Customer Reviews for

The Killer Inside Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

crazy mind blowing book

All is not as it seems in this is chilling account told by Lou Ford, a sheriff's deputy in a small town in Texas. This easy-going, well-liked man is a respected citizen of the town and is well known for his quiet, gentle nature. But it's all an act and as Lou tells us a...
All is not as it seems in this is chilling account told by Lou Ford, a sheriff's deputy in a small town in Texas. This easy-going, well-liked man is a respected citizen of the town and is well known for his quiet, gentle nature. But it's all an act and as Lou tells us a little about his past, the demons in his head that are behind his secret, violent nature.

This is a serial killer book with a couple of very interesting features. The first is, it was written back when stories about serial killers weren't very common and so, was pretty groundbreaking stuff. The second is that it is written entirely in the first person from the point of view of the killer. We get the total range of emotions from before, during and after each murder. The thought processes that prompt every action and the way he goes about covering up his tracks satisfies the stream of consciousness style writing that makes this book so chilling. We get a terrific example of the grim style of Jim Thompson's storytelling that is captivating and slightly horrifying. The book is a great example of the excellent usage of stream of consciousness to better understand the intricate inner workings of a psychotic man.

posted by 3075680 on February 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst. Book. Ever.

The only reason I can see that Stephen King would have endorsed such a piece of trash, is that the "author" was blackmailing him.

Did anyone actually believe that she was really dead?? The only good thing I can say about this crap is that it is only 200 pages long.

T...
The only reason I can see that Stephen King would have endorsed such a piece of trash, is that the "author" was blackmailing him.

Did anyone actually believe that she was really dead?? The only good thing I can say about this crap is that it is only 200 pages long.

The writing was shoddy, boring, and poorly thought out. I would have dropped it like a hot rock if I wasn't OCD about finishing a book I have begun.

Save yourself the torture and don't bother with this book. (Unless you happen to be out of toilet paper.)

posted by 489090 on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    crazy mind blowing book

    All is not as it seems in this is chilling account told by Lou Ford, a sheriff's deputy in a small town in Texas. This easy-going, well-liked man is a respected citizen of the town and is well known for his quiet, gentle nature. But it's all an act and as Lou tells us a little about his past, the demons in his head that are behind his secret, violent nature.

    This is a serial killer book with a couple of very interesting features. The first is, it was written back when stories about serial killers weren't very common and so, was pretty groundbreaking stuff. The second is that it is written entirely in the first person from the point of view of the killer. We get the total range of emotions from before, during and after each murder. The thought processes that prompt every action and the way he goes about covering up his tracks satisfies the stream of consciousness style writing that makes this book so chilling. We get a terrific example of the grim style of Jim Thompson's storytelling that is captivating and slightly horrifying. The book is a great example of the excellent usage of stream of consciousness to better understand the intricate inner workings of a psychotic man.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Worst. Book. Ever.

    The only reason I can see that Stephen King would have endorsed such a piece of trash, is that the "author" was blackmailing him.

    Did anyone actually believe that she was really dead?? The only good thing I can say about this crap is that it is only 200 pages long.

    The writing was shoddy, boring, and poorly thought out. I would have dropped it like a hot rock if I wasn't OCD about finishing a book I have begun.

    Save yourself the torture and don't bother with this book. (Unless you happen to be out of toilet paper.)

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    SAMPLE TOO SHORT

    I just finished the 29 page sample of this book which would have been sufficient except 27 of those pages were the introduction written by Stephen King. I prefer to read an actual sample of the AUTHOR'S writing, not someone else's opinion (even Stephen King's, one of my favorite authors) and one and a half pages is hardly a sample.
    N. Yaras

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    The first part of this book scared me so much that it took me two years to finish. After the the main character talks to the call girl,I nearly threw up. Why did I keep reading? Jim Thompson's prose is so terse, and I loved his book, Pop. 1280. By the end you just feel like Thompson understands the perverted mind so much that one feels he could not have been sane himself. And then you realize that it's the writing. It's just brilliant!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I enjoyed it

    I think Worst.Book.Ever is a cheapskate in disguise. Dude you should have used Overdrive and read it free. Do you have a library card? Maybe i should ask, "do they have libraries where you are from?".

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Fear This Book

    The tale of an average joe - who is sick ... very sick. Thompson takes you deeply into his world. It made me recognize how little separates us from the disturbed. KT

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Crime the way it should be written

    I am new to Thompson. I think I picked the perfect book to introduce myself to one of the masters of the genre. Witty, dry, intriguing and horrific, Thompson's 'protagonist' Lou Ford is a brilliant piece of work. A quick read that stays with you. I am moving on to the next Thompson with great eagerness...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    A Definite read

    For a book published back in the 50's I never expected it to be ss disturbing and at times frightening. The characters really gave you that realism that you don't always find in a book. A vey quick read , but worth taking the time to indulge in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Question

    Why is Stephen King's name on this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    CRAZY!!!!

    Have you guys seen the movie? The movie is way more disturbing! Watch it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Boring as Hell

    I struggled to read this title because the narration was boring. I sense that this title would have been better if it was a movie because reading the internal musing of the main character turned out to be uninteresting and tedious.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Unusually captivating.

    Out of the ordinary storytelling. Kept my interest throughout.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Luke Warm

    I don't understand the controversy with this book. I read it because it was a list of the 25 most disturbing books of all time. I thought it was not very disturbing at all... I compare it to Albert Camus' The Stranger, only not even close to as good. Obviously the main character and narrator is a psycho, and he obviously thinks he is just fine and reasonable for the most part. I don't understand what is odd about that for a crazy person. Anyways, I give this book 2/5 because it held my attention but I was expecting SO much more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Not that great.

    I bought this book and the Talented Mr. Ripley at the same time. 80 pages into this one I put it down. The book was hard to follow. You couldnt see in your head what was going on. If your looking for what I was looking for in this book, go for The Talented Mr. Ripley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    Honest, demented.

    A very honest portrayal of a demented mind. A good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    A roadside billboard reads: WARNING! WARNING! HITCHHIKERS MAY BE

    A roadside billboard reads: WARNING! WARNING! HITCHHIKERS MAY BE ESCAPED LUNATICS Welcome to the nightmare world of Jim Thompson, author Stephen King invites us in his laudatory introduction to The Killer Inside Me. "This anonymous and little-read Oklahoma novelist captured the spirit of his age...emptiness, a feeling of loss in a land of plenty..."

    However, whether Thompson enjoys space on the shelf beside Moby Dick and Huckleberry Finn, as King suggests, is highly arguable. But the book's stand in the mystery/slasher genre is high indeed.

    Says King in a memorable quote from another critic: "Leslie Fiedler suggests in "Love and Death in the American Novel" that the language Thompson employs to tell Deputy Ford's story has a kind of starey, socketed ugliness that rasps across our minds like stiff wire bristles." This is especially true in passeges like: "I backed her against the wall, slugging, and it was like pounding a pumpkin...I wiped my gloves on her body; it was her blood and it belonged there." Thompson also has a strong feel for his venue, Central City, Texas, and its local standards of conduct, including the Sheriff's interview with a "hustlin' lady." Thus: "Out here you say ma'am and no ma'am to anything with skirts on; anything white, that is...Out here you're a man, a man and a gentleman, or you aren't anything. And God help you if you're not." Jim Thompson deserves due respect for The Killer Inside Me. At its best--and that's frequent enough--the work has a masterful, colorful grip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Read it

    Sdsn

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2