Customer Reviews for

A Killer Plot (Books by the Bay Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A killer start to a new seris

Welcome to Oyster Bay, North Carolina where the living is easy and murder is on the mind.

Olivia Limoges has returned to the hometown she left as a young girl. She is rich, stunning, suffering from a case of writers block and still a mystery to the locals, and often ...
Welcome to Oyster Bay, North Carolina where the living is easy and murder is on the mind.

Olivia Limoges has returned to the hometown she left as a young girl. She is rich, stunning, suffering from a case of writers block and still a mystery to the locals, and often keeping only the company of her loyal poodle Captain Haviland. She also owns the local five star restaurant and has invested a lot in local properties, becoming landlord to many of the businesses around her. While having breakfast at the local diner she overhears some people talking "book stuff." Dixie, her friend and waitress explains that they are a group called the Bayside Book Writers and encourages her to join. She hesitates until she speaks with Camden Ford, the apparent leader of the group. She finds him witty, charming and impossible to refuse. Olivia decides that she is going to fix up the lighthouse cottage on her property for their meetings.

It looks like things are improving for Olivia, particularly in the friend department, until people start showing up dead. When one of her new friends winds up dead, with of all things a Haiku poem left next to the body, Olivia and her writer friends know they will do whatever they can to find out who is responsible for the murder. But can they figure it out before more bodies start to fall? Do the murders have to do with the gossip book one of their group members is writing about a well know family, the desire to push through a new housing development no matter what the cost, or something else no one could have possibly anticipated?

A Killer Plot is a fantastic start to a new series. The characters are fun, fresh and a bit on the eccentric side. There is Dixie, the roller skating dwarf waitress, Harris the computer geek who suffers from a serious case of Rosacea, and Millay the bartender, who likes to show up with her hair a different color each time they meet. These are just a few of the fun people you will meet in this charming first book of the Books By The Bay Mystery series. The characters are believable and the author gives the reader great insight into the world of a writer. With new friendships, possible romance(s) and promises of great things to come, A Killer Plot is one book you don't want to be caught dead missing.

posted by fdbolt on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is the beginning book in the Books By The Bay Mysteries.  O

This is the beginning book in the Books By The Bay Mysteries.  Oyster Bay, North Carolina was a nice little fishing town till a local magazine played it up as one of the best tourist spots around.  Now a big time developer wants to buy the towns huge park area to build ...
This is the beginning book in the Books By The Bay Mysteries.  Oyster Bay, North Carolina was a nice little fishing town till a local magazine played it up as one of the best tourist spots around.  Now a big time developer wants to buy the towns huge park area to build a development.  Not everyone is happy about this though.




Olivia Limoges is one of the towns wealthiest and most interesting patrons.  She was born here to a local fishing family but when her mom died and her father deserted her, rich grandma swooped in and took her away.  She was raised expecting everything to go as she pleased.  Now she has returned to town and lives by herself with her brilliantly well-trained poodle, Haviland. 




When a local charmer and Hollywood gossip columnist convinces Olivia to join her writer's group, she began to break out of her shell.  This strange group is made up of some interesting people who instantly bond.  Then when the gossip columnist is killed, with only a haiku left behind as a clue, everyone joins in to help solve this poetic mystery.  




This is a fun start to a new series, with some very interesting characters not the least of which is the bit over the top smart poodle.  My problem with not giving this five stars was that the mystery was developed late and a bit strangely.  The murderer and reasoning were not laid into the story as expertly as I might have liked--build up of motive was a bit short.  Having said that, I definitely plan to read more in this series, as I think the introduction of the characters was terrific.  I want to see what this eclectic crew has coming up next in this fun --almost a character in itself--town of Oyster Bay. 

posted by RonnaL on February 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fresh, new series

    A Killer Plot is the first in a brand new cozy series by Ellery Adams. Olivia Limoges is the main character with a haunting past. She returns to her hometown a wealthy woman and is often the center of the town's gossip. She comes across as aloof and uncaring. She's still wounded from her childhood and is learning how to break down her walls.

    She's given the chance to join the Bayside Book Writers, a group of hopeful writers who meet regularly to critique their rough drafts, where she meets new friends. The offer comes from Camden Ford, who is currently writing a book about the high-powered Talbot family. When Camden is killed, Olivia feels a sense of loss for her new friend and takes it upon herself to find his killer.

