Customer Reviews for

Killer Instinct

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quite a ride!

Joseph Finder is at the top of his game with his new business thriller, ¿Killer Instinct.¿ Entronics salesman Jason Steadman is busy multitasking on his commute home when he drives into a ditch. Jason assists the tow-truck driver, Kurt Semko (an ex-Special For...
Joseph Finder is at the top of his game with his new business thriller, ¿Killer Instinct.¿ Entronics salesman Jason Steadman is busy multitasking on his commute home when he drives into a ditch. Jason assists the tow-truck driver, Kurt Semko (an ex-Special Forces soldier), in getting a security job at Entronics. Then the rollercoaster ride begins¿proving once again, that no good deed goes unpunished. Kurt uses his Special Forces Operations skills to perform various acts of skullduggery that advance Jason¿s career. Strange things happen to those (both inside and outside of the company) who appear to hinder Jason¿s sales goals. Jason learns that business is war when people turn up dead. And, he wants out¿but there is no escape from his fiendish benefactor. Jason is ensnared in the life Kurt has set up for him. Jason must figure a way to outmaneuver his malicious patron. He employs double-crosses, duplicity, corporate politics, deceptions and corruption as he attempts to take his life back. Joseph Finder is a wonderful storyteller. ¿Killer Instinct¿ keeps you glued to the page. It is a remarkable tale of how an ordinary individual manages to extricate himself from a dilemma of substantial proportions after he is pushed to extremes.

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not aweful, not great

It took about 2/3 of the book for it to finally get interesting. I almost quit and I have never done that. Too much boring sales and electronic talk. The ending was pretty good. Probably the only good part.

posted by 17066055 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Quite a ride!

    Joseph Finder is at the top of his game with his new business thriller, ¿Killer Instinct.¿ Entronics salesman Jason Steadman is busy multitasking on his commute home when he drives into a ditch. Jason assists the tow-truck driver, Kurt Semko (an ex-Special Forces soldier), in getting a security job at Entronics. Then the rollercoaster ride begins¿proving once again, that no good deed goes unpunished. Kurt uses his Special Forces Operations skills to perform various acts of skullduggery that advance Jason¿s career. Strange things happen to those (both inside and outside of the company) who appear to hinder Jason¿s sales goals. Jason learns that business is war when people turn up dead. And, he wants out¿but there is no escape from his fiendish benefactor. Jason is ensnared in the life Kurt has set up for him. Jason must figure a way to outmaneuver his malicious patron. He employs double-crosses, duplicity, corporate politics, deceptions and corruption as he attempts to take his life back. Joseph Finder is a wonderful storyteller. ¿Killer Instinct¿ keeps you glued to the page. It is a remarkable tale of how an ordinary individual manages to extricate himself from a dilemma of substantial proportions after he is pushed to extremes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    The delight is in the details.

    Through his amanuensis, the auhor kindly sent me an advance review copy of this work, and these are my impressions: Interspersed among developments in the cloak-and-dagger plot of Killer Instinct are small cameos, object lessons, and wry humor. With apologies to Edith Wharton and to the furniture company, I cite the first-person narrator's introductory comment about his nephew: 'Ethan is what you name a kid who you fully expect, even before he's born, to get beat up on the playground, his lunch money stolen, his glasses snapped in two, and his face pushed into the dirt.' And, after describing the boy's passing fascination with 'instruments of medieval torture,' the narrator comments, 'You had to wonder about his parents' marriage.' Vivid descriptions, keen psychological insights, fully limned characterizations, and a pervasive sense of the tenuousness of good fortune punctuate this memorable tale of an upwardly mobile couple who ascend the slippery pole from Belmont to Cambridge, from an Acura to a Mercedes, and from childlessness to impending parenthood.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Not aweful, not great

    It took about 2/3 of the book for it to finally get interesting. I almost quit and I have never done that. Too much boring sales and electronic talk. The ending was pretty good. Probably the only good part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    The most dragging, boring, weak ending book I've ever read/liste

    The most dragging, boring, weak ending book I've ever read/listened to. Thank heavens for the reader on the audio, his reading was what made me finish the book. Had it been a hard copy I would have returned it right away. This was my first of Joseph Finder and maybe my last. Too wordy, the author felt like he needed to describe everything. The main character is weak and submissive. After all that keeps happening to him he's still is surprised when the psycho is 3 step ahead of him! overall did not enjoy the book...It was torture!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    This is great - gotta read it!

