an image in your mind of the landscape and the various skirmishes it details. Ever since I visited Gettysburg myself, I have had a passion for understanding and learning more about the battle itself, and I feel that this book has enhanced my knowledge of it and given me a new perspective on the events leading up to, and after, the battle.
    I really enjoyed the way in which Shaara used the point of view of multiple characters throughout the story, on both sides of the war, to truly involve the reader in the feeling and emotions of both the Union and the Confederacy, and allow the reader to view their perspectives in terms of the reasoning behind their judgments and reasons for being involved in such a war. When detailing a major historical event such as the Battle of Gettysburg, numbers and statistics are not always the best way to involve a reader, which is why Shaara presented the story from the perspective of a single soldier or general on either side of the war, to allow the reader to experience what the individual had felt and thought. When a reader becomes emotionally involved in a book, they are more apt to have a greater understanding of the material within, and have a much better overall experience in reading the story. I enjoyed the book because I became somewhat emotionally involved, and I greatly enjoyed the presentation of the Battle of Gettysburg through several different perspectives and points of view.
    In the case of any historically significant book that has conflicting points of interest, there is bound to be some sort of bias or historical inaccuracy, and the latter of which is present in this book. One major historical inaccuracy in the book is that Shaara detailed that the 20th Maine brigade of the Union army was present to defend General Pickett's charge. According to several historians, the 20th Maine brigade was defending the Union's left flank, and could not have defended against Pickett's charge, which brings forth the presence of a historical discrepancy. I believe that Shaara portrayed the 20th Maine defending against Pickett's charge to add appeal and zest to the story. The presence of a historical discrepancy did not detract from the overall detail and meaning of the book, however it did slightly detract from the point in the plot detailing Pickett's charge.
    Overall, I enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to anyone who has a desire to learn about the Civil War, The Battle of Gettysburg, or any of the significant military leaders. The way in which Shaara presented the information about the logistics of the Battle of Gettysburg through various viewpoints and perspectives greatly interested me, and allowed me to become very involved with the book, which is why I finished it in two days.
    I would recommend this book to an audience of individuals who are mature enough to handle the violence and loss of life that the story entails, and are conscious enough to keep up with the multiple story lines.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    What an amazing book!

    I didn't know what to expect from this book- probably got it for my nook based on the overall rating given by others. I have been to Gettysburg, but it has been years, and I was tired and hot when I went, so didn't get much of a feel for it.
    This book changed all that. The unique approach of looking at the war from the different soldiers/generals perspective was refreshing and thought-provoking. The conflicting emotions of the southern leaders of wanting to fight for their homes and lifestyle vs. the guilt of fighting against dear friends from earlier times was presented in a striking way.
    I found myself looking for times I could read this book over lunch at work, while waiting for my next appointment, etc. It kept me up late, and gave me things to think about throughout the day.
    All in all, I'd love to read this book again just before going to visit Gettysburg. I think it would be a profound experience.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Not just for war lovers.

    I'm not a war strategy enthusiast, but when I read this for school I loved it for its ability to make you rethink the Civil War from a new perspective, an idea this book focuses on.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    AP World History Review: An Excellant Insight into the Civil War

    At first, when I decided to read Killer Angels by Michael Shaara, I was not extremely enthusiastic, thinking it would be just another history book concerning only the Battle of Gettysburg in the Civil War. Yet I sincerely enjoyed reading this novel, and it definately helped expand my grasp of the perspectives and justifications of individuals in both the Union and the Confederacy. Shaara states that this novel's purpose was to help readers actually experience what it would be like to be at the Battle of Gettysburg (xiii). He completely accomplishes this goal. I actually felt like I was a part of the story, experiencing the victories and defeats along with each of the characters. This book made these characters, famous individuals like Robert E. Lee and Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, feel like real human beings with varying personalities and morals, unlike pieces in a chess game as most history books or lessons make them out to be. I genuinely loved this book because it read more like a novel then a textbook or the listing of facts. It became personal, making the novel more enjoyable and educational. I highly recommend anyone to read Killer Angels by Michael Shaara if they are in search of a novel that provides insight into the Civil War, makes historical figures seem more like people you could meet today, and just gives readers an entertaining and educational story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    Great book. The author brought you into the battle. I couldn't put the book down. You got to know the generals, the officers and what they were thinking behind the scences of the most important battle of the civil war. Can't wait to read books from this author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Anomyous

    The book is packed with Civil War facts. But it is not a good book for kids.
    I had to read this book for summer reading, and it took me forever to get through it. It is a good book, but not for kids.
    This book is aimed more for adults.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Must read

    Killer angels is a must read 4 anyone who likes the civil war. I knew the basics of the civil war but I didn't know that Pickett's Charge George Pickett wasn't supposed to do much this is a great read but it os a little bit confusing at first. ( you will not like this grandma)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

    We tried reading this for a group that was making high A's in my history class and all I can say is, "AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH THIS MAKES MY HEAD WANT TO EXPLODE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" I guess if I was older I would underatand it more. I am just giving my personal opinion. As an American I have the freedom of speech to say what I feel (so long as it is not demeaning or bad...). Don't get me wrong at first it was okay, then, well AHHHHHHHHHHHH again.

    1 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Truely amazing. What courage.

    Highly recommend Killer Angels to all civil war buffs. To get a better flavor of the intensity of what these brave soldiers endured one must take the time to visit Gettysburg. Truely an amazing sight. Sent chills up my back to envision the thousands of men walking into death for what they believed in. No stronger convictions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    The best novel on the American Civil War

    I don't think five stars are enough for The Killer Angels. The book is a work of art. Despite a few inaccuracies (such as a newly imported slave), and a bad characterization (Lee comes off as borderline senile when seen from Longstreet's POV), The Killer Angels is a modern Epic. Everything from Buford's Cavalry making its historic stand, to Chamberlain's charge on Little Round Top, and Pickett's Charge, the entirety of the Battle of Gettysburg is depicted here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Very boring

    I had to read this book for school... it took me the whole summer because it was so boring.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    obviously forced to read this

    quite honestly, I was not impressed with this book. i had to read it for school, and wound of sparknoting and cliffsnoting the book instead of reading it. a huge let-down. and very confusing when the book switches point of views.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    I think The Killer Angels Gets an ¿A¿ grade in fictional Civil W

    I think The Killer Angels Gets an “A” grade in fictional Civil War Memorabilia. The time frame of the book is in July of 1863.The book was based on the thoughts and actions of the major people in the Battle of Gettysburg. The way he wrote was very unique as well, he wrote in a third person omniscient POV. It showed what each person on each side of the war thought about the war. I liked this fact because I like civil war stuff and I like how it feels like you are there listening to the people talk. Not only did Shaara talk about the war though the people, he showed us what each side was fighting for, and that is the most important part.
    I think the author presents his purpose very well, even though it is a fictional book based on the civil war. He completely and thoroughly explains what these people in the war thought and said. This book does relate to my history class in the Time period of 1750 to 1900. The way he wrote the book, you could imagine that you are actually there and listening to the people such as Lawrence Chamberlain and Robert E. Lee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book

    Fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Below

    Why dont you take your stupid whiny face and not bither people who arent big babies huh?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Pretty good

    Tells alot of history, in a first-person view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    An absolutely great book -- a must read -- what more needs to be said?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    DIE A FORTH TIME

    DIE A FORTH TIME IF YOU DON'T GIVE THIS BOOK FIVE STARS A QUADRILLION TIMES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Great book

    Good account of the battle at Gettysberg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Civil war freak.

    I Loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 437 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22