    A Killer Plot is a fresh addition to the cozy genre. Olivia is a complex main character, while the secondary characters assist with moving her forward from the isolation she feels as a result of her past. There's a hint of a love interest for her, but it doesn't deflect from the mystery. Adams does a fantastic job with character development and description of Oyster Bay, that the reader can easily visualize each scene while reading. Some may question Olivia's relationship with her poodle Havilland and how she communicates with him. It's through this relationship that Olivia is the most vulnerable and is seen with emotion.

    The storyline moves at a steady pace and I never felt it was rushed. I didn't solve the mystery and was quite surprised at the killer's identity and the motives for the killings. If you're a cozy fan and looking for a new series, I highly recommend A Killer Plot. The second book, A Deadly Cliche will be released in March 2011.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    Olivia Limoges moves back to Oyster Bay, North Carolina, an accomplished woman with an interesting history. She befriends and joins a local aspiring writer's group and renovates her childhood home to house the group. When one of their members is found dead in an alley, the rest of the group bands together to get to discover why he was murdered.

    Ms. Adams has created some truly engaging characters with the full range of flaws and failings. This group of people make up a support group that would be an asset anywhere. They are caring, intelligent diverse individuals and they strongly lend themselves to repeated visits to the town of Oyster Bay. Here is hoping that there are many more books in this series to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A BRAND NEW SERIES FOR COZY LOVERS

    A BOOKS BY THE BAY MYSTERY
    Release Date June 1, 2010 Paperback and Kindle

    A new series set in Oyster Bay, North Carolina, where Olivia Limoges returns to her home town after many years away, her return as mysterious as her leaving has everyone in town is talking about her. She keeps to herself, with her talented dog Captain Haviland and is working on her unfinished manuscript, unfortunately at the moment she is suffering from a severe case of "writer's block". At the local diner she meets charming young man, Camden Ford, and with a little help from diminutive Dixie the waitress, she agrees to join The Bayside Book Writers where she actually makes a few friends.

    I REALLY LIKED IT!!!

    Sadly one of her new friends ends up dead in an alley with an obscure Haiku poem left with his body and his will not be the only body found before this mystery is solved. Olivia enlists the help of The Bayside Book Writers to help the police find the killer.
    This is a really fun mystery, there are so many quirky characters, and a captivating plot. We learn enough about Olivia's past and her potential romances that will keep us wanting more stories from Oyster Bay. I am terribly jealous of Captain Haviland as my 2 dogs can barely sit still for a minute let alone help sniff out a killer. Please Ellery don't make us wait too long for another visit with Olivia and the people of Oyster Bay.

    To find out more about Ellery Adams visit her web site at http://elleryadamsmysteries.com/ .


















    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The Berkley Publishing Group a division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Olivia Limoges is a wealthy resident of Oyster Bay, North Carol


    Olivia Limoges is a wealthy resident of Oyster Bay, North Carolina, and is a bit of a loner with a mysterious past in this beach town where she lived as a child. Her wealth gives her an air of entitlement, despite a very sad and troubled childhood that makes her the target of much gossip, but she would like to fit in better. Unfortunately, her social graces are somewhat lacking or, at least, well hidden, and she spends most of her time with her standard poodle, Captain Haviland, and works on an unfinished novel.

    Then Olivia meets Camden Ford, a gossip hound and would-be tell-all biographer who is in town digging up dirt on a celebrity staying nearby. Camden is a member of the Bayside Book Writers, a critique group, and invites Olivia to join. His motives in doing so are not entirely altruistic—the group needs a better place to meet and Olivia has the space—but his charm wins her over with a little push from Dixie, a waitress with her own kind of eccentricity.

    Olivia discovers that she actually does like these people and is settling in to the critiquing routine when one of her new friends turns up dead. For a couple of reasons that actually make some sense, the local police chief welcomes a little sleuthing by the group and they do indeed come up with some useful information. Along the way, a side story involves the town’s reaction to proposed development that could change the character of the town, causing a good deal of anguish. Then another body is found.