    It's a corporate thriller - nothing like I imagined. Great new plot. As many books as I have read, this has a really different twist. Great ending. It is a real page turner. You never know who you can trust in the business world. Gets you to thinking of different options and possibilities. Definately enjoy Joseph Finder novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Very Good Read!!

    Good writing, good characters, good plot all make for a great book!! Joseph Finder at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good - but a little slow in the middle

    Successful Salesmen must have a killer instinct, and Jason Steadman must find his or lose his position at Etronics. Rumors abound at the Farmington office. The home office in Japan is planning to close a division of the high end electronics corporation. Jason is happy with the level he has risen to, but not his ambitious wife. Kate is encouraging her husband to apply for a promotion when he lands himself in a deep ditch. He is on his cell phone while driving home. Ex Special Force Sergeant Kurt Semko arrives to tow Jason¿s car to a buddy¿s garage. Jason learns that Kurt passed on becoming a pitcher in the big leagues to serve in Iraq and Afghanistan. Low and behold the Etronics softball team needs a pitcher. Steadman arranges for Kurt to play on the team and recommends him to Security despite Semko¿s dishonorable discharge. The two men become good friends in spite of their different backgrounds and status. But Jason will learn that this friendship is a dangerous liaison as both men rise within the company. Bad things happen to anybody or anything that is an obstacle to their new found fortunes.

    This novel is my introduction to Joseph Finder. And while it is a good read, it is somewhat slow in the middle. The beginning and ending are great as psychological thrillers go, but the story drags in the middle. Jason Steadman is too obtuse or naïve for my taste. I learned more than I wanted to about Plasma Flat Screens, really more. I worked in Radio Sales and the cut throatiness of sales is not as brutal as is depicted in KILLER INSTINCT. The self help junk also wore me out also. The characters are 3 dimensional and I cared about them. But these minor flaws will not keep me from reading another Joseph Finder book; it just means that I agree with other reviewers that KILLER INSTINCT may not be the best book to start reading Finder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent book with scary plot twists

    Joseph Finder's Killer Instinct warns you to beware of people you bring into your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    Be careful what you ask for.,,,

    Jason Steadman is your all around nice guy with a wife pushing him to be more aggressive and ambitious in his career. After a car accident, Jason meets a tow truck driver by the name of Kurt Semko who is an former special forces officer. They become quick friends and Jason starts climbing the corporate ladder but it soon becomes apparent that his new friend is using his expertise to help him along. Though some of Kurt's moves are definitely far-fetched it is fiction and it is exceptional. You continue reading because you can't wait to see what is going to happen next. When Jason feels Kurt has gone to far he tries to get him to stop and finds that upsetting Kurt can be dangerous. It was full of excitement from beginning to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was a fast paced and entertaining book, but like some of the 'slasher' movies over the years, you want to yell at the characters, 'DON'T GO IN THAT ROOM!' In the same way, your ability to suspend disbelif was taxes by some of the main characters choices, however, I guess that's why it's called fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    Irresistible!

    Joseph Finder has written another heart-stopper (and I thought he couldn't top Paranoia). In this thriller, Jason Steadman is a nice laid-back guy, content to schlep along in his successful sales job at a top electronics company. Unfortunately, his whiny wife isn't so happy, and is pushing him to be more aggressive. Enter Kurt Semko, an ex-Special Forces officer who helps Jason one day when his car breaks down. Kurt seems to have many talents, and uses them to help Jason begin a meteoric rise through the company ranks once Jason finds Kurt a job in company security. Unhappily, Kurt's tactics are a bit ruthless, in fact, downright murderous. When Jason tries to do damage control and stop Kurt, he endangers his wife's life as well as his own. It's hard not to love this book, but I wish I could have knocked it down half a star for the simple reason that the author makes Kurt's evil abilities a little TOO far-fetched. With his resourcefulness and numerous contacts, why isn't he promoting himself, instead of advancing someone else's career? Or at least, with all his sources and uncanny ability to uncover everyone's dirty little secrets, winning a Pulitzer for investigative journalism? It's almost as if he's wasting his talents on a middle-management drone. Oh, well, it probably wouldn't have made as riveting a tale otherwise. I recommend it - just make sure you arrange a day with no iterruptions, because this book is impossible to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Good Read

