Customer Reviews for

Killer Dreams

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An adrenaline pumping thriller

Sophie Dunston is close to her parents so she and her son Michael are spending time with them. Out of the blue her dad kills the wife he loves and cherishes and points the gun at his grandson. Sophie gets shot when she steps in between her two men. Later she learns t...
Sophie Dunston is close to her parents so she and her son Michael are spending time with them. Out of the blue her dad kills the wife he loves and cherishes and points the gun at his grandson. Sophie gets shot when she steps in between her two men. Later she learns that the sleep therapist her father was seeing was a minion of her first employer, Sanborne. She invented Rem-4, a drug that allowed people to be influenced into doing things while they sleep. When Sophie realized that Sanborne plans to sell the dangerous product to the highest bidder, she left him.-------------- Sanborne believes that Sophie is a loose end that he intends to get rid of starting with what happened to her dad. She proves difficult to kill ever since Royd entered her life as he was once one of Sanborne┬┐s brainwashed killers who broke through the conditioning. Like Sophie he plans to bring Sanborne down and destroy Rem-4. Sophie and Royd are attracted to one another, but they have a mission that needs to be finished before they can consider exploring a future together.--------------- Once again Iris Johansen writes a thriller that will grip readers so much that they will ignore any other nearby activity. The story-line contains so much action fans will believe they are on a looping roller coaster unable to catch their breath before plunging into the next spin. KILLER DREAMS is filled with adventure, but the romantic subplot between the two protagonists feels right as a natural outcome of what they have suffered, enhancing an adrenaline pumping thriller.------------ Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

I've read all of this author's thrillers and really think she should go back to what she does best...ie Eve Duncan forensic sculptor series was excellent but this book and several before it are really not good reading. The plots are way over the top and childish..even t...
I've read all of this author's thrillers and really think she should go back to what she does best...ie Eve Duncan forensic sculptor series was excellent but this book and several before it are really not good reading. The plots are way over the top and childish..even the romance subjects don't click! Go back to Ugly Duckling, Then You Die,Face of Deception etc!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Disappointing!

    I've read all of this author's thrillers and really think she should go back to what she does best...ie Eve Duncan forensic sculptor series was excellent but this book and several before it are really not good reading. The plots are way over the top and childish..even the romance subjects don't click! Go back to Ugly Duckling, Then You Die,Face of Deception etc!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An adrenaline pumping thriller

    Sophie Dunston is close to her parents so she and her son Michael are spending time with them. Out of the blue her dad kills the wife he loves and cherishes and points the gun at his grandson. Sophie gets shot when she steps in between her two men. Later she learns that the sleep therapist her father was seeing was a minion of her first employer, Sanborne. She invented Rem-4, a drug that allowed people to be influenced into doing things while they sleep. When Sophie realized that Sanborne plans to sell the dangerous product to the highest bidder, she left him.-------------- Sanborne believes that Sophie is a loose end that he intends to get rid of starting with what happened to her dad. She proves difficult to kill ever since Royd entered her life as he was once one of Sanborne¿s brainwashed killers who broke through the conditioning. Like Sophie he plans to bring Sanborne down and destroy Rem-4. Sophie and Royd are attracted to one another, but they have a mission that needs to be finished before they can consider exploring a future together.--------------- Once again Iris Johansen writes a thriller that will grip readers so much that they will ignore any other nearby activity. The story-line contains so much action fans will believe they are on a looping roller coaster unable to catch their breath before plunging into the next spin. KILLER DREAMS is filled with adventure, but the romantic subplot between the two protagonists feels right as a natural outcome of what they have suffered, enhancing an adrenaline pumping thriller.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    Killer Dreams was the first Iris Johansen book for me. It was very entertaining with all the crazy action and running-around. I would have pereferred a little more romance and epilogue. All in all, it kept me interested. I will definitely pick up another Johansen book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Very light weight.

    Well kind readers, all I can say is that this book by Iris Johansen starts out with a good plot, then is a very thin read the rest of the way. To be truthful after the first too chapters the story was dull and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Huge Disappointment!

    This book was dull, predictable and I can not comprehend how this author is even semi- famous. The first book I've read by her and never again. It is written on a 5th grade level with a weak plot. The author is unable to paint a picture of the scene or keep you intrigued. Killer dreams was more like a day dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    After my last Iris Johansen novel I vowed that I wouldn't waste my time reading another...and I should have followed my own advice. The characters in Killer Dreams were predictable and the same genre of her other novels. The headstrong and stubborn heroine also just happens to harbor extreme guilt to the point of being ineffective and unconvincing. The unrealistic heroes who have resources and connections to the point where Johansen doesn't even bother finishing story lines she doesn't have to because they magically get get resolved! Never again will I waste my life minutes reading an Iris Johansen book- and this time I'm sticking to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Another Cookie Cutter 'Heroine'