    Having been published early this summer, this mystery set in a coastal town is an obvious and worthy beach read. Ms. Adams, who has written three other mystery series under two different pen names, has created a very likeable group of characters who have been given enough depth to make the reader engage with them and care what happens to them. This is true not only of the primary characters but also the secondary and that’s refreshing. Olivia herself is NOT immediately appealing and learning what makes her who she is strengthened my enjoyment. I found one of the book group members to be a bit irritating but it was in the sense of knowing she’d drive me crazy if I had to spend too much time with her in real life; in fiction, my annoyance level was moderate—and I wouldn’t particularly care for a cast of characters that are unrelentingly likeable. That would be more than a little boring, I believe.

    The mystery itself is well-plotted and I didn’t guess who the killer was. The only difficulty I had was I thought the killer’s motive was a little far-fetched but not unreasonably so. There is also a hint of romance that the author offers in a light-handed way. This first in the Books by the Bay series is a very good start and I’m looking forward to the next one.

    Note: I have known this author for several years, having met her through my bookstore and hosted signings. Having read all her other books, I can honestly say this is the most intriguing and my opinion is not influenced by the fact that I know Ms. Adams. I would feel the same if it had been written by Jane Doe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    What a wonderful start to a new series! I love how Ellery Adams

    What a wonderful start to a new series! I love how Ellery Adams brought to life this quaint small town and the colorful characters that live in it. Adding in all elements of the literary world into the mystery and the small group of friends was brilliant! So looking forward to continuing on with this lovely series and hoping for a love interest or two LOL! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    Enjoyed every book in this series!  Great job and great characte

    Enjoyed every book in this series!  Great job and great characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good start

    So, this one took its time for something to happen. I wasn't sure if I wanted to continue since I was in the mood to read it. But I kept going, liking the main character Olivia and started warming up to the other characters. And of course it had to have a writing group and a bookstore in there. Book you know me so well.

    Anyway, the pace, writing, setting and its characters was really good and kept me reading. Especially the mystery and of course Olivia's poodle, Haviland. Sorry I mean Captain Haviland.

    The setting sounds cozy. Same with the cover. Moments where I was like, okay that's trying too hard but you know what? I didn't mind. Another series I will try to read more from. Good start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Great cozy mystery!

    This was fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Olivia Limoges has returned to Oyster Bay, North Carolina, a tow

    Olivia Limoges has returned to Oyster Bay, North Carolina, a town steeped in salt air, sea culture and bittersweet memories of Olivia's childhood past. She's gorgeous and wealthy, owning the town's five star restaurant and several properties in town. She keeps everything running with the help of her brilliant and very un-dog-like black poodle, Captain Haviland. She overhears a group of writers at a local diner one morning and, as she's working on a manuscript herself, is persuaded to join by Camden Ford, a young gossip blogger and writer oozing with charisma. When Camden doesn't show up to Olivia's first meeting, the group starts to worry. He's found dead in an alleyway with a haiku, of all things, spray painted above him. Olivia and Captain Haviland investigate and find Camden's manuscript, a thinly-veiled expose of a famous family may be the killer's motive. Can Olivia figure out which family tie was angry enough to kill before they strike again?
    This was an excellent debut novel. I loved the vivid setting (you know I like a little Southern flair), the dog, and I felt like the author had a lot of fun writing it especially working in the excerpts of the writers' manuscripts of all different genres. For me it's always a good sign when an author seems to have had a great time working on a book. I think this series has great things in store for it, but for me the first half of the book was perfectly paced and the last half was rushed through. Olivia's love interests muddled things a little for me and the climax was confusing because there was so much going on that I hadn't had time to work out in my head. Then, the final wrap-up seemed to drag and give us a little too much unnecessary information. As an experienced author, she writes several other series under the names J.B. Stanley and Jennifer Stanley as well as another as Ellery Adams, I thought she did much better with this debut than the average cozy first-novelist, and I'm confident she can weave wonderful tales now that these exciting new characters have been introduced.

    The Real Mystery?

    How Ellery Adams created such an incredibly human-like canine that absolutely stands out as a main character despite his inability to talk!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book and will be sure to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Enjoyable Book

    First time to read this author. If you enjoy "Cozy" mysteries, you will like this one. I look forward to reading others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2