    Very well written story about a struggling sales manager at a company that makes and markets visual screens, displays, etc. To begin, the manager, Josh Steadman runs his Lexis off the road, where, as a result he meets the tow truck driver, Kurt Semko. He soon realises that Semko has a lot more to offer and has him pitch for his company softball team, begins working out with him, has him fix things at home and eventually gets him an internal security job at his company. As a result of the burgeoning friendship and complaints to Kurt about problems at work, good things begin to happen to Josh at work. He gets promoted, his rivals at work and at other companies lose business and customers. All at Josh's expense. Josh finally realises that Kurt, a former special forces soldier has many contacts and talents and has been helping him all along. When Josh tries to get him to stop, things begin to get dangerous for Josh. The book drags a bit in the middle, but the ending keeps you reading long after you should go to bed. However, its worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Killer Thriller!

    Finder pens another corporate thriller that is his best yet - and that's saying a lot for the 'John Grisham' of the corporate world. Jason Steadman is a happy guy - he's a successful salesman for Entronics, Panasonic's biggest rival, he works with some good guys, plays softball for the company team. His wife isn't so happy - she'd like to see him work a little harder, get further ahead, buy her a bigger house. When he accidentally drives into a ditch, he befriends the tow truck driver, Kurt Semko, ex-Special Forces and semi-pro ball player, recruiting him for the corporate team and getting him a job in security. In a strange twist of fate, good things start happening for Steadman while bad things are happening to his rivals. He becomes uneasy with all the yin and yang and the suspense gets thick as Steadman tries to figure out what is going on and how, or if, to stop it. Believable characters doing unbelievable things combine to make a fast paced, tension filled story that works because of Finder's superb writing and storytelling skills. This is a page turner of the highest order - don't plan on putting it down until you turn the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable business serial killer thriller

    In the Framingham, Massachusetts area Entronics executive Jason Steadman is driving home reading email on his Blackberry when his cell phone rings. He knows his wife Kate is calling so he answers only to hear her crying as once again Dr. DeMarco of Boston IVF tells her they failed again. Distracted Jason sends his Acura into a ditch bruising a few ribs but is otherwise okay. --- Tow truck driver Kurt Semko arrives to take the vehicle away and give Jason a lift. Jason and Kurt become friends and the fomer recommends the latter for a job at Entronics. Soon the former Special Forces operative begins doing assignments for Kurt that dramatically increase his sales making him look good. However, soon Kurt apparently goes the extra mile for his buddy and starts killing business adversaries of and rivals of Jason. Unable to figure out how to expedite himself from this mess, Jason soon realizes that even his beloved Kate is at risk so he must confront and stop the invincible killing Kurt. --- Joseph Finder provides a fun business serial killer thriller starring an amiable salesman and his new friend a killing machine. The story line is action-packed from the moment Kurt does his first special favor and never slows down until the final stimulating encounter. The villains (yes more than one) seem more like caricatures of their particular role, but no one will care as the audience will be hooked to learn how the COMPANY MAN survives (or not) dealing with a PARANOIA trained killer. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    Simple Fact -- Any Book by Finder Is A Keeper!

    I've been a big fan of Joseph Finder since his first book, The Moscow Club. However, I thought his last two books of corporate suspense, Paranoia and The Company Man, helped to raise him to the highest plateau of writers in this genre. Now, with Killer Instinct he's elevated himself to the creme de la creme. For me, just the news of a new book by Joseph Finder gives me something to look forward to and he never lets me down. Without giving away to much of the plot, Killer Instinct is about a young sales executive at an electronics company, who while successful in sales, is considered to lack the killer extinct to move up to management. But after getting an ex-Special Forces officer a job at his company in Corporate Security, success for the sales executive seems unstoppable. Killer Instinct had me glued to the edge of my seat from the first to the last sentence. Tension builds and builds, thrills and surprises seem neverending and the characters are well-developed and multidimensional. Finder's newest, which hits the stores in mid-May, is his best to date ands is one of the best books I've read in quite awhile. Do yourself a favor and get yourself a copy as soon as it comes out. Just be prepared to give up almost everything else once you start this book. As I said, Killer Instinct by Joseph Finder is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2