    In the beginning, I really enjoyed Johansen's books and anxiously awaited the newest ones, but before long I literally started getting angry with the 'heroines'. Although her plot lines are good and the stories themselves are entertaining, she cuts all her 'heroines' with the same cookie cutter personality. They are unreasonable, stubborn, foolish, know-it-alls that don't have the common sense to think before they speak. Everything must be on THEIR terms or else. They put all the other characters in jeopardy with their control issues. I was really hoping a new personality would begin to emerge as time passes and Johansen hones her skills as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    A Must Read

    This was the first book I read from this author. I was very impressed. I thought the book was very spell binding. It was hard to put it down. The story, and plot were surprising. It left me wanting more!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Disappointing

    Sophie Dunston is an idealistic researcher who gets caught up in mayhem and murder when her research in sleep therapy and REM4 sleep is used for military mind-control purposes. Wanting to help her father who suffers from insomnia she developed a wonder drug which has been subverted by Sandborne, her previous boss. Sandborne has applied her discovery to ex-military types, turning them into docile living zombies. He now intends to sell the drug to the highest bidder. Running for her life, helped by former patients of Sandbornes' Sophie battles her guilt and her nightmares, hoping to put an end to the experiments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Favorite Iris book

    I havent read too many of this authors book. This book is one of my favorites of hers. Its never boring. You cant put it down. Theres a lot of action with a romantic flare to it which makes it even better. The ending is the best part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Disappointing... but maybe Johansen is not for me

    I¿ve never read a Johansen book before, but I saw a lot of good reviews and the plot sounded interesting, so I got this book, but it was alright. I liked the whole REM-4 thing, but she didn¿t go into much detail with that or dreams. I love mystery and thrillers but I didn¿t like like the way she wrote it. So if you are a Johansen fan, you will probably like it, otherwise, pass on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2006

    Extremely disappointing

    She used to be my favorite writer. Her Eve Duncan stories were great. I could never put her books down. Now I have a difficult time making it through the first few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SUSPENSE, ROMANCE, AND SURPRISING PLOT TWISTS

    New York Times bestselling author Iris Johansen is back bringing all her trademark suspense, romance, and surprising plot twists. With Killer Dreams she blends fear exacerbated by terrifying nightmares plus a psychotic killer on the loose and on the prowl. Sophie Dunston is one of the nations best known sleep therapists. Her specialty? Night terrors, the fears that ravage her ten-year-old son Michael. Perhaps rightly so because Michael has witnessed a horror that most of us cannot even imagine. He saw his grandfather kill his grandmother with a single shot in the head and then try to kill him. This behavior, so unlike Sophie's father was due to REM-4, a chemical originally invented by Sophie who had no knowledge that it would turn normal people into zombie-like killers. Now, after all the tragedy she has endured one of these killers is after her. She will do anything to protect Michael, even accepting the help of Matt Royd, a recovered REM-4 victim. It will come as no surprise to Johansen readers that at first Sophie detests Matt but soon has a change of heart. The real question is how to stop the diabolical killer who is after Sophie for her research and her life. There's plenty of action and tension galore as Sophie and Matt try to outwit one of the scariest characters in thrillerdom. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Great, Great, Great :)

    Iris Johansen rarely disappoints me. This was a great, well writen book. I read it over the course of 8 hours. Could not put it down. Kept you on the edge of your seat. If you're a fan of hers, be sure to read this one, you'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Synopsis

    #1 New York Times bestselling author Iris Johansen returns with a new suspense thriller guaranteed to keep readers turning pages all night long¿an adrenaline-laced shocker that pits a mother and son against a killer who¿s the stuff of nightmares. If you close your eyes, he¿ll get you. Sophie Dunston knows all too well how dreams can kill. As one of the nation¿s top sleep therapists, she specializes in the life-threatening night terrors that her ten-year-old son, Michael, suffers from. But she is also an expert in another kind of terror¿the kind that can turn a dream life into a living nightmare in the blink of an eye. Someone is watching. He¿s a shadowy figure from out of her darkest fears and he hasn¿t forgotten her. In one shocking moment of violence, he¿d shattered Sophie¿s world forever and left her with only one thing to live for: her son. But the nightmare isn¿t over for Sophie Dunston. It¿s just begun. He¿s been waiting. Sophie was supposed to die the first time around, but fate intervened. This time he¿ll make sure that not even a miracle will save her. It wasn¿t a miracle that saved Jock Gavin, but it was pretty close. A semiretired hit man, commando, and jack-of-all-deadly-trades, he knows what Sophie is up against¿and that she¿ll need help. But the man he¿s chosen for the job is as unpredictable as he is dangerous. Matt Royd is a wild card¿hard, cool, merciless¿and putting him into play changes the game completely. But to whose advantage? Sophie will soon find out. She will have to trust Royd because she has no choices left. Because the bogeyman haunting her dreams is all too real and he¿s on the hunt again. Because the nightmare he¿s got planned for Sophie won¿t end when she wakes up screaming. It won¿t end. Ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2